fbpx

Jean-Benoit Pouliot: Displacements

Visit the exhibition online

Jean-Benoit Pouliot: Displacements

Opening reception March 4, 2020 at 5 pm
Artist in attendance

 

Galerie Hugues Charbonneau is delighted to present Déplacements, Jean-Benoit Pouliot’s fourth solo exhibition at the gallery.

 

Jean-Benoit Pouliot, Déplacements, 2020
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

One Exhibition, Several Activations

Taking a great interest in issues pertaining to the artwork’s reception in the digital era, Jean-Benoit Pouliot is proposing a new body of work in which he digitizes various abstract paintings by applying a series of gestures and manipulations to create visual distortions. The title Déplacements (Displacements) refers to the gestures the artist carries out while he is digitizing the works – such as rotate and move, to name but these examples. In this case, it is not the painting itself that is made visible, but rather the mediatisation process the artist subjects it to. The result produces slippages, torsions, glitches and a pixelization of the pictorial material.

 

For several years, Jean-Benoit has also been exploring new, more performance-oriented avenues that have allowed him to extend his reflections about the mediatisation of works into physical space. The exhibition hence also comprises the activation of a series of close to two hundred paintings. Though these paintings are visible only as slices in their gallery mounted state, the artist carries out a number of actions at night that enables them to come to life. Since these activations take place while the gallery is closed to the public, they are documented and made available exclusively on social media. Pouliot approaches this performance section in resonance with the two main themes: “the painting in space” and “the painting and the body.” Guided by a desire to constantly alter the physical limits of the work, these activations make it possible for the artist, to once again, go beyond painting itself.

 

Jean-Benoit Pouliot, Déplacements, 2020
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

Artist Statement

Jean-Benoit Pouliot’s work is structured around issues linked to composition and the reading and mediatisation of the image in painting. Through an exploration of the modalities of the artwork’s reception in the digital era, the artist takes an interest in the painted surface. Jean-Benoit Pouliot’s work reveals the manner in which the omnipresence of screens now conditions our very experience of artworks. Characteristically abstract, his works come across as superimpositions of planes and networks in which the thin layers of accumulated material suggest a depth and generate immaterial spaces that appear to stretch beyond the painting’s physical limits – which are altered and transgressed.

 

Jean-Benoit Pouliot, Activations No1, No2 et No3, 2020
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

Biography

Self-taught, Jean-Benoit Pouliot (born in 1975) began his artistic career at the beginning of the 2000s by way of engraving. From 2004 to 2008, he worked as part of the duo L’œil de verre, which used light as a raw material, and he collaborated with various figures of the current music scene. Painting began to take on a prominent place in his practice as of 2008, and since then, Pouliot has participated in several group exhibitions in Quebec and New York. His work has also been show during solo exhibitions, notably at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau (2017, 2014 and 2012), at Galerie d’art d’Outremont (2011) and at the Cirque du Soleil headquarters (2006). Among his group exhibitions, the most noteworthy is “Grâce au dessin”, presented at Nan Rae Gallery (Woodbury University, Burbank, California). Pouliot also took part in the public art event Aires libres in Montreal (2014), the Peinture Extrême event in Montreal (2013 and 2010), as well as the Mois Multi 10: festival international d’arts multidisciplinaires et numériques in Quebec City (2009). His works are part of many private and institutional collections: Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Loto-Québec, Banque Nationale, Banque de Montréal, Banque TD, Mouvement Desjardins, BLG and Collection du Cirque du Soleil, among others. Jean-Benoit Pouliot lives and works in Montreal.

 

Jean-Benoit Pouliot, Déplacements, 2020
Vue d’installation (99 tableaux)
Installation view (99 paintings)
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

fbpx

Jean-Benoit Pouliot : Déplacements

Visitez l'exposition en ligne

Jean-Benoit Pouliot : Déplacements

Vernissage le mercredi 4 mars 2020 à 17h
en présence de l’artiste

 

La Galerie Hugues Charbonneau est heureuse d’accueillir Déplacements, la quatrième exposition personnelle de Jean-Benoit Pouliot en ses murs.

