Facebook
Instagram
Texts

Texts

Artist statement

Tammi Campbell’s art practice engages with the tradition of Modernist and Minimalist painting by referring, either explicitly or implicitly, to the legacies of Agnes Martin, Frank Stella, or Sol LeWitt, for example. Campbell humorously probes the specificity of the medium of painting and the fetishism of the creative process through paintings made in the style of trompe l’œil, but which appear to remain unfinished. Her “in progress” and “unfinished” aesthetic draws upon various materials and peripheral activities that are specific to the art world, and which contribute to a deep questioning of the value attributed to painting and to the artist’s craft. In fact, her work tends to generate both anticipation and confusion, and nullifies the usual analytical codes inherent in the act of contemplating an artwork.

In her series Work in Progress, Campbell simulates beige and green masking tape, and effectively imitates the process of creating geometric, hard edge abstract paintings. Often presented flat on the surface of a worktable, these pieces transpose a moment in the studio into the space of the gallery. In Paper series, the potential of the white page is left untouched, as no pictorial element can be detected on its surface until one realizes that the page itself is made entirely of paint. In her most recent series, created for her exhibition New Works at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, the artist recreates various packing materials in the style of trompe l’œil from a mixture of acrylic-based mediums: corrugated cardboard, clear plastic wrap, bubble wrap, packing tape, etc. As a result, these paintings, much like the works in Paper series, more closely resemble a kind of three-dimensional painting akin to sculpture.

Between October 2010 and October 2015, Tammi Campbell meticulously developed her series Dear Agnes, during which she would write a letter to Agnes Martin, Canadian pioneer of abstract painting, when she arrived at her studio every morning. Hundreds of letters present an infinite array of straight grids traced out in pencil on Japanese paper. Like an act of homage, this daily ritual constitutes a gesture of understanding and connection through which Campbell silently communicates with Martin through the metaphoric use of the latter’s geometric vocabulary.

Biography

Tammi Campbell’s (b. 1974) holds a BFA from the University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon. Over the past ten years, her work has been shown in numerous solo and group exhibitions throughout Canada, namely at the Mendel Art Gallery, Saskatoon (2015, 2013, 2012, 2008, 2007); the Justina M. Barnicke Gallery, Toronto (2014); the Dunlop Art Gallery, Regina (2013); Mercer Union, Toronto (2013); and the Galerie de l’UQAM, Montréal (2013). In addition, a major solo exhibition of her work will be presented at the MacKenzie Art Gallery in Regina, in 2016. Campbell has also participated in the Canadian Biennale 2014 at the National Gallery of Canada, in Ottawa, as well as the 30th International Symposium of Contemporary Art of Baie-St-Paul, in 2012.

In recent years, Campbell’s work has been the subject of several feature articles in Canadian Art, Border Crossings, and C Magazine, and her work is part of several institutional collections, including BMO Financial Group, Toronto; Dunlop Art Gallery, Regina; Mendel Art Gallery, Saskatoon; Mouvement Desjardins, Québec; Musée d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul; National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa; RBC Financial Group, Toronto; TD Bank Group, Toronto. She lives and works in Saskatoon, Canada. Tammi Campbell is represented by Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal.

Facebook
Instagram
Textes

Textes

Démarche

Le travail de Tammi Campbell entre en dialogue avec l’héritage de la peinture moderniste et minimaliste en référant, explicitement ou indirectement, aux legs d’Agnes Martin, de Frank Stella ou de Sol LeWitt, par exemple. Campbell sonde avec humour la spécificité du médium peinture et le fétichisme du processus de création à travers des œuvres peintes en trompe-l’œil, mais dont l’achèvement semble incertain. Cette esthétique « en processus », « en chantier » est servie par les matériaux et les zones périphériques du monde de l’art que Campbell évoque, et qui concourent à interroger la valeur attribuée à la peinture et au savoir-faire de l’artiste. Ses œuvres tendent effectivement à générer anticipation et confusion et à rendre caducs nos codes d’analyse ou de contemplation devant une œuvre d’art.

Dans sa série Work in Progress, Campbell simule des rubans adhésifs beiges et verts qui feignent préparer des œuvres à compositions géométriques dans l’esprit hard-edge. Souvent présentées à plat sur des tables de travail, ces œuvres reportent le moment de l’atelier dans l’espace de la galerie. Dans Paper series, c’est plutôt toute la potentialité de la feuille blanche qui est laissée en suspend– il ne semble pas y avoir d’œuvre picturale, mais la feuille elle-même est faite de peinture. Dans sa plus récente série, amorcée avec l’exposition New Works à la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, l’artiste recrée en trompe-l’œil des matériaux d’emballage à l’aide de mélanges à base d’acrylique : carton ondulé, pellicule translucide de polyéthylène, papier bulle, ruban adhésif, etc. Par conséquent, ces tableaux, comme les œuvres de Paper series, s’apparentent à des objets-peinture près de la sculpture.

Entre octobre 2010 et octobre 2015, Tammi Campbell a méticuleusement constitué la série Dear Agnes au cours de laquelle, chaque matin où elle se rendait à l’atelier, elle rédigeait une lettre adressée à la peintre Agnes Martin, pionnière de l’abstraction au Canada. Ces centaines de lettres réalisées à la mine de plomb sur papier japonais présentent toutes un réseau de lignes tracées approximativement à l’aide d’une règle dans d’infinies variations de grilles. Près de l’hommage, ce rituel s’apparente à un geste de compréhension ou de connexion à travers duquel Campbell s’adresse silencieusement à Martin en employant métaphoriquement le vocabulaire géométrique de cette dernière.

Biographie

Tammi Campbell (n. 1974) détient un baccalauréat en arts visuels del’Université de Saskatchewan, Saskatoon. Depuis plus de dix ans, son travail a fait l’objet de plusieurs expositions individuelles et collectives à travers le Canada, notamment à : la Mendel Art Gallery, Saskatoon (2015, 2013, 2012, 2008, 2007); la Justina M. Barnicke Gallery, Toronto (2014); la Dunlop Art Gallery,Regina (2013); le Mercer Union, Toronto (2013); et la Galerie de l’UQAM, Montréal (2013). De plus, une vaste exposition individuelle à la MacKenzie Art Gallery, Regina, lui sera consacrée en 2016. Campbell a également participé à la Biennale canadienne 2014 du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Ottawa, ainsi qu’au 30e Symposium international d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul en 2012.

Au cours des dernières années, le travail de Campbell a fait l’objet de plusieurs articles spécialisés au sein des revues Canadian Art, Border Crossings ainsi que C Magazine, et ses œuvres ont intégré de nombreuses collections institutionnelles, nommons : BMO Financial Group, Toronto; Dunlop Art Gallery, Regina; Mendel Art Gallery, Saskatoon; Mouvement Desjardins, Québec; Musée d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul; Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Ottawa; RBC Financial Group, Toronto; TD Bank Group, Toronto. Elle vit et travaille à Saskatoon, Canada. Tammi Campbell est représenté par la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal.