Facebook
Instagram

Situation #6: Matthew Biederman: A Generative Adversarial Network

August 9th, 2017 § 0 comments § permalink

Opening reception on August 16th from 5pm to 7pm with the artist in attendance
At Galerie Hugues Charbonneau
With the kind collaboration Art45 gallery

By modifying algorithms and training scenarios, what will the network synthesize?    


Using a state-of-the-art technique – a generative adversarial network (itself an interesting turn of phrase), a neural network has been trained to generate full body portraits that are learned from TSA three dimensional scans. The mongrel images created are not of specific persons but are ‘hallucinated’ by the network, through which the ‘learning’ process is revealed. The training dataset is from the very same scans made every time a person enters an airport terminal in the United States and several other countries. These images were released by the TSA to the public in the hope that they can develop an algorithm to automatically detect ‘threats’.  On display here is the system as it learns to create images in an awkward loop of a machine being taught to imitate the images that are gathered from the biometric data.

Matthew Biederman

About Matthew Biederman

Matthew Biederman (b. 1972, Chicago Heights, IL, USA) lives and works in Montreal. He was the recipient of the Bay Area Artist Award in Video by New Langton Arts in 1999, First Place in the Visual Arts category of Slovenia’s Break21 festival. He has since co-founded the Arctic Perspective Initiative, with Marko Peljhan, in 2007, a non-profit, international group of individuals and organizations, whose goal is to promote the creation of open authoring, communications and dissemination infrastructures for the circumpolar region.

Biederman works have been exhibited in the US, South America, Europe and Japan, in a variety of festivals and venues such as 7 ATA Festival Internacional (Lima), the 11th Lyon Bienniale, the 2011 Quebec Trienniale, 2014 Montreal Bienniale (Musee des Arts Contemporain), Bienniale of Digital Art (BIAN, Montreal), Artissima (Turin, IT) and Moscow Biennale, among others. As a film and video maker, his works have been included in the FILE festival (Sao Paulo), New Forms Festival (Vancouver), the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, Paris/Berlin International Meetings, and the Chicago Underground Film Festival. His public works have been shown at the ZeroOne2006 Festival (San Jose US), the SCAPE Biennial (New Zealand), notably.

Biederman is currently represented by Art45.

Isabelle Hayeur: Desert Shores (Lost America)

July 30th, 2016 § 0 comments § permalink

Isabelle Hayeur Looking-back (série Desert Shores), 2015 Jet d’encre sur papier polyester, monté sur Dibond Inkjet print on polyester mounted on Dibond Edition 3 Image : 61 x 91 cm (24” x 36”) Papier_Paper : 76 x 106,5 cm (30” x 42”)

Isabelle Hayeur
Looking-back (série Desert Shores), 2015
Jet d’encre sur papier polyester, monté sur Dibond
Inkjet print on polyester mounted on Dibond
Edition 3
Image : 61 x 91 cm (24” x 36”)
Papier_Paper : 76 x 106,5 cm (30” x 42”)

To launch the 2016-2017 season, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau is pleased to present its first solo exhibition by Isabelle Hayeur. She will be presenting Desert Shores (Lost America) (2015-2016), a new series documenting the polluted and deserted region of Salton Sea, in the United States. Hayeur has selected five photographs from this vast body of work, as well as a 35-minute video and an album of 60 other photos from the series for on-site consultation.

Salton Sea is a large salt lake located on the San Andreas Fault, in an arid depression in South-western California, 227 feet below sea level. It was accidentally created at the beginning of the last century when the Colorado River overflowed its banks and was contained. In the 1950s and 1960s, it became a very popular attraction, and a paradise for fishing aficionados. Its shores were dotted with numerous hotels, marinas, and yacht clubs. Named Desert Shores, the area underwent significant economic and population growth at this time.

Isabelle Hayeur Marea Roja (série Desert Shores), 2015-2016 Jet d’encre sur papier polyester, monté sur Dibond Inkjet print on polyester mounted on Dibond Edition 3 Image : 61 x 91 cm (24” x 36”) Papier_Paper : 76 x 106,5 cm (30” x 42”)

Isabelle Hayeur
Marea Roja (série Desert Shores), 2015-2016
Jet d’encre sur papier polyester, monté sur Dibond
Inkjet print on polyester mounted on Dibond
Edition 3
Image : 61 x 91 cm (24” x 36”)
Papier_Paper : 76 x 106,5 cm (30” x 42”)

Towards the 1970s, it was observed that the lake’s water level was dropping and its salinity rising, in direct relationship with the augmentation of agricultural activity in the surrounding area. Today, this area is deserted and desolate, alluvial deposits saturated with fertilizers and pesticides pollute the water, and algae blooms are decimating fish stocks. Beachside resorts have given way to trailer parks, homes for the poor, the marginalized and Mexican immigrants – a different and less than shining portrait of the United States. For Hayeur, this disenchanted landscape is a mirror image of a lost America, from an era in which everything seemed possible and accessible for all citizens. This area of dire poverty is not unlike others, found all across the United States, a Third World of their own where the most destitute remain, for lack of a better alternative. The works in Desert Shores (Lost America) are fragments of dystopian landscape, modern ruins, dilapidated and graffiti-covered domestic spaces, dried-up fish carcasses and disturbingly coloured bodies of water, summing up a wasteland of human failure at nature’s expense.

Isabelle Hayeur Exposure (série Desert Shores), 2015-2016 Jet d’encre sur papier polyester, monté sur Dibond Inkjet print on polyester mounted on Dibond Edition 3 Image : 61 x 91 cm (24” x 36”) Papier_Paper : 76 x 106,5 cm (30” x 42”)

Isabelle Hayeur
Exposure (série Desert Shores), 2015-2016
Jet d’encre sur papier polyester, monté sur Dibond
Inkjet print on polyester mounted on Dibond
Edition 3
Image : 61 x 91 cm (24” x 36”)
Papier_Paper : 76 x 106,5 cm (30” x 42”)

Isabelle Hayeur   

Isabelle Hayeur’s work has been widely shown in many major shows, such as at the Ryerson Image Centre (Toronto) (2016);theMuseo Cultural (Santa Fe) (2016);theToday Art Museum (Beijing) (2015); the New Orleans Museum of Art(2015); the Centre culturel canadien (Paris) (2012); the Akbank Sanat (Istanbul) (2008); the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (2007); the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2006); the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (Berlin) (2005); the Casino Luxembourg Forum d’art contemporain (2005); and the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Arts (2004). Her works are to be found in over twenty collections, including those of the National Gallery of Canada, the Fonds national d’art contemporain in Paris, the Art Gallery of Ontario, the Vancouver Art Gallery, theCanadian Museum of Contemporary Photography, the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the New Orleans Museum of Art and the Museum of Contemporary Photography in Chicago.

Isabelle Hayeur Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016 Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur
Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016 Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur
Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016 Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur
Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016 Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur
Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Maria Hupfield: Stay Golden

October 6th, 2015 § 0 comments § permalink

Vernissage: October 10 from 3 to 5pm. The artist will be present.

Stay Golden

Galerie Hugues Charbonneau is pleased to welcome Maria Hupfield for her second solo exhibition at the gallery. Based on her performance titled Jiimaan, which took place in Venice in May 2015, Stay Golden presents a new collection of gold sculptures, a life-size grey felt canoe, and a two-channel video.

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015 Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.  Felt canoe,  ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap.

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015
Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.
Felt canoe, ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap.

Maria Hupfield’s installations, much like her performances, employ various strategies for occupying space. The artist is interested in how the charged identity of sites can impact our behaviour, but also how they can define our identity or change our perception of things. How do we appropriate a new place for ourselves? How do we activate the places that surround us? Can these be a source of empowerment or of communion with the past?

Maria Hupfield Victory in Defeat (working title), 2015 Grelots en étain avec fini doré  et élasthanne doré avec polyfil   Spandex fabric, tin jingles with gold color finish and polyfil 43 x 30,5 x 43 cm (17’’ x 12 ‘’ x 17”)

Maria Hupfield
Victory in Defeat (working title), 2015
Grelots en étain avec fini doré et élasthanne doré avec polyfil
Spandex fabric, tin jingles with gold color finish and polyfil
43 x 30,5 x 43 cm (17’’ x 12 ‘’ x 17”)

Similarly, material culture and the symbolic or emotional value we imbue certain objects with, is at the core of her research. In the gallery, public memory is superimposed on the artist’s own, through objects in her Trophy Wall, an assemblage of grey felt or gold fabric sculptures; relics and artefacts of one or many previous performances. This commemorative wall suggests both a celebration and a laying to rest of these now “museum-ified” objects.

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe, Video), 2015 Installation video à deux canaux Two channel video installation  Édition : 3 1:15:00 boucle _ loop Camera Dylan McLaughlin Montage_Editing Dylan McLaughlin

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe, Video), 2015
Installation video à deux canaux
Two channel video installation
Édition : 3
1:15:00 boucle _ loop
Camera Dylan McLaughlin
Montage_Editing Dylan McLaughlin

Hupfield’s hand-made nine-foot canoe is the central element of the Jiimaan performance, which the artist enacted as part of the Ga ni tha exhibition in the Campo dei Gesuiti in Venice. An eponymous two-channel video retraces the different stages of this intervention: over three consecutive days, Hupfield performed before the public each evening, then recreated the previous night’s performance the following morning, alone and from memory.

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015 Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.  Felt canoe,  ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap. 274 cm long (9’ long)

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015
Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.
Felt canoe, ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap.
274 cm long (9’ long)

This piece reveals key concepts in the artist’s work, namely proficiency, cultural memory, and the body’s presence. She proposes a meeting between nations and their history through the Canadian and Anishinaabe traditions of birch bark canoe building, paralleling this with the fabrication of gondolas by Venetian artisans. Moreover, the participatory nature of Jiimaan’s public performances makes direct reference to Anishinaabe oral traditions and Hupfield’s desire to create memories through shared human experience.

Maria Hupfield Venice Fringe Gloves, 2015 Gants de soirée en soie blanche et dorée avec frange de 2 pieds et frange vénitienne dorée de 4 pieds White satin and gold colored evening gloves with 2’ fringe and 4’ venetian gold colored fringe. 30,5 x 13 x 2,5 cm (12’’ x 4’’ x 1’’)

Maria Hupfield
Venice Fringe Gloves, 2015
Gants de soirée en soie blanche et dorée avec frange de 2 pieds et frange vénitienne dorée de 4 pieds
White satin and gold colored evening gloves with 2’ fringe and 4’ venetian gold colored fringe.
30,5 x 13 x 2,5 cm (12’’ x 4’’ x 1’’)

Maria Hupfield

Maria Hupfield’s work extends through performance, installation, sculpture, video, photography, and collage. Over the past ten years, numerous institutions throughout Canada, the US, and Europe have presented her work and performances in solo and group exhibitions, namely the North American Native Museum, Zurich (2014), the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2014), the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian, Washington D.C. (2013), the National Gallery of Canada (2013), the Museum of Art and Design, New York (2012), the Museum of Contemporary Native Arts, Santa Fe (2011), and the McCord Museum, Montréal (2011). Maria Hupfield is a Canadian artist of Anishinaabe (Ojibway) heritage, and a member of the Wasauksing First Nation in Ontario. She lives and works in Brooklyn, New York.

Alain Paiement: Irreversibles

November 7th, 2014 § 0 comments § permalink

Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d'installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d’installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

For almost thirty years, Alain Paiement has been a key figure in contemporary Canadian photography. He researches the possibilities of how photography unfolds through time and space and translates this into images. Throughout his career, he has represented the movement of the world, at a micro level, mapping architectures with aerial views, and at a macro level, in representationsof solar and lunar cycles.

Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d'installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d’installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

He now turns his attention to the depths of the ocean to capture videos of the hypnotic ballet of the moon jellyfish, and pieces of ice adrift on the Saint-Lawrence River. Here, Alain Paiement reaffirms the rigorous processes that characterize his approach as he plays with the images’ construction and the viewer’s perception. He reanimates series of still photographs or multiple perspectives of the same subject, juxtaposing these representations, but also altering their symmetry, synchrony, movement, and symbolism.

The manipulated images emerge from black backgrounds. It is difficult to determine whether they are photographs or moving images. They are blurring our perception of time, which seems distended and unstructured.

This important solo exhibition by Alain Paiement will be presented in two parts. The second instalment will take place in 2015.

The artist would like to thank Guilhem Molinier and the Fond de recherche du Québec – Société et culture.

Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d'installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d’installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Alain Paiement’s work has been presented in numerous exhibitions since the 1980s throughout Canada and the United States, but also in Europe, Latin America, and Asia. He has received several prizes in contemporary photography, and has produced many public artworks in Québec, namely for the new CHUM in Montréal (2013). His work is included in major institutional and private collections in Canada, the US, Spain, and Belgium.

Alain Paiement Start, End, Here 2012 Épreuve numérique à pigments qualité archive Archival digital pigment print

Alain Paiement
Start, End, Here
2012
Épreuve numérique à pigments qualité archive
Archival digital pigment print

Where Am I?

