Facebook
Instagram
Benoit Aquin

Texts

Artist Statement:

For twenty-five years, Montreal photographer Benoit Aquin has travelled the world, poignantly documenting the struggle between humans and their natural environment. His practice strikes a masterful balance between documentary photography and contemporary art, negotiating the tension between disciplines and formal vocabularies and shedding light on ecological and humanitarian crisis, within the tradition of socially engaged photography.

Aquin’s practice avoids the aesthetics and narrativity of travel photography, instead using discrete compositions, rapid and instinctual framing, natural lighting or, contrarily, that generated by a flash. He captures the daily life of the communities he meets making visible the time he’s invested, resisting the spectacle of exoticism and the banality of snapshots. His practice relies instead on the repetition of colour motifs and the superimposing of surfaces and textures. Benoit Acquin reveals what lies beneath the catastrophes he witnesses, with all their intensity and disturbing beauty.

Benoit Aquin has documented, among other subjects, the effects of global warming in Northern Québec and Canada (2005-2006), reconstruction efforts in South East Asia after the 2004 tsunami (2004-2005), the Chinese “Dust Bowl” (2005-2007), food shortages on the banks of the Nile in Egypt (2007), and the return of daily life in Haiti after the 2010 earthquake (2010-2012). His most recent series of photographs, which will be exhibited at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts in 2015, explores the human and environmental trauma inflicted on Lac-Mégantic in Québec’s Eastern Townships – a town devastated by the derailment and explosion of a train carrying crude oil in July 2013.

Biography:

Having studied at the New England School of Photography in Boston, since 1988 Aquin has exhibited in solo and group exhibitions in Canada, the United States, France, Switzerland, Holland and Spain, Greece, Germany, China, as well as the United Arab Emirates. Notable exhibitions include: The Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography (1994); the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (1996); the Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2008); the Musée de l’Élysée Lausanne (2010), the Museum of Photographic Arts, San Diego (2011); the McCord Museum, Montréal (2013); Somerset House, London (2013); the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (2013, 2015); FotoDock, Holland (2014); as well as participating in the Mois de la Photo à Montréal (1993, 1997, 2003); and Les Rencontres d’Arles, France (1991, 2014). His works have been appeared internationally in print media, notably, TIME Magazine, Canadian Geographic, The Guardian, Foto8, Canadian Art, Walrus Magazine and L’actualité. He has also produced long form journalism, monographs, and photo-essays, sharing his environmental and humanitarian concerns with a variety of publics.

Aquin’s series, The Chinese “Dust Bowl” (2005-2007), examining the human-made desertification of Northern China, was awarded the National Magazine Award Silver Medal for Photojournalism and Photo Essays, as well as the prestigious Prix Pictet. He has also received the Prix Antoine-Desilets (2006), the Canadian National Newspaper Award (2007) and the Grand Prix Lux (2007). Aquin’s work is represented in collections of institutions such as the Montreal Museum of Fine Art; the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec; The Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography; the Canada Council Art Bank; the National Gallery of Canada; the Banque Pictet, Geneva; and the Library of Congress, Washington DC. Benoit Aquin is represented by Galerie Hugues Charbonneau in Montréal.

www.benoitaquin.com

Facebook
Instagram
Benoit Aquin

Textes

Démarche

Benoit Aquin parcourt le monde depuis plus de vingt-cinq ans pour faire de l’image un témoin poignant du rapport, souvent conflictuel, de l’humain au territoire. Son travail allie, dans un équilibre maîtrisé, certains traits de la photographie documentaire à ceux de la photographie en art actuel. Il joue sur cette tension, sur ce floue aux frontières des disciplines et des vocabulaires formels pour mettre en lumière des phénomènes liés à des crises écologiques et humanitaires, inscrivant ainsi les séries qu’il créée dans la tradition de la photographie engagée.

Ses œuvres esquivent l’esthétisation ou la narrativité que peuvent adopter les photos de voyage et misent sur une composition discrète, sur des cadrages rapides, instinctifs, et sur une luminosité naturelle ou, au contraire, forcée par l’emploi d’un flash photographique. Benoit Aquin s’imprègne du quotidien des communautés qu’il rencontre et tente de faire transparaître ce temps long, étranger à la spectacularisation de l’exotisme ou du « sur le vif ». Le rythme de ses œuvres siège plutôt dans la répétition de motifs colorés, dans les superpositions de surfaces planes ainsi que dans les jeux de textures. Benoit Aquin parvient ainsi à révéler l’arrière-scène des catastrophes dont il témoigne dans toute la force et la beauté dérangeante qu’elles recèlent.

La lentille de Benoit Aquin s’est entre autres tournée vers le réchauffement climatique du Grand Nord québécois et canadien (2005-2006), les efforts de reconstruction dans le Sud-est asiatique à la suite du tsunami de 2004 (2004-2005), le ‘’Dust Bowl’’ chinois (2005-2007), les pénuries alimentaires sur les abords du Nil en Égypte (2007) et la reprise du quotidien à Haïti après le séisme en 2010 (2010-2012). Sa plus récente série, qui fera l’objet d’une exposition au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal en 2015, révèle les blessures humaines et environnementales de la ville de Lac-Mégantic, une municipalité située dans l’est du Québec dévastée par le déraillement puis l’explosion d’un train pétrolier en juillet 2013.

Biographie

Depuis 1988, après ses études à la New England School of Photography de Boston, Benoit Aquin a pris part à plusieurs expositions individuelles et collectives au Canada, aux États-Unis, en France, en Suisse, en Hollande, en Espagne, en Grèce, en Allemagne, en Chine ainsi qu’aux Émirats arabes unis. Soulignons ses expositions au Musée canadien de la photographie (1994); au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (1996); au Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2008); au Musée de l’Élisée, Lausanne (2010); au Museum of Photographic arts, Sans Diego (2011); au Musée McCord, Montréal (2013); au Somerset House, Londres (2013); au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (2013 et 2015); au FotoDock, Hollande (2014); ainsi que sa participation au Mois de la Photo à Montréal (1993, 1997, 2003); à la Biennale canadienne du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada (2012); et aux Rencontres d’Arles en France (1991, 2014). Ses œuvres ont été reproduites dans de nombreux périodiques à travers le monde, nommons le Time Magazine, Canadian Geographic, The Guardian, Foto8, Canadian Art, Walrus Magazine et L’actualité. Il a également participé activement à la publication d’une dizaine de reportages, de monographies ou d’essais photographiques afin de partager ses préoccupations environnementales et humanitaires avec différents publics.

Sa série Le “Dust Bowl” chinois, portant sur la désertification d’origine humaine du nord de la Chine (2005-2007), a été récompensée par la National Magazine Award Silver Medal for Photojournalism and Photo Essays puis par le prestigieux Prix Pictet. Benoit Aquin s’est aussi mérité le prix Antoine-Desilets (2006), le Canadian National Newspaper Award (2007) et le Grand Prix Lux (2007). Les œuvres de Benoit Aquin sont présentes dans les collections du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal; du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec; du Musée canadien de la photographie contemporaine; de la Banque d’œuvre d’œuvres d’art du Canada; du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada; de la Banque Pictet, Genève; et de la Library of Congress, Washington D.C. Benoit Aquin est représenté par les Galeries Hugues Charbonneau, à Montréal.

www.benoitaquin.com