Facebook
Instagram

Cynthia Girard-Renard : Love and Anarchy

November 10th, 2017 § 0 comments § permalink

Cynthia Girard-Renard
Plaisir fétichiste d’une militante antifasciste
(série Amour et anarchie)
2017
Acrylique sur toile
Acrylic on canvas
150 x 124 cm (59” x 49”)

Opening reception Saturday November 11, 3 PM to 5 PM. Artist in attendance.

Love and Anarchy
Cynthia Girard-Renard invites you to her latest project titled Love and Anarchy, inspired by the film of director Lina Wertmüller within which the action takes place inside a brothel under the ruling of Mussolini’s fascist Italy. The artist has elaborated 6 erotico-political paintings where inter-species characters mingle in a carnival of pleasure even if the days are dark and the speculative scenarios apocalyptical.

Inspired by a constellation of women artists and works such as the erotic paintings of Dorothy Iannone, the body art of Carolee Schneemann and the ecosexual movement of Annie Sprinkle, Girard-Renard has produced a body of work in which polymorphous figures, intertwined between plant, human and animal, are copulating and are in exaltation, defying passivity and the status quo. Figures constructed from her own body prints cavort within a ground printed directly from tree trunks. These bark backgrounds are the perfect burlesque theater to animate this vigorous troupe of characters who defy obscurantist scenarios with satirical playlets.

About Cynthia Girard-Renard 

Cynthia Girard-Renard received her MFA from Goldsmiths College, London, UK (1998). In the fall 2017, she takes part in the Canadian Biennial presented at the National Gallery of Canada and she presents her solo exhibition Our Mad Masters at the Musée d’art de Joliette. For more than 20 years, she has been actively exhibiting in Canada and internationally, including: Uma Certa Falta de Coerencia, Porto, Portugal (2015); Esker Foundation, Calgary, Alberta (2014); Thousand Plateaus Art Space, Chengdu, China (2011); Dunlop Art Gallery, Regina (2010); Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec (2010); September Gallery, Berlin (2009); Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2009); SPACE, London (2006); Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2005); etc.

The artist has been the recipient of grants from the Canada Council for the Arts and the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec to partake in residencies in London, Paris, New York and Berlin. Girard-Renard’s work is found in the collections of the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Canadian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Carleton University Art Gallery, the UQAM Gallery, the TD Bank as well as many private collections. Cynthia Girard-Renard lives and works in Montréal.

Situation #3: Cynthia Girard-Renard

July 7th, 2017 § 0 comments § permalink

Launch of the book Le Renard Vulve / Satan Narval 

Wednesday, July 12 from 5 PM to 7 PM at the bar Le Cheval blanc
809 Ontario est, Montreal

The artist-poet Cynthia Girard-Renard is delighted to announce the launch of her new book titled Le Renard Vulve. Written under the pseudonym Satan Narval, Cynthia Girard-Renard invites you to a feast in which animals are key actors in an erotico-poetic novel that takes place on Mont-Royal.

In this story based on mourning many loses, the narrator and her dog go off in search of the loved one on the Mountain, the birthplace of the plot. On her way, she meets a lesbian BDSM skunk couple, a stripper bat, a pileated woodpecker, a racoon barmaid and many other characters.

Through a series of interspecies sexual adventures and friendships, the narrator, like Alice in Wake-Land, wants you to come along on this delirious trip, reminiscent of a Journey to the End of the Mountain, from which you will not return unscathed. This story will forever change your view of Mont-Royal…

About Cynthia Girard-Renard

Satan Narval alias Cynthia Girard-Renard is a visual artist and poet. Her publications include J’ai percé un trou dans ma tête, Héliotrope, 2010, Le Soleil et l’électron, Tryptique, 2005, La Fureur des wapitis, Lanctôt éditeur, 2000, and Nous lirons du bout des yeux, Écrits des forges 1996. Her latest group exhibition, Les Fleurs animales, was held at l’Écart in Rouyn-Noranda in May 2017. Her upcoming projects include La Main invisible at McClure gallery, Westmount, September 2017 and Les Aventures du Renard Vulve at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau in November 2017. Not to mention her solo exhibition, Fictions sylvestres, at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2005), Tous les oiseaux sont ici, Kunstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2009), Unicorns and Dictators, Esker Fondation, Calgary (2014) and her upcoming participation in the 2017 Canadian Biennial presented at the National Gallery of Canada.

Summary

Satan Narval, Le Renard Vulve, written and illustrated by Cynthia Girard-Renard, Montreal, 196 p.
Graphic Design: Francine Savard
Book printing: Anteism and BookArt
Price : 25$

The book will be available for online orders: http://anteism.com/shop/renardvulve
As well as at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, librairie l’Écume des jours and at the bookstore of Galerie Clark, Montréal.

A Comfortable Indifference: Benoit Aquin, Cynthia Girard-Renard, Isabelle Hayeur et David Lafrance

June 1st, 2016 § 0 comments § permalink

Benoit Aquin Genghis Khan, Mongolie (série Le Dust Bowl chinois) Genghis Khan, Mongolia (The Chinese Dust Bowl), 2006 Impression numérique à pigments de qualité archive Archival pigment print Éd. 5 : 61 x 91 cm (24

Benoit Aquin
Genghis Khan, Mongolie (série Le Dust Bowl chinois)
Genghis Khan, Mongolia (The Chinese Dust Bowl), 2006
Impression numérique à pigments de qualité archive
Archival pigment print
Éd. 5 : 61 x 91 cm (24″ x 36”)
Éd. 7 : 81 x 122 cm (32″ x 48″)

A Comfortable Indifference 

For its summer exhibition, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau presents a selection of works that highlight the challenging conciliation between the capitalist system and the environmental movement.

Clearly, time is running out while the acceleration of global warming endangers human populations, threatens biodiversity and causes extreme weather events. Denial is no longer an option. And yet, the unrestrained quest for economic growth and our current dependence on fossil fuels compromises our efforts to limit the increase in global temperatures and the decarbonisation of the economy. A shift toward united and sustainable principles must be taken on a global, local and individual level.

Cynthia Girard-Renard Décroissance/ Degrowth, 2014 Acrylique sur mousseline de coton Acrylic on muslin  397 x 300 cm (156 1/4

Cynthia Girard-Renard
Décroissance/ Degrowth, 2014
Acrylique sur mousseline de coton
Acrylic on muslin
397 x 300 cm (156 1/4″ x 118″)
(Photo : Guy L’Heureux)

In the gallery, Benoit Aquin invites us to confront two human-made environmental disasters. First, his celebrated project, The Chinese “Dust Bowl” (2006-2009), portrays the desertification of the former Silk Road in Inner Mongolia, while his series, Mégantic (2013), documents the worst land-based oil spill to date in North America – now emblematic of the careless management surrounding the hydrocarbon lobby. For her part, Cynthia Girard-Renard presents a large painting from her project Unicorns and Dictators (2014), first exhibited at the Esker Foundation in Calgary. The work features a hybrid character reminiscent of a trickster, with smoke-belching factories for ears. He is surrounded by anxious rabbits inquiring about the future, while greenish clouds inscribed with words like, ‘NATURE’, ‘PROFIT’, and ‘CAPITAL’, drift overhead.

Isabelle Hayeur Écume d'étang (série Underworld), 2015 Édition 5 127 x 91 cm (50

Isabelle Hayeur
Écume d’étang (série Underworld), 2015
Édition 5
127 x 91 cm (50″ x 36″)

Isabelle Hayeur takes us elsewhere entirely – underwater – with her multi-year project Underworlds (2008-2015), documenting aquatic scenes of completely impaired ecosystems. This unusual vantage point effectively portrays the degradation of various bodies of water through urbanisation and massive industrialisation. Finally, David Lafrance’s series titled Earthships (2015), depicts the self-sustaining dwellings of the same name, juxtaposing these with miniature bucolic scenes and schematic or abstract interpretations of the homes’ energy efficient systems. Lafrance invites us to reflect on this fantasized green paradise, which sits diametrically opposed to our hyper-consumption and our technological dependence.

David Lafrance Earthship 07, 2015 Huile sur panneau Oil on panel 15 x 20 cm (6

David Lafrance
Earthship 07, 2015
Huile sur panneau
Oil on panel
15 x 20 cm (6″ x 8″)

The title of this exhibition was inspired by Josée Blanchette’s article “La confortable inconscience”, published in Le Devoir on February 26, 2016.

Cynthia Girard-Renard: La revanche des Sans-culottes

February 18th, 2016 § 0 comments § permalink

Cynthia Girard-Renard, La revanche des Sans-culottes, 2016, exposition _ exhibition, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal

Cynthia Girard-Renard, La revanche des Sans-culottes, 2016, exposition _ exhibition, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal

La revanche des Sans-culottes

For her first solo exhibition at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Cynthia Girard-Renard proposes a body of work created during the CALQ residency in Paris in 2015 and presented last fall in Porto, Portugal, under the title Les Sans-culottes. For the present exhibition, the series has been enlarged to include several new works, and already-existing puppets, banners and paintings have been complexified and reused. Girard-Renard’s starting point is the French Revolution, from which she develops a critical reflection on revolutionary thought in our current context of neoliberal austerity.

Cynthia Girard-Renard Sous les pavés, la plage, 2015 Acrylique sur toile libre de coton Acrylic on unstretched cotton canvas 224 x 287 cm (88’’ 1/4 x 113’’)

Cynthia Girard-Renard
Sous les pavés, la plage, 2015
Acrylique sur toile libre de coton
Acrylic on unstretched cotton canvas
224 x 287 cm (88’’ 1/4 x 113’’)

La revanche des Sans-culottes borrows its irreverent and comical energy from the caricatural social satire genre in 18th century France, an important influence for Girard-Renard during the development of the project. The title of the exhibition refers to the derogatory moniker applied to working-class protesters, that wore trousers or striped skirts, rather than the “culotte”, knickers favored by the Ancien Régime aristocracy. Girard-Renard stages confrontations between the monarchy and the people through an array of works depicting the decadence of Marie-Antoinette and Louis XVI’s court, which she compares to the voracity of today’s oligarchs and millionaires. The luxury industry, fashion, and finance collide with the threat of debt in Greece and the ubiquitous austerity that clobbers us in Québec, Europe and elsewhere – not unlike Punch’s beating-stick.

Cynthia Girard-Renard Petit théâtre du grand capital, 2016 Techniques mixtes Mixed media 240 x 90 x 90 cm (94 1/2’’ x 35 1/2’’ x 35 1/2’’)

Cynthia Girard-Renard
Petit théâtre du grand capital, 2016
Techniques mixtes
Mixed media
240 x 90 x 90 cm (94 1/2’’ x 35 1/2’’ x 35 1/2’’)

In the gallery space, Le petit théâtre du grand capital (2016) depicts this confrontation between the 99% and the elusive and shapeshifting 1%. Puppets and papier mâché props adopt the burlesque and ribald codes of the Théâtre du Grand-Guignol, active in Paris from 1896 to 1963. For its part, the theatrical curtain of Sous les pavés, la plage (2015), a reference to the famous May 1968 slogan, acts as a bridge between the exhibition and 1789, invoking past revolutionary ardor and defiantly taking a stand against mediocrity’s dominion.

Cynthia Girard-Renard Les Sans-culottes, 2015 Papier, bois et corde Paper, wood and rope 167,5 x 90 x 244 cm (66’’ x 35 1/2’’ x 96’’)

Cynthia Girard-Renard
Les Sans-culottes, 2015
Papier, bois et corde
Paper, wood and rope
167,5 x 90 x 244 cm (66’’ x 35 1/2’’ x 96’’)

Cynthia Girard-Renard

For more than 20 years, Girard-Renard has been actively exhibiting in Canada and internationally, including: Esker Foundation, Calgary (2014); Thousand Plateaus Art Space, Chengdu, China (2011); Dunlop Art Gallery, Regina (2010); Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec (2010); September Gallery, Berlin (2009); Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2009); SPACE, London (2006), not to mention her solo exhibition, Fictions sylvestres, at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2005) and her participation in the 2008 Quebec Triennial. Girard-Renard’s work is found in the collections of the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Carleton University Art Gallery, the UQAM Gallery, as well as many private collections. The artist lives and works in Montréal.

Cynthia Girard-Renard, La revanche des Sans-culottes, 2016, exposition _ exhibition, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal

Cynthia Girard-Renard, La revanche des Sans-culottes, 2016, exposition _ exhibition, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal

Where Am I?

You are currently browsing entries tagged with Cynthia Girard-Renard at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

Facebook
Instagram

Cynthia Girard-Renard : Amour et anarchie

novembre 10th, 2017 § 0 comments § permalink

Cynthia Girard-Renard
Plaisir fétichiste d’une militante antifasciste
(série Amour et anarchie)
2017
Acrylique sur toile
Acrylic on canvas
150 x 124 cm (59” x 49”)

Vernissage le samedi 11 novembre de 15 h à 17 h, en présence de l’artiste

Amour et anarchie

Cynthia Girard-Renard vous invite à son nouveau projet intitulé Amour et anarchie inspiré d’un film de la cinéaste italienne Lina Wertmüller dont l’action principale se déroule dans un bordel sous l’Italie fasciste de Mussolini. L’artiste a concocté une série de 6 tableaux érotico-politiques où des personnages inter-espèces se débattent dans des jouissances carnavalesques malgré les jours sombres et les scénarios apocalyptiques qui les entourent. Refusant la passivité et le statu quo, les figures polymorphes se tissant entre l’animal, le végétal et l’humain copulent et exultent.

Inspiré d’une constellation d’artistes femmes telles que Dorothy Iannone pour ses tableaux érotiques, Carolee Scheemann et son bodyart, ainsi que Annie Sprinkle dans son mouvement écosexuel, Girard-Renard a réalisé un corpus de toiles dont les fonds sont faits d’empreintes de troncs d’arbres sur lesquels elle a imprimé des parties de son corps. Les fonds-écorces sont le théâtre burlesque parfait pour animer cette troupe de personnages impertinents repoussant les scénarios obscurantistes dans des scénettes sexo-satiriques désopilantes.

Au sujet de Cynthia Girard-Renard 

Cynthia Girard-Renard détient une maîtrise en beaux-arts du Goldsmiths College à Londres (1998). À l’automne 2017, elle participe à la Biennale du Canada présentée au Musée National des Beaux-Arts du Canada et présente son exposition solo intitulée Nos maîtres les fous au Musée d’art de Joliette. Depuis plus de 20 ans, elle expose activement son travail au Canada et sur la scène internationale : Centre Uma Certa Falta de Coerencia, Porto, Portugal (2015); Esker Fondation, Calgary, Alberta (2014); Thousand Plateaus Art Space, Chengdu, Chine (2011); Dunlop Art Gallery, Régina (2010); Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec (2010); September Gallery, Berlin (2009); Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2009); SPACE, Londres (2006); Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2005); etc.

L’artiste a été récipiendaire de bourses du Conseil des arts du Canada et du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec pour compléter des résidences à Paris, New York, Berlin ainsi qu’à Londres. Son travail est entre autres présent dans les collections du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, du Ministère des Affaires étrangères du Canada, de la Carleton University Art Gallery, de la Galerie de l’UQAM, de la Banque TD ainsi que dans plusieurs collections privées. Cynthia Girard-Renard vit et travaille à Montréal.

Situation #3 : Cynthia Girard-Renard

juillet 7th, 2017 § 0 comments § permalink

Lancement du livre Le Renard-Vulve / Satan Narval
Mercredi 12 juillet de 17h00 à 19h00 au bar Le Cheval blanc

809 rue Ontario E., Montréal

C’est avec plaisir que l’artiste visuelle et poète Cynthia Girard-Renard vous invite au lancement de son nouveau livre intitulé Le Renard Vulve. Écrit sous le pseudonyme Satan Narval, Cynthia Girard-Renard vous convie à un festin où les animaux sont les acteurs-clés d’un roman érotico-poétique dont l’action se situe sur le Mont-Royal.

Récit élaboré autour de deuils multiples, la narratrice, accompagnée de son chien, part à la recherche de l’être aimé sur la Montagne, matrice originelle de l’intrigue. Sur son chemin, elle rencontre un couple de mouffettes lesbiennes BDSM, une chauve-souris danseuse nue, un grand pic, une barmaid raton-laveur et de nombreux autres protagonistes.

À travers une série d’aventures sexuelles et d’amitiés inter-espèces, la narratrice, telle Alice au pays des Morts-Veillent, vous convie à un récit effréné, tel Le voyage au bout de la Montagne dont vous ne sortirez pas indemnes et qui vous fera voir le Mont-Royal différemment pour toujours 

Au sujet de Cynthia Girard-Renard 

Satan Narval alias Cynthia Girard-Renard est artiste visuelle et poète. Ses publications incluent J’ai percé un trou dans ma tête, Héliotrope, 2010, Le Soleil et l’électron, Tryptique, 2005, La Fureur des wapitis, Lanctôt éditeur, 2000, et Nous lirons du bout des yeux, Écrits des forges 1996. Sa plus récente exposition collective intitulée Les Fleurs animales prenait place au centre d’artistes l’Écart à Rouyn-Noranda en mai 2017. Ses projets à venir incluent La Main invisible à la galerie McClure, Westmount septembre 2017 et Les Aventures du Renard Vulve à la galerie Hugues Charbonneau qui la représente en novembre 2017. Mentionnons aussi son exposition Fictions sylvestres en solo au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal en 2005, Tous les oiseaux sont ici, Kunstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2009), Uncicorns and Dictators, Esker Fondation, Calgary (2014) et sa participation à venir à la Biennale du Canada présentée au Musée National des Beaux-Arts du Canada à l’automne 2017.

Descriptif
Satan Narval, Le Renard Vulve, écrit et illustré par Cynthia Girard-Renard,
Montréal, 196 p.
Conception graphique : Francine Savard
Impression : Anteism et BookArt
Prix : 25$

Le livre sera disponible pour commande en ligne : http://anteism.com/shop/renardvulve
Ainsi qu’à Montréal  à la galerie Hugues Charbonneau, à la librairie l’Écume des jours et à la librairie de la galerie Clark.

Save

Save

Confortable insouciance : Benoit Aquin, Cynthia Girard-Renard, Isabelle Hayeur et David Lafrance

juin 1st, 2016 § 0 comments § permalink

Benoit Aquin Genghis Khan, Mongolie (série Le Dust Bowl chinois) Genghis Khan, Mongolia (The Chinese Dust Bowl), 2006 Impression numérique à pigments de qualité archive Archival pigment print Éd. 5 : 61 x 91 cm (24

Benoit Aquin
Genghis Khan, Mongolie (série Le Dust Bowl chinois)
Genghis Khan, Mongolia (The Chinese Dust Bowl), 2006
Impression numérique à pigments de qualité archive
Archival pigment print
Éd. 5 : 61 x 91 cm (24″ x 36”)
Éd. 7 : 81 x 122 cm (32″ x 48″)

Confortable insouciance 

Pour son exposition estivale, la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau propose une sélection d’œuvres qui pointent de manière lucide la conciliation difficile entre le système capitaliste et les luttes écologiques.

À l’évidence, le temps presse alors que l’accélération du réchauffement climatique met en péril des populations humaines, menace la biodiversité ou provoque des phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes… Le déni n’est plus possible. Pourtant, la recherche effrénée de croissance économique et la dépendance actuelle aux énergies fossiles plombent les efforts pour limiter la hausse des températures et la décarbonisation de l’économie. Un virage vers des principes solidaires et durables doit être appliqué à échelle globale, gouvernementale et individuelle.

Cynthia Girard-Renard Décroissance/ Degrowth, 2014 Acrylique sur mousseline de coton Acrylic on muslin  397 x 300 cm (156 1/4

Cynthia Girard-Renard
Décroissance/ Degrowth, 2014
Acrylique sur mousseline de coton
Acrylic on muslin
397 x 300 cm (156 1/4″ x 118″)
(Photo : Guy L’Heureux)

Dans la galerie, Benoit Aquin nous confronte à deux catastrophes environnementales d’origine humaine. D’une part, son célèbre projet Le “Dust Bowl” chinois (2006-2009) nous donne à voir à la désertification de l’ancienne « route de la soie » en Mongolie Intérieure. D’autre part, sa série Mégantic (2013) témoigne du pire déversement pétrolier terrestre survenu à ce jour en Amérique du Nord – désormais emblématique de la gestion désinvolte encadrant le lobby des hydrocarbures. Cynthia Girard-Renard, pour sa part, présente une grande peinture scénique issue du projet Unicorns and Dictators (2014) présenté à la Fondation Esker, Calgary. Y pose frontalement un personnage hybride rappelant la figure du trickster avec pour oreilles des usines en pleine action. Il est entouré de lapins déclamant leur inquiétude au sujet de l’avenir, et de nuages sur lesquels sont inscrits des mots comme : nature, profit capital…

Isabelle Hayeur Écume d'étang (série Underworld), 2015 Édition 5 127 x 91 cm (50

Isabelle Hayeur
Écume d’étang (série Underworld), 2015
Édition 5
127 x 91 cm (50″ x 36″)

Isabelle Hayeur nous transporte sous l’eau avec sa série de longue haleine Underworlds (2008-2015) qui révèle des paysages aquatiques dont les écosystèmes ont été complètement déréglés. Cet angle de vue inhabituel rend compte efficacement de la dégradation des plans d’eau attribuable à l’urbanisation et à l’industrialisation massives. Enfin, David Lafrance à travers sa sérieEarthships (2015) se penche sur les maisons autosuffisantes du même nom en juxtaposant de miniatures scènes bucoliques; et des interprétations schématiques ou abstraites des systèmes écoénergétiques de ces domiciles. Lafrance nous invite à réfléchir sur ce paradis vert, certes fantasmé, mais qui s’oppose diamétralement à notre hyperconsommation et à notre dépendance technologique.

David Lafrance Earthship 07, 2015 Huile sur panneau Oil on panel 15 x 20 cm (6

David Lafrance
Earthship 07, 2015
Huile sur panneau
Oil on panel
15 x 20 cm (6″ x 8″)

Le titre de cette exposition a été inspiré par l’article « La confortable inconscience » de Josée Blanchette paru au Devoir le 26 février dernier.

Cynthia Girard-Renard : La revanche des Sans-culottes

février 18th, 2016 § 0 comments § permalink

Cynthia Girard-Renard, La revanche des Sans-culottes, 2016, exposition _ exhibition, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal

Cynthia Girard-Renard, La revanche des Sans-culottes, 2016, exposition _ exhibition, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal

La revanche des Sans-culottes

Pour sa première exposition en solo à la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Cynthia Girard-Renard propose un corpus d’œuvres réalisé lors d’une résidence du CALQ à Paris en 2015 et présenté à l’automne dernier à Porto, Portugal, sous le titre Les Sans-culottes. Cette série est pour l’occasion augmentée par de nouvelles œuvres alors que ses marionnettes, bannières et peintures ont été reprises et complexifiées par Girard-Renard. Elle prend comme point de départ la Révolution française pour opérer un retour critique sur la pensée révolutionnaire dans un contexte néolibéral d’austérité.