You are currently browsing entries tagged with video at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

Facebook
Instagram

Situation #6 : Matthew Biederman : Le réseau antagoniste génératif

août 9th, 2017 § 0 comments § permalink

Vernissage le 16 août de 17h à 19h en présence de l’artiste
À la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau
Avec l’aimable collaboration de la Galerie Art45

Si l’on modifie les algorithmes et les scénarios d’entraînement, quelle sera alors la synthèse du réseau ?


J’ai entraîné un réseau neuronal à l’aide d’une technique de pointe — un réseau antagoniste génératif (la formulation est par ailleurs intéressante) — afin de générer des portraits en pied qu’il a appris à partir d’un ensemble de scans corporels effectués par la Transportation Security Administration (TSA). Les images déformées ainsi créées ne représentent pas des personnes en particulier, mais sont plutôt des « hallucinations » du réseau révélant le « processus d’apprentissage ». Le jeu de données d’entraînement provient des mêmes scans effectués chaque fois que quelqu’un entre dans un terminal d’aéroport aux États-Unis ou dans un autre pays. La TSA a mis ces images à la disposition de la population dans l’espoir que l’on puisse concevoir et développer un algorithme qui permettrait de détecter automatiquement les « menaces ». Voici exposé le système alors qu’il apprend à créer des images dans l’étrange boucle d’un système d’apprentissage automatique entraîné à imiter des images recueillies à partir de données biométriques.

Matthew Biederman

Au sujet de Matthew Biederman

Matthew Biederman (n. 1972, Chicago Heights, IL, USA) vit et travaille à Montréal. Il est le récipiendaire du prix Bay Area Artist Award in Video by New Langton Arts en 1999 et il remporte la première place dans la catégorie Arts Visuels au festival Break21 (Slovénie). Depuis, il a co-fondé avec Marko Peljhan le Arctic Perspective Initiative (API), en 2007. API est un groupe international sans but lucratif rassemblant des individus et organisations afin de promouvoir la création de plateformes d’édition, de communications et de diffusion pour les régions nordiques.

Le travail de Biederman a notamment été exposé aux États-Unis, en Amérique du Sud, en Europe et au Japon, ainsi que dans une variété (un bon nombre) de festivals et de lieux (venues) tels que 7 ATA Festival Internacional (Lima), la 11e Biennale de Lyon, la Triennale du Québec (2011), la Biennale de Montréal (2014) (Musée d’art contemporain), la Biennale de l’Art Digital (BIAN, Montréal), Artissima (Turin, IT) et la Biennale de Moscou. En tant que vidéaste, son travail a été présenté dans les festivals FILE (Sao Paulo), New Forms (Vancouver), Edinburgh FringeParis/Berlin International Meetings, au Chicago Underground Film Festival et présenté publiquement au festival ZeroOne2006(San Jose, États-Unis), ainsi qu’à la Biennale SCAPE (Nouvelle-Zélande), entre autres.

Biederman est représenté par la galerie Art45.

Save

Save

Isabelle Hayeur : Desert Shores (L’Amérique perdue)

juillet 30th, 2016 § 0 comments § permalink

Isabelle Hayeur Looking-back (série Desert Shores), 2015-2016 Jet d’encre sur papier polyester, monté sur Dibond Inkjet print on polyester mounted on Dibond Edition 3 Image : 61 x 91 cm (24” x 36”) Papier_Paper : 76 x 106,5 cm (30” x 42”)

Isabelle Hayeur
Looking-back (série Desert Shores), 2015-2016
Jet d’encre sur papier polyester, monté sur Dibond
Inkjet print on polyester mounted on Dibond
Edition 3
Image : 61 x 91 cm (24” x 36”)
Papier_Paper : 76 x 106,5 cm (30” x 42”)

Pour lancer sa programmation 2016-2017, la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau est heureuse d’offrir une première exposition individuelle d’Isabelle Hayeur en ses murs. L’artiste y présente sa nouvelle série Desert Shores (L’Amérique perdue) (2015-2016) qui documente la région polluée et désertée de Salton Sea aux États-Unis. De ce vaste corpus, Hayeur a retenu cinq œuvres qu’elle adjoint d’une vidéo, d’une durée de 35 minutes, ainsi que d’un coffret photographique offrant 60 clichés de la série pour consultation sur place.

Salton Sea est un vaste lac salé situé sur la faille de San Andreas, dans une dépression aride du sud-ouest de la Californie à 227 pieds sous le niveau de la mer. Il a été accidentellement créé lors d’un déversement de la rivière Colorado qui fut endigué au début du siècle dernier. Dans les années 1950 et 1960, le site devint une destination touristique très prisée et un paradis pour les amateurs de pêche : ses berges comptaient de nombreux hôtels, marinas et clubs nautiques. Baptisé Desert Shores, ce lieu de villégiature connaît alors une forte croissance économique et démographique.

Isabelle Hayeur Marea Roja (série Desert Shores), 2015-2016 Jet d’encre sur papier polyester, monté sur Dibond Inkjet print on polyester mounted on Dibond Edition 3 Image : 61 x 91 cm (24” x 36”) Papier_Paper : 76 x 106,5 cm (30” x 42”)

Isabelle Hayeur
Marea Roja (série Desert Shores), 2015-2016
Jet d’encre sur papier polyester, monté sur Dibond
Inkjet print on polyester mounted on Dibond
Edition 3
Image : 61 x 91 cm (24” x 36”)
Papier_Paper : 76 x 106,5 cm (30” x 42”)

Puis, au cours des années 1970, le niveau du lac s’abaisse et sa salinité augmente drastiquement en corrélation directe avec l’intensification de l’activité agricole industrielle. De nos jours, les alentours de Salton Sea sont désertés et désolés; des alluvions gorgées d’engrais et de pesticides polluent l’eau; des efflorescences algales déciment les poissons. Les stations balnéaires ont cédé la place aux parcs de maisons mobiles où pauvres, marginaux et immigrants mexicains logent. Cette région nous renvoie aujourd’hui une image bien différente et peu reluisante des Étas-Unis. Pour Hayeur, ces paysages désenchantés sont à l’image d’une Amérique perdue, d’une ère où tout semblait possible et accessible pour l’ensemble des citoyens. Ils sont semblables à ces autres zones de grande pauvreté que l’on retrouve à travers les États-Unis, une sorte de tiers monde de l’Amérique, où les plus démunis habitent, faute de mieux. Les œuvres de la série Desert Shores (L’Amérique perdue) sont autant de fragments d’un paysage dystopique où ruines modernes, intérieurs délabrés couverts de graffitis, poissons desséchés et plans d’eau aux teintes inquiétantes assemblent le désert d’un échec humain aux frais de la nature.

Isabelle Hayeur Exposure (série Desert Shores), 2015-2016 Jet d’encre sur papier polyester, monté sur Dibond Inkjet print on polyester mounted on Dibond Edition 3 Image : 61 x 91 cm (24” x 36”) Papier_Paper : 76 x 106,5 cm (30” x 42”)

Isabelle Hayeur
Exposure (série Desert Shores), 2015-2016
Jet d’encre sur papier polyester, monté sur Dibond
Inkjet print on polyester mounted on Dibond
Edition 3
Image : 61 x 91 cm (24” x 36”)
Papier_Paper : 76 x 106,5 cm (30” x 42”)

Isabelle Hayeur

Les œuvres d’Isabelle Hayeur ont été largement diffusées au sein d’importantes expositions, entre autres auMuseo Cultural (Santa Fe) (2016);auToday Art Museum (Beijing) (2015); au New Orleans Museum of Art(2015); au Centre culturel canadien (Paris) (2012); au Akbank Sanat (Istanbul) (2008); au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (2007); au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2006); au Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (Berlin) (2005); au Casino Luxembourg Forum d’art contemporain (2005); et au Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Arts (2004). Ses œuvres figurent dans plus d’une vingtaine de collections, dont celles du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, du Fonds national d’art contemporain à Paris, de l’Art Gallery of Ontario, de la Vancouver Art Gallery, duMusée de la photographie canadienne,du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, du New Orleans Museum of Art et du Museum of Contemporary Photography in Chicago.

Isabelle Hayeur Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016 Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur
Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016 Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur
Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016 Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur
Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016 Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Isabelle Hayeur
Desert Shores [exposition_exhibition], 2016
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Maria Hupfield : Stay Golden

octobre 6th, 2015 § 0 comments § permalink

Vernissage le 10 octobre de 15 h à 17 h en présence de l’artiste

Stay Golden

La Galerie Hugues Charbonneau est heureuse d’accueillir l’artiste Maria Hupfield pour une deuxième exposition individuelle. Articulée autour de sa performance Jiimaan ayant pris place à Venise en mai 2015, Stay Golden présente un nouvel ensemble de sculptures dorées, un canot grandeur nature en feutre gris ainsi qu’un diptyque vidéo.

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015 Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.  Felt canoe,  ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap.

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015
Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.
Felt canoe, ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap.

