Facebook
Instagram
Cynthia Girard-Renard

Text

Artist Statement

Cynthia Girard-Renard has created a multitudinous universe where politics, identity and imaginary worlds come together through painting, sculpture, installation, poetry and performance. Her broad range of techniques encompass various forms and take an experimental and theatrical approach to the exhibition context, such as large format works, banners, scenic backdrops, costumes and accessories, mobiles, sound sculptures, support structures, etc.

In this way, Girard-Renard defies the traditional categories of art by dismantling the niches these mediums normally occupy and resisting any hierarchy of styles. Her uncompromising repertoire draws as much from the visual language of art history (monochromes, Minimalism, hard-edge, Op art, Realism, Pointillism, Surrealism, Dada, Art Brut) as it does from modes of expression from popular culture or the so-called “minor arts”, such as comics, children’s book illustrations, folk tales, decorative arts, feminine crafts, burlesque theatre, and satirical cartoons. Within these paintings, the effect is the creation of hybrid spaces where normally unrelated realities are now juxtaposed, even interpenetrated, located somewhere between the abstract and the figurative. These composite spaces end up confounding the viewer’s perceptions by multiplying different points of view, illusionist renderings, sharp perspectives, or distorted scale.

Onto these complex pictorial constructions, Girard-Renard affixes a polyphonic narrative where any temporal coherence is denied. The sources that inspire her themes and motifs are many: the history and territory of Québec, feminist issues, historical figures such as revolutionary leaders, dictators, scientists, philosophers or authors, political slogans, student and environmental protests, animals, insects and fantastical creatures. Moreover, Girard-Renard favours a naïve style, artificial representations and a vibrant and saturated palette that help to register these socio-cultural references in sharp contrast to their familiar political weight. The resulting detachment tends to suggest a kind of fertile incongruity in her work that generates a tension between form and content.

Girard-Renard’s free thematic associations open up poetic spaces of reflection where humour and urgency briefly intertwine. A variety of ideas are considered, such as the ecological future of the planet, the precariousness of national or gender identities, the absurdity of austerity measures and more. Girard-Renard thereby plays, with a hint of irony, on usual hierarchies by imagining timeless worlds where animals, unicorns and great historical figures meet within imaginary constructions to discuss the future, utopia and freedom.

Biography

Cynthia Girard-Renard received her MFA from Goldsmiths College, London, UK (1998). For more than 20 years, she has been actively exhibiting in Canada and internationally, including: Thousand Plateaus Art Space, Chengdu, China (2011); Dunlop Art Gallery, Regina (2010); Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec (2010); September Gallery, Berlin (2009); Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2009); SPACE, London (2006), not to mention her solo exhibition, Fictions sylvestres, at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2005) and her participation in the 2008 Quebec Triennial. Recently she has had solo exhibitions at the Uma Certa Falta de Coerencia, Porto, Portugal (2015) and the Esker Foundation, Calgary, Alberta (2014).

The artist has been the recipient of grants from the Canada Council for the Arts and the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec to partake in residencies in London, Paris, New York and Berlin. Girard-Renard’s work is found in the collections of the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Canadian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Carleton University Art Gallery, the UQAM Gallery, the TD Bank as well as many private collections. Cynthia Girard-Renard is represented by Galerie Hugues Charbonneau in Montréal. The artist lives and works in Montréal.

Facebook
Instagram
Cynthia Girard-Renard

Textes

Démarche

Cynthia Girard-Renard façonne un univers pluriel où se conjuguent politique, identités et imaginaire à travers la peinture, la sculpture, l’installation, la poésie et la performance. Cet éventail de techniques se déploie sous diverses formes dans une approche expérimentale et théâtrale du contexte d’exposition : grands formats, bannières, rideaux scéniques, costumes et accessoires, mobiles, sculptures sonores, dispositifs d’accrochage, etc.

Girard-Renard défie ainsi les catégories traditionnelles de l’art en éclatant les créneaux conventionnels des médiums tout en résistant à la hiérarchisation des styles. Son répertoire, sans compromis, puise autant dans le langage visuel de l’histoire de l’art – monochromes, minimalisme, Hard-edge, Op art, naturalisme, pointillisme, surréalisme, dadaïsme, art brut – que dans les modes d’expression de la culture populaire ou des arts qualifiés de « mineurs » – bande dessinée, illustration de livres pour enfants, contes folkloriques, arts décoratifs, artisanat féminin, théâtre burlesque et dessins satiriques. Au sein de ses tableaux, cela a pour effet de créer des espaces hybrides où des réalités sans rapport usuel entre elles sont juxtaposées, voire s’interpénètrent, quelque part entre abstraction et figuration. Ces espaces composites achèvent de confondre les perceptions du regardant en multipliant les points de vue, les rendus illusionnistes, les perspectives étriquées ou encore les rapports d’échelle faussés.

À ces constructions picturales complexes, Girard-Renard appose une narration polyphonique où toute cohérence temporelle est niée. Les sources dans lesquelles elle puise ses thèmes et ses motifs sont multiples : l’histoire et le territoire québécois; les figures historiques, comme les leaders révolutionnaires, dictateurs, scientifiques, philosophes ou auteurs-es; les slogans politiques; les manifestations étudiantes, environnementales ou queer; les animaux, les insectes et les créatures fantastiques. De plus, Girard-Renard privilégie une facture naïve, des représentations synthétiques et une palette vive et saturée qui contribuent à inscrire ces références socioculturelles en haut contraste avec leur charge politique connue. La distanciation qui en résulte tend à insérer dans son œuvre une sorte d’incongruité productive qui génère une tension entre fond et forme.

Les associations thématiques libres de Girard-Renard ouvrent des espaces de réflexion poétiques où humour et urgence s’enlacent un instant. Y sont négociés, entre autres, l’avenir écologique de la planète, la précarité des identités nationales ou de genre, l’absurdité des mesures d’austérité… Girard-Renard joue ainsi, non sans ironie, sur les hiérarchies ordinaires en imaginant des mondes hors du temps où les animaux, les licornes et les grandes figures historiques se côtoient dans des constructions imaginaires pour discuter du futur, d’utopie et de liberté.

Biographie 

Cynthia Girard-Renard détient une maîtrise en beaux-arts du Goldsmiths College à Londres (1998). Depuis plus de 20 ans, elle expose activement son travail au Canada et sur la scène internationale : Thousand Plateaus Art Space, Chengdu, Chine (2011); Dunlop Art Gallery, Régina (2010); Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec (2010); September Gallery, Berlin (2009); Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2009); SPACE, Londres (2006); etc. Mentionnons aussi son exposition Fictions sylvestres en solo au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal en 2005 et sa participation à la Triennale québécoise de 2008. Ses expositions individuelles les plus récentes ont été présentées en 2015 au centre Uma Certa Falta de Coerencia, Porto, Portugal, et en 2014 à la Esker Fondation, Calgary, Alberta.

L’artiste a été récipiendaire de bourses du Conseil des arts du Canada et du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec pour compléter des résidences à Paris, New York, Berlin ainsi qu’à Londres. Son travail est entre autres présent dans les collections du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, du Ministère des Affaires étrangères du Canada, de la Carleton University Art Gallery, de la Galerie de l’UQAM, de la Banque TD ainsi que dans plusieurs collections privées. Cynthia Girard-Renard est représentée pas la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau à Montréal. Elle vit et travaille à Montréal.