Facebook
Instagram
David Lafrance

Texts

ARTIST’S STATEMENT

David Lafrance’s bountiful, iconographic universe has evolved through painting, sculpture, printmaking, drawing and experimental music for nearly 15 years. His imagery includes human and animal figures, but also a plethora of historical and pop cultural symbols that activate our collective memory, but also the artist’s own personal memory. This lexicon of figures has come to distinguish Lafrance’s thematic and formal vocabulary over time.

The stage for his recurrent symbols is frequently made up of indeterminate, mysterious spaces representing partial interiors or fragments of landscapes and gardens of lush vegetation. His compositions are comprised of multiple spaces and timelines, which tend to negate all rational perspective in favour of mostly vertical configurations. Juxtaposed with figurative elements, the abstract backgrounds or gaps open up the pictorial plane. Between figuration and abstraction, a profusion of motifs within flat areas of colour suggest utopian worlds of an idyllic yet troubling nature.

With a technique that merges realism and naïve art, subtlety and rusticity, Lafrance examines the places and effigies that give tangible form to society’s incessant quest for pleasure and (over)consumption. The results are series such as Clubs, Video Poker, and Ventilateurs, to name a few. Similarly, spaces for public gatherings and festivities, as well as nightlife are also recurring themes that create tension between individual freedom and desires.

As for his sculptural work, Lafrance favours a more raw technique in which forms are roughed in, assembled and then painted. This body of work corresponds to his pictorial universe, referring to and activating similar formal approaches and related analytical sources such as memory, popular culture and desire.

BIOGRAPHY

David Lafrance (b. 1976) holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts from Concordia University in Montréal (2001). His work has been presented in numerous exhibitions and biennales in Canada, the US, and in France. Among his recent solo exhibitions are Ceaac (2015), Strasbourg; Galerie Hugues Charbonneau (2014); L’Œil de Poisson (2014), Québec City; and the Musée régional de Rimouski (2012), which won the prize for “Best exhibition outside of Montréal” at the AGAC’s Gala des arts visuels. He recently participated in various group exhibitions, namely at the Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (2015), l’Œil de Poisson (2015), Art Action Actuel, in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (2013), and at the Centre d’art l’Écart, in Rouyn-Noranda (2013).

His work is part of several private and public collections, including the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (CPOA), the Bibliothèque nationale du Québec; the Leonard and Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Montréal; Lotto Québec; Hydro-Québec; and Movement Desjardins. David Lafrance is represented by Galerie Hugues Charbonneau in Montréal. He lives and works in Montréal.

Facebook
Instagram
David Lafrance

Textes

DÉMARCHE

L’univers iconographique foisonnant de David Lafrance se déploie à travers la peinture, la sculpture, la gravure, le dessin et la musique expérimentale depuis près de 15 ans. Sont conviées à la fête quelques figures humaines et animales, mais surtout une pléthore de symboles issus de l’histoire et de la culture populaire activant une mémoire tantôt collective, tantôt personnelle à l’artiste. Ce répertoire figuratif en est venu, au fil des années, à distinguer le vocabulaire thématique et formel de Lafrance.

Le théâtre de cette symbolique récurrente est constitué de lieux souvent indéterminés, mystérieux, représentant des intérieurs partiels ou des paysages et jardins fragmentés à la végétation luxuriante. Ces compositions qui appellent des espaces et des temps multiples tendent à nier toute perspective rationnelle pour préconiser des compositions généralement rabattues à la verticale. Juxtaposés aux éléments figuratifs, des trouées ou des arrière-plans de facture abstraite ouvrent l’espace pictural. Entre figuration et abstraction, une profusion de motifs et d’aplats de couleurs suggère ainsi des mondes utopiques aux ambiances à la fois paradisiaques et inquiétantes.

Dans une facture qui hybride réalisme et art naïf, subtilité et rusticité, Lafrance s’intéresse aux lieux et effigies qui matérialisent la quête de plaisir incessante et la (sur)consommation de notre société actuelle : en résultent les séries des Clubs, des Video Poker et des Ventilateurs, par exemple. De manière similaire, les sites de rassemblement ou de festivités et la vie nocturne sont également des thèmes récurrents qui mettent en tension la liberté et les pulsions des individus.

Du côté de la sculpture, il préconise un travail en ronde bosse où les formes sont dégrossies par taille directe, assemblées et peintes par la suite. Ce corpus s’inscrit en complémentarité à son univers pictural puisqu’il renvoie à des approches formelles analogues tout comme il active des ressorts d’analyse connexes, comme la mémoire, la culture populaire et les désirs.

BIOGRAPHIE

David Lafrance (n. 1976) détient un baccalauréat en arts visuels de l’Université Concordia à Montréal (2001). Son travail a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions et biennales au Canada, aux États-Unis et en France. Parmi ses expositions individuelles récentes, soulignons celles au Ceaac (2015), Strasbourg; à la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau (2014); à l’Œil de Poisson (2014), Québec; et au Musée régional de Rimouski (2012), qui lui a valu le prix de la « meilleure exposition hors Montréal » au Gala des arts visuels de l’AGAC. Récemment, il a pris part à différentes expositions collectives, notamment au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (2015), à l’Œil de Poisson (2015), à Art action Actuel, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (2013), et au Centre d’art L’écart, Rouyn-Noranda (2013).