Cynthia Girard-Renard Sous les pavés, la plage, 2015 Acrylique sur toile libre de coton Acrylic on unstretched cotton canvas 224 x 287 cm (88’’ 1/4 x 113’’)

Cynthia Girard-Renard
Sous les pavés, la plage, 2015
Acrylique sur toile libre de coton
Acrylic on unstretched cotton canvas
224 x 287 cm (88’’ 1/4 x 113’’)

La revanche des Sans-culottes emprunte ses ressorts irrévérencieux et comiques au genre caricatural de la satire sociale du 18e siècle en France qui a particulièrement influencé l’artiste dans le cadre de ce projet. Le titre de l’exposition fait référence au nom donné par mépris, lors de la Révolution française, au costume des manifestants populaires qui arborait le pantalon ou la jupe rayés plutôt que la « culotte », symbole vestimentaire de l’aristocratie d’Ancien Régime. Girard-Renard met véritablement en scène l’affrontement entre monarchie et peuple à travers un éventail d’œuvres qui rejouent l’excès et la décadence de la cour de Marie-Antoinette et de Louis XVI qu’elle met en parallèle avec l’insatiabilité des oligarques et millionnaires actuels. L’industrie du luxe, la mode, la finance entrent ainsi en collision avec la menace de la dette en Grèce et les mesures d’austérité servies comme un coup de bâton de guignol entre autres au Québec et à travers la zone euro.

Cynthia Girard-Renard Petit théâtre du grand capital, 2016 Techniques mixtes Mixed media 240 x 90 x 90 cm (94 1/2’’ x 35 1/2’’ x 35 1/2’’)

Cynthia Girard-Renard
Petit théâtre du grand capital, 2016
Techniques mixtes
Mixed media
240 x 90 x 90 cm (94 1/2’’ x 35 1/2’’ x 35 1/2’’)

Dans la Galerie, Le petit théâtre du grand capital (2016) illustre cet affrontement entre le 1 %, qui ne semble que changer de visage au fil du temps, et le 99 % restant. Marionnettes et accessoires en papier mâché y reprennent les codes burlesques et scabreux du Théâtre du Grand-Guignol, actif à Paris de 1896 à 1963. Le rideau scénique Sous les pavés, la plage (2015) renvoie pour sa part à un slogan de Mai 68 et laisse flotter ces quelques mots dans l’exposition comme un pont avec 1789, mais aussi comme une recherche de cette fougue révolutionnaire, de ce refus d’un règne de la médiocrité.

Cynthia Girard-Renard Les Sans-culottes, 2015 Papier, bois et corde Paper, wood and rope 167,5 x 90 x 244 cm (66’’ x 35 1/2’’ x 96’’)

Cynthia Girard-Renard
Les Sans-culottes, 2015
Papier, bois et corde
Paper, wood and rope
167,5 x 90 x 244 cm (66’’ x 35 1/2’’ x 96’’)

Cynthia Girard-Renard

Depuis plus de vingt ans, Cynthia Girard-Renard expose activement son travail au Canada et sur la scène internationale : Esker Fondation, Calgary (2014); Thousand Plateaus Art Space, Chengdu, Chine (2011); Dunlop Art Gallery, Régina (2010); Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec (2010); September Gallery, Berlin (2009); Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2009); SPACE, Londres (2006); etc. Mentionnons aussi son exposition Fictions sylvestres en solo au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal en 2005 et sa participation à la Triennale québécoise de 2008. Son travail est entre autres présent dans les collections du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, de la Carleton University Art Gallery, de la Galerie de l’UQAM ainsi que dans de maintes collections privées. Elle vit et travaille à Montréal.

Cynthia Girard-Renard, La revanche des Sans-culottes, 2016, exposition _ exhibition, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal

Cynthia Girard-Renard, La revanche des Sans-culottes, 2016, exposition _ exhibition, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal

Where Am I?

You are currently browsing entries tagged with Cynthia Girard-Renard at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.