Facebook
Instagram
March 14 to April 22, 2018

Guillaume Adjutor Provost: Introduction

Opening on Wednesday, March 14 from 5pm to 7pm. Artist in attendance.

Guillaume Adjutor Provost
La main d’Émilie Gamelin, 2017
Impression jet d’encre sur coton
Ink jet print on cotton
208 x 200 cm (81,89” x 74,74”) | 208 x 138 cm (81,89” x 54,33”) | 208 x 128 cm (81,89” x 50,39”)

Galerie Hugues Charbonneau is delighted to present Introduction an exhibition by Guillaume Adjutor Provost. The artist invites you to this articulation of selected works from his exhibitions Matériellement rien, potentiellement tout (Diagonale, 2017), Providence (Association des travailleurs grecs du Québec / Clark / La SERRE, 2017) and Bonne Fortune (Clark, 2016). Through a re-exhibition of his body of work, the artist proposes a discovery, with him, of the milestones of his art practice. Given that this is the first time in his career that he is represented by a gallery, he is seizing the opportunity to explore the reference points of his artistic language. It is in view of this that he chose to use the exhibition space as a post-production site.

This retrospective exhibition presents the mainlines of Guillaume Adjutor Provost’s practice: referentiality, curatorial approaches, textuality, archival and photographic languages, psychedelic manifestations. Guided by an attitude of conceptual materialism, the artist’s practice inherently reveals zones of immaterial reflections buttressed by the physical object. Through their thoughts and interactions, viewers actively contribute to defining the artist’s language. With Introduction, the encounter with iconographic works by Guillaume Adjutor thus becomes the site of a truly fertile analysis.

About Guillaume Adjutor Provost   

Lives and works in Montreal where he completed a doctorate in art and research at UQAM in 2017. Guillaume Adjutor Provost has received grants from the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Art, the OJIQ and the Sodec. His work has been shown in solo and group exhibitions in Canada, France, Germany, Belgium, Catalonia and Switzerland. In parallel, his practice has been highlighted through the Jean-Claude Rochefort award and the Claudine and Stephen Bronfman Fellowship in Contemporary Art. Since autumn 2016, he has been provided with a studio at the Fonderie Darling. In 2018, he will present a solo exhibition curated by Chloé Grondeau and Marthe Carrier at the artist centre Bikini in Lyon, participate in the exhibition … Move or be Moved by Something Rather than Oneself at Critical Distance (Toronto) curated by Florence-Agathe Dubé-Moreau and Maude Johnson, and carry out a research residency at Fondation Rupert in Vilnius, Lithuania.

What's this?

You are currently reading Guillaume Adjutor Provost: Introduction at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

meta

Facebook
Instagram
14 mars au 22 avril 2018

Guillaume Adjutor Provost : Introduction

Vernissage le mercredi 14 mars de 17h à 19h en présence de l’artiste

Guillaume Adjutor Provost
La main d’Émilie Gamelin, 2017
Impression jet d’encre sur coton
Ink jet print on cotton
208 x 200 cm (81,89” x 74,74”) | 208 x 138 cm (81,89” x 54,33”) | 208 x 128 cm (81,89” x 50,39”)

La Galerie Hugues Charbonneau est ravie de présenter Introduction, une exposition de Guillaume Adjutor Provost. L’artiste vous convie à l’articulation d’une sélection d’œuvres issues de ses expositions Matériellement rien, potentiellement tout (Diagonale, 2017), Providence (Association des travailleurs grecs du Québec / Clark / La SERRE, 2017) et Bonne Fortune (Clark, 2016). À travers une remise-en-exposition de son corpus, l’artiste propose de découvrir, avec lui, les jalons de sa démarche de création. En effet, représenté par une galerie pour une première fois en carrière, Provost saisit l’occasion d’explorer les balises de son langage artistique. C’est en ce sens qu’il choisit d’utiliser l’espace d’exposition comme lieu de post-production.

De nature rétrospective, l’exposition présente les grands axes de l’approche de Guillaume Adjutor Provost : la référentialité, les approches commissariales, la textualité, les langages de l’archive et de la photographie, les manifestations psychédéliques. Suivant une attitude du matérialisme conceptuel, la pratique de l’artiste révèle en soi des zones de réflexions immatérielles soutenues par l’objet physique. En effet, par ses pensées et ses interactions, le visiteur contribue activement à la définition du langage de l’artiste. Avec Introduction, la rencontre des œuvres iconographiques de Guillaume Adjutor devient donc un lieu d’analyse des plus féconds.

Au sujet de Guillaume Adjutor Provost   

Guillaume Adjutor Provost (n. 1987) vit et travaille à Montréal où il a complété un doctorat en études et pratiques des arts à l’UQAM en 2017. Récipiendaire de bourses du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, du Conseil des Arts du Canada, de l’OJIQ, de la Sodec, le travail de Guillaume Adjutor Provost a été diffusé lors d’expositions solos et collectives au Canada, en France, en Allemagne, en Autriche, en Belgique, en Catalogne et en Suisse. Parallèlement, sa pratique a été soulignée par l’attribution de la bourse Jean-Claude Rochefort et du prix Claudine et Stephen Bronfman en art contemporain. Depuis l’automne 2016, il bénéficie d’un atelier à la Fonderie Darling. En 2018, il présentera une exposition solo au centre d’art Bikini de Lyon sous le commissariat de Chloé Grondeau et de Marthe Carrier, participera à l’exposition … Move or be Moved by Something Rather than Oneself à Critical Distance (Toronto) sous le commissariat de Florence-Agathe Dubé-Moreau et de Maude Johnson, puis séjournera à la Fondation Rupert à Vilnius en Lituanie pour une résidence de recherche.

What's this?

You are currently reading Guillaume Adjutor Provost : Introduction at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

meta