 

Jean-Benoit Pouliot, Déplacements, 2020
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

Une exposition, plusieurs activations

Captivé par les enjeux liés à la réception de l’œuvre d’art à l’ère numérique, Jean-Benoit Pouliot présente un nouveau corpus dans lequel il numérise différents tableaux abstraits en effectuant une série de gestes et de manipulations venant créer des distorsions visuelles. Le titre Déplacements, renvoie à la gestuelle de l’artiste au moment de numériser les œuvres – tels des mouvements de rotation et de translation, pour ne nommer que ces exemples. Ici, ce n’est pas le tableau lui-même qui est rendu visible, mais seulement la médiatisation que l’artiste en a fait. Le résultat produit des glissements, des torsions, des glitchs et une pixellisation de la matière picturale.

 

Depuis quelques années, Jean-Benoit explore également de nouvelles avenues, davantage performatives, lui permettant de prolonger dans l’espace physique ses réflexions sur la médiatisation des œuvres. Ainsi, dans un deuxième temps, l’exposition comprend l’activation d’une série de près de deux cents tableaux. Tandis que, cordés au mur de la galerie, ces tableaux ne sont visibles que par leur tranche, l’artiste réalise, de soir, une pluralité d’actions leur permettant de prendre vie. Puisque ces différentes activations prennent place au moment où la galerie est fermée au public, elles sont documentées et rendues accessibles uniquement sur les réseaux sociaux. Pouliot aborde ce volet performatif à l’aune de deux thèmes centraux soit, dans un premier temps, « le tableau dans l’espace » et, dans un deuxième temps, « le tableau et le corps ». Dans un désir de constamment altérer les limites physiques de l’œuvre, ces activations permettent à l’artiste d’aller, une fois de plus, au-delà de la peinture elle-même.

 

Jean-Benoit Pouliot, Déplacements, 2020
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

Démarche artistique

La pratique artistique de Jean-Benoit Pouliot s’articule autour d’enjeux formels liés à la composition, à la lecture et à la médiatisation de l’image en peinture. L’artiste s’intéresse à la surface peinte, en explorant les modalités de réception de l’œuvre d’art à l’ère numérique. Le travail de Jean-Benoit Pouliot témoigne de la manière dont l’omniprésence des écrans conditionne dorénavant l’expérience même des œuvres d’art. Abstraites, ses œuvres se présentent comme des superpositions de plans et de réseaux, dont les minces couches de matière additionnées suggèrent une profondeur et génèrent des espaces immatériels qui semblent s’étendre au-delà des limites physiques du tableau – lesquelles sont altérées et transgressées.

 

Jean-Benoit Pouliot, Activations No1, No2 et No3, 2020
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

Biographie

Autodidacte, Jean-Benoit Pouliot (n. 1975) amorce sa carrière artistique au début des années 2000 par l’entremise de la gravure. De 2004 à 2008, il œuvre au sein du duo de performance L’œil de verre qui utilise la lumière comme matière première et collabore avec divers acteurs de la scène musicale actuelle. La peinture acquiert une place centrale dans sa pratique à compter de 2008 et depuis, Pouliot a pris part à plusieurs expositions collectives au Québec et à New York. Son travail a fait l’objet d’expositions individuelles, notamment à la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau (2017, 2014 et 2012), à la Galerie d’art d’Outremont (2011) et au siège social du Cirque du Soleil (2006). Parmi ses expositions collectives, on retrouve notamment « Grâce au dessin », présentée à la Nan Rae Gallery (Woodbury University, Burbank, Californie). Pouliot a également participé à la manifestation d’art public Aires libres à Montréal (2014), à l’événement Peinture Extrême à Montréal (2013 et 2010), ainsi qu’au Mois Multi 10 : festival international d’arts multidisciplinaires et numériques à Québec (2009). Ses œuvres sont présentes au sein de nombreuses collections privées et institutionnelles : Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Loto-Québec, Banque Nationale, Banque de Montréal, Banque TD, Mouvement Desjardins, BLG et Collection du Cirque du Soleil, entre autres. Jean-Benoit Pouliot vit et travaille à Montréal.

 

Jean-Benoit Pouliot, Déplacements, 2020
Vue d’installation (99 tableaux)
Installation view (99 paintings)
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada