Facebook
Instagram

Moridja Kitenge Banza:1

February 27th, 2019 § 0 comments § permalink

 

Moridja Kitenge Banza, Christ Pantocrator No1, 2017
Acrylique sur bois, feuille d’or
Acrylic on panel, gold leaf
40 x 30 cm (15,75” x 11,75”)

 

For his first exhibition at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Moridja Kitenge Banza is presenting  a painting from his series “Christ Pantocrator” which explores the complexity of his Congolese cultural identity through deeply rooted colonial symbols that he subjects to shifts in meaning. The artist describes this series in the following text.

 

A Christ Pantocrator is a Byzantine icon of Christ represented as almighty in his glorious body. This painting series borrows this representation as a starting point to question my relationship to masks from Africa found in Western art museums.

In most African cultures, masks are meant to be used in sacred rites and ceremonies celebrating birth, death or harvest. When dispalced as static objects in museums, they become amputated from their contexts of origin, simultaneously revealing aporias : the aritsts’ identities are unknown and their provenance, undisclosed to the people and places they come from. Silent and detached from contemporary African life, these masks are nonetheless a material testament of the diversity and complexity of these societies. They are essential vehicules of customs and heritage for future generations of africans.

My reflexions are guided by a critical analysis of historical and cultural aspects of my country, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, as well as my own history, combining multiple layers of narratives and meanings. Catholicism plays an important role, passed on to my ancesters by Jesuit priests during the evangelization of the Congo, and carried through my ancestry, as well as my own family’s experiences. My current outlook on these persistant symbols is energized by an intersecting creative intent, between memory and reappropriation.

To this end, I draw from various museum collections that possess African masks. I reproduce Pantocrator paintings, over which I paint the masks I have chosen, covering the face of Christ. Through this intervention, I return its glory to the sacred object and reactivate its function: that of being worn.

 

Moridja Kitenge Banza : 1 (exposition_exhibition), 2019, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada (photo : Jean-Michael Seminaro)

 

 

Biography

Canadian Congolese aritst Moridja Kitenge Banza was born in Kinshasa in 1980 in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. He holds degrees from l’Académie des beaux-arts de Kinshasa, from l’École supérieure des beaux-arts de Nantes Métropole and from the Humanities and Social Sciences faculty of l’Université de La Rochelle.  In 2010, he was awarded the first prize of the Biennale of Contemporary African Art, DAK’ART for his video Hymne à nousand his installation work De 1848 à nos jours. His work was part of exhibitions at the Musée Dauphinois (Grenoble, France), at the Museum of Contemporary Art (Rosklide, Danemark), at the Arndt Gallery and Ngbk (Berlin, Allemagne), at the Biennale Internationale de Casablanca (Casablanca, Maroc), at the Fondation Attijariwafa bank (Casablanca, Maroc), at the Fondation Blachère (Apt, France) as well as at the BAnQ, at galerie Joyce Yahouda, at Oboro and at the Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (Montréal, Canada).

 

Artist Statement

As a multidisciplinary artist, I express myself through painting, photography, video, drawing and installation.

My process is situated at the intersection of reality and fiction. Through this lens, I question the history, memory and identity of the places where I live or have lived in relation to the place I occupy in these localities. I intentionally confuse fact and fiction to problematize hegemonic narratives and create spaces where marginalized discourse could flourish. Drawing from past and present situations, I organize, assemble and trace figures, as would a land surveyor, by reappropriating the codes of cultural, political, social and economic representations. In so doing, I build my own tools to better invest the “other’s” territory in order to enrich all the fields of research that inspire my practice.

 

The gallery would like to extend its gratitude to Anne-Isabelle Pronkina for her contribution to the development of the exhibition’s concept.

 

Moridja Kitenge Banza, Authentique #1, 2017
Impression archive au jet d’encre sur papier
Archival digital inkjet print on paper
Édition 3/5
86,3 x 61 cm (34” x 24”)

Maria Hupfield: Stay Golden

October 6th, 2015 § 0 comments § permalink

Vernissage: October 10 from 3 to 5pm. The artist will be present.

Stay Golden

Galerie Hugues Charbonneau is pleased to welcome Maria Hupfield for her second solo exhibition at the gallery. Based on her performance titled Jiimaan, which took place in Venice in May 2015, Stay Golden presents a new collection of gold sculptures, a life-size grey felt canoe, and a two-channel video.

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015 Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.  Felt canoe,  ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap.

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015
Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.
Felt canoe, ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap.

Maria Hupfield’s installations, much like her performances, employ various strategies for occupying space. The artist is interested in how the charged identity of sites can impact our behaviour, but also how they can define our identity or change our perception of things. How do we appropriate a new place for ourselves? How do we activate the places that surround us? Can these be a source of empowerment or of communion with the past?

Maria Hupfield Victory in Defeat (working title), 2015 Grelots en étain avec fini doré  et élasthanne doré avec polyfil   Spandex fabric, tin jingles with gold color finish and polyfil 43 x 30,5 x 43 cm (17’’ x 12 ‘’ x 17”)

Maria Hupfield
Victory in Defeat (working title), 2015
Grelots en étain avec fini doré et élasthanne doré avec polyfil
Spandex fabric, tin jingles with gold color finish and polyfil
43 x 30,5 x 43 cm (17’’ x 12 ‘’ x 17”)

Similarly, material culture and the symbolic or emotional value we imbue certain objects with, is at the core of her research. In the gallery, public memory is superimposed on the artist’s own, through objects in her Trophy Wall, an assemblage of grey felt or gold fabric sculptures; relics and artefacts of one or many previous performances. This commemorative wall suggests both a celebration and a laying to rest of these now “museum-ified” objects.

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe, Video), 2015 Installation video à deux canaux Two channel video installation  Édition : 3 1:15:00 boucle _ loop Camera Dylan McLaughlin Montage_Editing Dylan McLaughlin

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe, Video), 2015
Installation video à deux canaux
Two channel video installation
Édition : 3
1:15:00 boucle _ loop
Camera Dylan McLaughlin
Montage_Editing Dylan McLaughlin

Hupfield’s hand-made nine-foot canoe is the central element of the Jiimaan performance, which the artist enacted as part of the Ga ni tha exhibition in the Campo dei Gesuiti in Venice. An eponymous two-channel video retraces the different stages of this intervention: over three consecutive days, Hupfield performed before the public each evening, then recreated the previous night’s performance the following morning, alone and from memory.

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015 Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.  Felt canoe,  ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap. 274 cm long (9’ long)

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015
Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.
Felt canoe, ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap.
274 cm long (9’ long)

This piece reveals key concepts in the artist’s work, namely proficiency, cultural memory, and the body’s presence. She proposes a meeting between nations and their history through the Canadian and Anishinaabe traditions of birch bark canoe building, paralleling this with the fabrication of gondolas by Venetian artisans. Moreover, the participatory nature of Jiimaan’s public performances makes direct reference to Anishinaabe oral traditions and Hupfield’s desire to create memories through shared human experience.

Maria Hupfield Venice Fringe Gloves, 2015 Gants de soirée en soie blanche et dorée avec frange de 2 pieds et frange vénitienne dorée de 4 pieds White satin and gold colored evening gloves with 2’ fringe and 4’ venetian gold colored fringe. 30,5 x 13 x 2,5 cm (12’’ x 4’’ x 1’’)

Maria Hupfield
Venice Fringe Gloves, 2015
Gants de soirée en soie blanche et dorée avec frange de 2 pieds et frange vénitienne dorée de 4 pieds
White satin and gold colored evening gloves with 2’ fringe and 4’ venetian gold colored fringe.
30,5 x 13 x 2,5 cm (12’’ x 4’’ x 1’’)

Maria Hupfield

Maria Hupfield’s work extends through performance, installation, sculpture, video, photography, and collage. Over the past ten years, numerous institutions throughout Canada, the US, and Europe have presented her work and performances in solo and group exhibitions, namely the North American Native Museum, Zurich (2014), the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2014), the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian, Washington D.C. (2013), the National Gallery of Canada (2013), the Museum of Art and Design, New York (2012), the Museum of Contemporary Native Arts, Santa Fe (2011), and the McCord Museum, Montréal (2011). Maria Hupfield is a Canadian artist of Anishinaabe (Ojibway) heritage, and a member of the Wasauksing First Nation in Ontario. She lives and works in Brooklyn, New York.

Marie-Claude Bouthillier : Mégalithes

May 25th, 2013 § Comments Off on Marie-Claude Bouthillier : Mégalithes § permalink

Marie-Claude Bouthilier, Mégalithe 06, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 59

Marie-Claude Bouthilier, Mégalithe 06, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 59″ x 47″, 150 x 120 cm

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Astrolithe, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylique on canvas, 20 1/2

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Astrolithe, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylique on canvas, 20 1/2″ x 14 1/2″

Marie-Claude Bouthilier, Mégalithe 05, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 59

Marie-Claude Bouthilier, Mégalithe 05, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 59″ x 47″, 150 x 120 cm

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes (nébuleuse), Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 33 (étoile), 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 12

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 33 (étoile), 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 12″ x 11″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 11, 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 24

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 11, 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 24″ x 24″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe (pierre blanche), 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 15 1/2

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe (pierre blanche), 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 15 1/2″ x 11 1/2″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 21, 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 16 1/2

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 21, 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 16 1/2″ x 16 1/2″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 23, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 16 1/2

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 23, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 16 1/2″ x 16 1/2″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 25, 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 16 1/2

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 25, 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 16 1/2″ x 16 1/2″

Marie-Claude Bouthilier, Mégalithe 02, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 82.5

Marie-Claude Bouthilier, Mégalithe 02, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 82.5″ x 59″, 210 x 150 cm

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, MM et Mégalithe, 2001-2013, encaustique, carbone, acrylique et huile sur papier, encaustic, carbon, acrilic and oil on paper, 15 1/2

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, MM et Mégalithe, 2001-2013, encaustique, carbone, acrylique et huile sur papier, encaustic, carbon, acrilic and oil on paper, 15 1/2″ x 10 3/4″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 36, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 36

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 36, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 36″ x 36″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 37, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 36

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 37, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 36″ x 36″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 38, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 36

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 38, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 36″ x 36″

Where Am I?

You are currently browsing entries tagged with artist at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

Facebook
Instagram

Moridja Kitenge Banza : 1

février 27th, 2019 § 0 comments § permalink

 

 

Moridja Kitenge Banza, Christ Pantocrator No1, 2017
Acrylique sur bois, feuille d’or
Acrylic on panel, gold leaf
40 x 30 cm (15,75” x 11,75”) 

 

Dans le cadre de sa première exposition à la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Moridja Kitenge Banza présente un tableau issu de sa série « Christ pantocrator » qui explore la complexité de son identité culturelle congolaise à travers des symboles coloniaux enracinés auxquels l’artiste fait subir un glissement de sens. L’artiste décrit ce corpus dans le texte qui suit.

 

Christ pantocrator part de l’icône chrétienne byzantine de Jésus Christ représenté comme étant glorieux et tout puissant. Il s’agit d’une série de peintures qui questionne ma relation avec les masques africains que l’on retrouve dans plusieurs musées occidentaux.

Dans la plupart des cultures africaines, les masques sont réalisés pour être utilisés lors de rites sacrés et de cérémonies célébrant la naissance, la mort ou les récoltes. Déplacés dans un environnement muséal, ils se trouvent amputés de leur contexte de souche et révèlent également ces apories : l’historiquede leur provenance reste méconnu des pays d’où ils viennent et l’identité des artistes, elle, demeure inconnue dans le lieu où ils sont implantés. Objets silencieux et décontextualisés, par leur existence, ils sont pourtant des preuves matérielles de la diversité et de la complexité des sociétés contemporaines africaines. Ce sont des véhicules de transmission essentiels des mœurs et coutumes pour les futures générations africaines.

Mes réflexions sont guidées par une analyse critique des composantes historico-culturelles de mon pays d’origine, la République démocratique du Congo, mais aussi par mon expérience de vie combinant ainsi des multiplicités de sens et d’histoires. Le catholicisme y est présent, transmis à mes ancêtres par les pères jésuites lors de l’évangélisation du Congo, de même que mes traditions familiales. Mon regard actuel sur ces symboles persistants est dynamisé par un élan créatif double, entre mémoire et réappropriation.

Pour ce faire, je puise dans les différents musées qui ont ces objets africains dans leurs collections. Sur la peinture iconographique du Pantocrator que je reproduis, je couvre la tête du Christ des masques choisis. Par cette intervention, je leur redonne leur gloire et leur fonction qui est celle d’être porté.

— Moridja Kitenge Banza

 

Moridja Kitenge Banza : 1 (exposition_exhibition), 2019, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada (photo : Jean-Michael Seminaro)

 

 

Biographie

Moridja Kitenge Banza est un artiste canadien d’origine congolaise né à Kinshasa en 1980 en République démocratique du Congo. Il est diplômé de l’Académie des beaux-arts de Kinshasa, de l’École supérieure des beaux-arts de Nantes Métropole ainsi que de la faculté des Sciences humaines et sociales de l’Université de La Rochelle.En 2010, il a reçu  le 1er prix de La Biennale de l’Art africain contemporain, DAK’ART, pour la vidéo Hymne à nouset l’installation De 1848 à nos jours. Son travail a été présenté au Musée Dauphinois (Grenoble, France), au Museum of Contemporary Art (Rosklide, Danemark), à la Arndt Gallery et à la Ngbk (Berlin, Allemagne), à la Biennale Internationale de Casablanca (Casablanca, Maroc), à la Fondation Attijariwafa bank (Casablanca, Maroc), à la Fondation Blachère (Apt, France) ainsi qu’àla BAnQ, à la galerie Joyce Yahouda, à Oboro et au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (Montréal, Canada).

 

Démarche artistique

Artiste multidisciplinaire, je m’exprime à travers la peinture, la photographie, la vidéo, le dessin et l’installation.

Ma démarche artistique se situe entre la réalité et la fiction, moyen par lequel j’interroge l’histoire, la mémoire et l’identité des lieux où j’habite ou que j’ai habité en lien avec la place que j’occupe dans ceux-ci. Je confonds intentionnellement réalité et fiction afin de perturber les récits hégémoniques et de créer des espaces où le discours marginal peut exister. Puisant dans les réalités actuelles ou anciennes, j’organise, j’assemble, je trace des figures, tel un géomètre, en me réappropriant les codes des représentations culturelles, politiques, sociales et économiques. Ainsi, je fabrique mes propres outils pour mieux investir le territoire de l’autre dans le but de nourrir tous ces domaines de recherche qui inspirent ma pratique.

 

La galerie tient à remercier Anne-Isabelle Pronkina pour sa contribution au développement de l’idée de cette exposition.

Moridja Kitenge Banza, Authentique #1, 2017
Impression archive au jet d’encre sur papier
Archival digital inkjet print on paper
Édition 3/5
86,3 x 61 cm (34” x 24”)

Maria Hupfield : Stay Golden

octobre 6th, 2015 § 0 comments § permalink

Vernissage le 10 octobre de 15 h à 17 h en présence de l’artiste

Stay Golden

La Galerie Hugues Charbonneau est heureuse d’accueillir l’artiste Maria Hupfield pour une deuxième exposition individuelle. Articulée autour de sa performance Jiimaan ayant pris place à Venise en mai 2015, Stay Golden présente un nouvel ensemble de sculptures dorées, un canot grandeur nature en feutre gris ainsi qu’un diptyque vidéo.

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015 Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.  Felt canoe,  ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap.

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015
Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.
Felt canoe, ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap.

Les installations de Maria Hupfield, tout comme ses performances, activent diverses stratégies d’occupation de l’espace. L’artiste s’intéresse à la charge identitaire des lieux qui à la fois peuvent réguler nos comportements, mais aussi définir notre identité ou changer nos perceptions. Comment nous approprions-nous un nouveau lieu? Comment activons-nous les lieux qui nous entourent? Peuvent-ils être source d’empowerment ou encore de communion avec le passé?

Maria Hupfield Victory in Defeat (working title), 2015 Grelots en étain avec fini doré  et élasthanne doré avec polyfil   Spandex fabric, tin jingles with gold color finish and polyfil 43 x 30,5 x 43 cm (17’’ x 12 ‘’ x 17”)

Maria Hupfield
Victory in Defeat (working title), 2015
Grelots en étain avec fini doré et élasthanne doré avec polyfil
Spandex fabric, tin jingles with gold color finish and polyfil
43 x 30,5 x 43 cm (17’’ x 12 ‘’ x 17”)

De manière similaire, la culture matérielle ainsi que la valeur symbolique ou affective que nous accordons à certains objets se trouvent au cœur de ses préoccupations. Dans la galerie, la mémoire des publics se superpose à celle de l’artiste à travers les objets de son Trophy Wall qui rassemble un éventail de sculptures de feutre gris ou de tissu doré, reliques et artéfacts d’une, voire de plusieurs performances passées. L’effet que suggère ce mur commémoratif oscille entre célébration ou mise au repos de ces objets qui s’y voient muséifiés.

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe, Video), 2015 Installation video à deux canaux Two channel video installation  Édition : 3 1:15:00 boucle _ loop Camera Dylan McLaughlin Montage_Editing Dylan McLaughlin

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe, Video), 2015
Installation video à deux canaux
Two channel video installation
Édition : 3
1:15:00 boucle _ loop
Camera Dylan McLaughlin
Montage_Editing Dylan McLaughlin

Le canot de neuf pieds confectionné à la main par Hupfield constitue l’élément central de la performance Jiimaan que l’artiste a réalisée dans le cadre de l’exposition Ga ni tha au Campo dei Gesuiti à Venise. La vidéo éponyme à deux canaux retrace les différents temps de cette intervention : durant trois jours consécutifs, Hupfield a performé en soirée devant public puis, le lendemain matin, seule et de mémoire, elle reproduisait la performance de la veille. Cette œuvre révèle des concepts clés dans le travail de l’artiste, soit le savoir-faire, la mémoire culturelle et la présence du corps.

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015 Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.  Felt canoe,  ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap. 274 cm long (9’ long)

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015
Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.
Felt canoe, ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap.
274 cm long (9’ long)

Elle propose une rencontre entre des nations et leur histoire à travers la tradition canadienne et Anishinaabe de construction de canots d’écorce mise en parallèle avec la fabrication des gondoles par les artisans vénitiens. De plus, la dimension participative des représentations devant public de Jiimaan fait directement référence à la tradition orale Anishinaabe et à la volonté de Hupfield de construire des souvenirs en partageant des expériences humaines.

Maria Hupfield Venice Fringe Gloves, 2015 Gants de soirée en soie blanche et dorée avec frange de 2 pieds et frange vénitienne dorée de 4 pieds White satin and gold colored evening gloves with 2’ fringe and 4’ venetian gold colored fringe. 30,5 x 13 x 2,5 cm (12’’ x 4’’ x 1’’)

Maria Hupfield
Venice Fringe Gloves, 2015
Gants de soirée en soie blanche et dorée avec frange de 2 pieds et frange vénitienne dorée de 4 pieds
White satin and gold colored evening gloves with 2’ fringe and 4’ venetian gold colored fringe.
30,5 x 13 x 2,5 cm (12’’ x 4’’ x 1’’)

Maria Hupfield

Le travail de Maria Hupfield se déploie à travers la performance, l’installation, la sculpture, la vidéo, la photographie et le collage. Au cours des dix dernières années, de nombreuses institutions au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe ont présenté ses œuvres ou ses performances dans le cadre d’expositions individuelles ou collectives, nommons le North American Native Museum, Zurich (2014); le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2014); le Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian, Washington D.C. (2013); le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada (2013); le Museum of Art and Design, New York (2012); le Museum of Contemporary Native Arts, Santa Fe (2011); et le Musée McCord, Montréal (2011). Maria Hupfield est une artiste canadienne d’héritage Anishinaabe (Ojibwé) et membre de la Première Nation Wasauksing en Ontario. Elle vit et travaille à Brooklyn, New York.

Marie-Claude Bouthillier : Mégalithes

mai 25th, 2013 § Commentaires fermés sur Marie-Claude Bouthillier : Mégalithes § permalink

Marie-Claude Bouthilier, Mégalithe 06, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 59

Marie-Claude Bouthilier, Mégalithe 06, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 59″ x 47″, 150 x 120 cm

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Astrolithe, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylique on canvas, 20 1/2

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Astrolithe, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylique on canvas, 20 1/2″ x 14 1/2″

Marie-Claude Bouthilier, Mégalithe 05, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 59

Marie-Claude Bouthilier, Mégalithe 05, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 59″ x 47″, 150 x 120 cm

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes (nébuleuse), Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 33 (étoile), 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 12

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 33 (étoile), 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 12″ x 11″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 11, 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 24

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 11, 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 24″ x 24″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe (pierre blanche), 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 15 1/2

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe (pierre blanche), 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 15 1/2″ x 11 1/2″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 21, 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 16 1/2

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 21, 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 16 1/2″ x 16 1/2″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 23, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 16 1/2

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 23, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 16 1/2″ x 16 1/2″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 25, 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 16 1/2

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 25, 2012, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 16 1/2″ x 16 1/2″

Marie-Claude Bouthilier, Mégalithe 02, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 82.5

Marie-Claude Bouthilier, Mégalithe 02, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 82.5″ x 59″, 210 x 150 cm

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithes, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, 2013 (photo : Éliane Excoffier)

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, MM et Mégalithe, 2001-2013, encaustique, carbone, acrylique et huile sur papier, encaustic, carbon, acrilic and oil on paper, 15 1/2

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, MM et Mégalithe, 2001-2013, encaustique, carbone, acrylique et huile sur papier, encaustic, carbon, acrilic and oil on paper, 15 1/2″ x 10 3/4″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 36, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 36

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 36, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 36″ x 36″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 37, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 36

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 37, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 36″ x 36″

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 38, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 36

Marie-Claude Bouthillier, Mégalithe 38, 2013, carbone et acrylique sur toile, carbon and acrylic on canvas, 36″ x 36″

Where Am I?

You are currently browsing entries tagged with artist at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.