Facebook
Instagram
May 2 to June 13, 2018

Interdependence/Indispensability: Benoit Aquin, Maria Hupfield and Karen Tam

 

Opening on May 2 from 5 to 7pm

Benoit Aquin
Téléphones intelligents No.22. Los Angeles (série Anton Bequii ou La dimension éthérique du réseau), 2016
Impression numérique à pigments de qualité archive
Archival digital pigment print
Edition 5
102 x 152 cm (40’’ x 60’’)

This group exhibition brings together Benoit Aquin, Maria Hupfield, and Karen Tam, who use different approaches in their work to negotiate power relations between the individual, artifact, place, and history. Whether through the self and its other, or through digital or physical manipulation of the art object, re-enactment is a political gesture that simultaneously allows us to experience the past and present, yet can be used to transform and distort understandings of historical events and peoples. By appropriating methods of re-enactments, the artists challenge and resist conventional production and consumption of the self and the body (Hupfield), of information and knowledge (Aquin), and of culture (Tam).

Revisiting her performative photographic series, Counterpoint, in which two figures (the self and its other) respond to one another’s presence and to the locations in which they find themselves, Hupfield disrupts the original photographs by collaging felt cutouts atop the surface, obscuring one of the models. In doing so, the artist is reasserting an individual identity and contests practices of domination and social control.

Maria Hupfield
Resistance on All Fronts, 2007-2018
Épreuve chromogène et feutre industriel
C-print and industrial felt
Edition : unique
Photo: 102 x 76 cm (40” x 30”)

The double also appears in Aquin’s project based on the life and work of photographer Anton Bequii —an alter ego whose name is an anagram of Benoit Aquin. Documenting a parallel existence and reality, Bequii’s autofictive photographs are counter-sites to the dystopic illusions and transmission of (mis)information fed to us by mass media.

A similar mimicry occurs in Tam’s papier-mâché sculptures that activate historical artifacts through their replicas, as well as in her smoke cutouts depicting woman warriors in Chinese history and folklore as door gods who ward off evil spirits and influences. Through these mirrored figures and doubled objects, Tam questions modes of cultural production and interpretation.

Karen Tam
A Double Stream of Tears, 2018
Techniques mixtes
Mixed media
64 x 23 x 23 cm (25 1/4” x 9” x 9”) ch/ea

What's this?

You are currently reading Interdependence/Indispensability: Benoit Aquin, Maria Hupfield and Karen Tam at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

meta

Facebook
Instagram
2 mai au 13 juin 2018

Interdépendance/Indispensabilité : Benoit Aquin, Maria Hupfield et Karen Tam

 

Vernissage le 2 mai de 17 h à 19h

Benoit Aquin
Téléphones intelligents No.22. Los Angeles (série Anton Bequii ou La dimension éthérique du réseau), 2016
Impression numérique à pigments de qualité archive
Archival digital pigment print
Edition 5
102 x 152 cm (40’’ x 60’’)

L’exposition de groupe réunit les artistes Benoit Aquin, Maria Hupfield et Karen Tam, lesquels proposent différentes approches pour aborder le thème de l’équilibre des forces entre la personne, l’artefact, l’espace et l’histoire. Que ce soit par le soi et l’autre ou à la suite d’une manipulation physique ou numérique de l’objet artistique, la reconstitution s’avère un geste politique qui nous permet de vivre simultanément l’expérience du passé et du présent et possède la capacité de transformer et de déformer notre compréhension des événements historiques et des peuples. En s’emparant des méthodes de reconstitution, les artistes remettent en cause la production et la consommation typique du soi et du corps (Maria Hupfield), de l’information et du savoir (Benoit Aquin) et de la culture (Karen Tam) afin d’y résister.

Maria Hupfield reprend sa série de photographies performative Counterpoint — où deux figures (le soi et l’autre) réagissent à la présence de l’une et de l’autre ainsi qu’aux lieux dans lesquels elles se trouvent. Elle modifie toutefois les photographies originales à l’aide de découpes de feutre qu’elle appose sur les photographies originales, obscurcissant de la sorte l’un des personnages. L’artiste réaffirme ainsi une identité en particulier et s’oppose aux pratiques de domination et de contrôle social.

Maria Hupfield
Resistance on All Fronts, 2007-2018
Épreuve chromogène et feutre industriel
C-print and industrial felt
Edition : unique
Photo: 102 x 76 cm (40” x 30”)

La figure du double est également présente dans l’œuvre de Benoit Aquin qui porte sur la vie et le travail du photographe Anton Bequii — un alter ego dont le nom est l’anagramme de Benoit Aquin. Documentant une existence et une réalité en parallèle, les photographies d’autofiction de Bequii sont des contre-espaces aux illusions et à la transmission de la (dés-) information dystopiques qui nous parvient des médias de masse.

On retrouve ce mimétisme dans les sculptures en papier mâché de Karen Tam qui activent des artefacts historiques par le truchement de leurs répliques ainsi que dans ses découpages à la fumée décrivant des guerrières de l’histoire et du folklore chinois comme des dieux des portes qui éloignent les esprits malins et les influences diaboliques. Par ces personnages calqués et ces objets répliqués, Tam remet en question les modes de production et d’interprétation culturelles.

Karen Tam
A Double Stream of Tears, 2018
Techniques mixtes
Mixed media
64 x 23 x 23 cm (25 1/4” x 9” x 9”) ch/ea

What's this?

You are currently reading Interdépendance/Indispensabilité : Benoit Aquin, Maria Hupfield et Karen Tam at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

meta