Facebook
Instagram
Chloe Lum & Yannick Desranleau

Texts

Artist Statement

Chloë Lum and Yannick Desranleau’s practice is best characterized by their large, immersive tableaux constructed of silkscreened paper and other fragile or precarious elements. They are interested in the lifespan of materials; how these become animated, and form narrative threads or relationships as they are transformed (faded, crushed, eroded) through their manipulation and exposure to external factors. In recent years, Lum and Desranleau have focused on the notion of entropy, a physical phenomenon which they see as a way for matter to engage itself as a collaborator in the production of new forms and narratives. Indeed, the perceived action from the micro- or macroscopic vagaries of matter reaching inertia allows it to fully participate in the duo’s formal process. Collaboration, whether with each other or with other people or objects, has therefore become central to Lum and Desranleau’s work. Its impact on their overall process and their engagement with materiality is expressed through a multitude of mediums (installation, sculpture, photography, performance, printmaking and video) as means to depict the temporality of objects through a comprehensive and subjective documentation of their erosion.

Lum and Desranleau’s phenomenological research interests have recently lead them to a foray into live performance, which they achieve by combining dance, performance and sculpture within their exhibitions. The duo’s shape-shifting objects and materials then become costumes, accessories or musical instruments, which are activated by the performers who manipulate and wear them. In doing so, the status of the objects change with each successive action: from sculptural art object, to performance art accessory, to the leftover trace of a performance. Through these ‘re-presentations’ (from art work to art work) and ‘re-mediations’ (between exhibition, photograph, performance and video), Lum and Desranleau’s objects are called upon to replay their performativity through the filters of their own reproduction or presentation contexts.

Biography

Chloë Lum & Yannick Desranleau have participated in many group exhibitions throughout Canada, the United-States, and in Europe, including the University of Texas, Austin (2015); the Center for Books and Paper Arts, Columbia College, Chicago (2015); the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2011); the Kunsthalle Wien, Vienna (2010); the BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art, Gateshead, England (2009); and at Whitechapel Project Space, London (2007). Their recent solo exhibitions include Khiele Gallery, St. Cloud State University, Minnesota (2016); the Confederation Centre Art Gallery, Charlottetown (2014); YYZ Artists’ Outlet, Toronto (2013); and Blackwood Gallery, University of Toronto (2012). Their performances have been presented at the Darling Foundry (2015), and as part of the OFFTA festival (2016). Lum and Desranleau are also known on the international music scene as co-founders of the avant-rock group AIDS Wolf, for whom they also produced award-winning concert posters under the name Séripop.

In 2016, Desranleau was awarded the Claudine and Stephen Bronfman Fellowship in Contemporary Art, and in 2015, the duo was long-listed for the Sobey Art Award. Their work is included in many collections, namely the Victoria and Albert Museum in London; the University of Maryland Art Gallery; the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts; and the BMO collection.

Yannick Desranleau holds an MFA in sculpture from Concordia University in Montreal, and Chloë Lum is an MFA candidate at York University, Toronto. Lum & Desranleau are represented by Galerie Hugues Charbonneau in Montreal, and they currently split their time between Montreal and Toronto.

Facebook
Instagram
Séripop

Textes

Démarche

Le travail de Chloë Lum et Yannick Desranleau est caractérisé par d’imposantes installations construites de papier sérigraphié et d’autres éléments aux qualités fragiles et précaires. Ils s’intéressent à la durée de vie des matériaux : comment ceux-ci s’animent, établissent des fils narratifs et des relations à travers leur transformation (décoloration, écrasement, usure), découlant de leur manipulation et de leur exposition à des agents externes. Au cours des dernières années, ils se sont d’ailleurs penchés sur la notion d’entropie, comprise comme phénomène physique faisant de la matière un collaborateur dans la production de nouvelles formes et parcours. En effet, l’action accidentelle des aléas micro- ou macroscopiques de la matière en quête d’inertie lui attribue un statut de participant à part entière dans le processus formel du duo.Le modèle collaboratif, que ce soit ensemble ou avec d’autres personnes ou objets, est par conséquent au centre des échanges chez Lum et Desranleau. Ainsi, l’importance qu’occupent la matérialité et la collaboration dans leur démarche traverse une multitude de médiums (installation, sculpture, photographie, performance, estampe et vidéo) illustrant la temporalité des objets par une documentation investie et subjective de leur usure.

Ils ont récemment adjoint une dimension performative et vivante à leurs recherches et intérêts phénoménologiques en faisant se rencontrer danse, performance et sculpture au sein même de leurs expositions, ou dans le cadre de performances longues, de type spectacle, divisées en tableaux distincts. Les objets et matériaux protéiformes du duo deviennent ainsi accessoires, costumes ou instruments de musique activés par les performeurs qui les manipulent et s’en affublent. De cette manière, l’objet acquiert différents statuts successifs : il est objet sculptural; il est accessoire de performance; il est trace de performance. À travers ces « re-présentations » (d’œuvre en œuvre) et ces « re-médiations » (entre exposition, photo, performance et vidéo), les objets de Lum et Desranleau sont appelés à rejouer leur performativité par les filtres de leur propre reproduction ou de leurs contextes de monstration.

Biographie 

Chloë Lum & Yannick Desranleau ont pris part à de nombreuses expositions collectives au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe, entre autres à l’University of Texas, Austin (2015); au Center for Books and Paper Arts, Columbia College, Chicago (2015); au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2011); à la Kunsthalle Wien, Vienne (2010); au BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art, Gateshead, Angleterre (2009); et au Whitechapel Project Space, Londres (2007). Parmi leurs expositions individuelles récentes, nommons celles à la Khiele Gallery, St-Cloud State University, Minnesota(2016); au Confederation Centre Art Gallery, Charlottetown (2014); à la YYZ artists’ outlet, Toronto (2013); et à la Blackwood Gallery, University of Toronto (2012). Ils on présenté leurs performances à la Fonderie Darling (2015) et dans le cadre du festival OFFTA (2016). Lum et Desranleau ont également évolué sur la scène musicale internationale avec leur groupe d’avant-garde rock AIDS Wolf pour lequel ils ont produits des affiches de concert primées sous le pseudonyme Séripop.

Desranleau est le lauréat 2016 de la bourse Claudine et Stephen Bronfman en art contemporain, et le duo figurait sur la liste longue du Sobey Art Award 2015. Leurs œuvres sont présentes au sein de plusieurs collections, notamment celle du Victoria and Albert Museum, Londres; de l’University of Maryland Art Gallery; du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal; et de la BMO.

Yannick Desranleau est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sculpture de l’Université Concordia, Montréal, tandis que Chloë Lum est candidate à la maîtrise interdisciplinaire en arts de l’Université York, Toronto.Lum & Desranleau sont représentés par la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau à Montréal. Les artistes vivent et travaillent entre Montréal et Toronto.