Les installations de Maria Hupfield, tout comme ses performances, activent diverses stratégies d’occupation de l’espace. L’artiste s’intéresse à la charge identitaire des lieux qui à la fois peuvent réguler nos comportements, mais aussi définir notre identité ou changer nos perceptions. Comment nous approprions-nous un nouveau lieu? Comment activons-nous les lieux qui nous entourent? Peuvent-ils être source d’empowerment ou encore de communion avec le passé?

Maria Hupfield Victory in Defeat (working title), 2015 Grelots en étain avec fini doré  et élasthanne doré avec polyfil   Spandex fabric, tin jingles with gold color finish and polyfil 43 x 30,5 x 43 cm (17’’ x 12 ‘’ x 17”)

Maria Hupfield
Victory in Defeat (working title), 2015
Grelots en étain avec fini doré et élasthanne doré avec polyfil
Spandex fabric, tin jingles with gold color finish and polyfil
43 x 30,5 x 43 cm (17’’ x 12 ‘’ x 17”)

De manière similaire, la culture matérielle ainsi que la valeur symbolique ou affective que nous accordons à certains objets se trouvent au cœur de ses préoccupations. Dans la galerie, la mémoire des publics se superpose à celle de l’artiste à travers les objets de son Trophy Wall qui rassemble un éventail de sculptures de feutre gris ou de tissu doré, reliques et artéfacts d’une, voire de plusieurs performances passées. L’effet que suggère ce mur commémoratif oscille entre célébration ou mise au repos de ces objets qui s’y voient muséifiés.

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe, Video), 2015 Installation video à deux canaux Two channel video installation  Édition : 3 1:15:00 boucle _ loop Camera Dylan McLaughlin Montage_Editing Dylan McLaughlin

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe, Video), 2015
Installation video à deux canaux
Two channel video installation
Édition : 3
1:15:00 boucle _ loop
Camera Dylan McLaughlin
Montage_Editing Dylan McLaughlin

Le canot de neuf pieds confectionné à la main par Hupfield constitue l’élément central de la performance Jiimaan que l’artiste a réalisée dans le cadre de l’exposition Ga ni tha au Campo dei Gesuiti à Venise. La vidéo éponyme à deux canaux retrace les différents temps de cette intervention : durant trois jours consécutifs, Hupfield a performé en soirée devant public puis, le lendemain matin, seule et de mémoire, elle reproduisait la performance de la veille. Cette œuvre révèle des concepts clés dans le travail de l’artiste, soit le savoir-faire, la mémoire culturelle et la présence du corps.

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015 Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.  Felt canoe,  ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap. 274 cm long (9’ long)

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015
Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et accrochage, avec motif d’eau sur bande orange et sur bâche bleu.
Felt canoe, ribbon, bag. hanging and water pattern in orange tape on blue trap.
274 cm long (9’ long)

Elle propose une rencontre entre des nations et leur histoire à travers la tradition canadienne et Anishinaabe de construction de canots d’écorce mise en parallèle avec la fabrication des gondoles par les artisans vénitiens. De plus, la dimension participative des représentations devant public de Jiimaan fait directement référence à la tradition orale Anishinaabe et à la volonté de Hupfield de construire des souvenirs en partageant des expériences humaines.

Maria Hupfield Venice Fringe Gloves, 2015 Gants de soirée en soie blanche et dorée avec frange de 2 pieds et frange vénitienne dorée de 4 pieds White satin and gold colored evening gloves with 2’ fringe and 4’ venetian gold colored fringe. 30,5 x 13 x 2,5 cm (12’’ x 4’’ x 1’’)

Maria Hupfield
Venice Fringe Gloves, 2015
Gants de soirée en soie blanche et dorée avec frange de 2 pieds et frange vénitienne dorée de 4 pieds
White satin and gold colored evening gloves with 2’ fringe and 4’ venetian gold colored fringe.
30,5 x 13 x 2,5 cm (12’’ x 4’’ x 1’’)

Maria Hupfield

Le travail de Maria Hupfield se déploie à travers la performance, l’installation, la sculpture, la vidéo, la photographie et le collage. Au cours des dix dernières années, de nombreuses institutions au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe ont présenté ses œuvres ou ses performances dans le cadre d’expositions individuelles ou collectives, nommons le North American Native Museum, Zurich (2014); le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2014); le Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian, Washington D.C. (2013); le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada (2013); le Museum of Art and Design, New York (2012); le Museum of Contemporary Native Arts, Santa Fe (2011); et le Musée McCord, Montréal (2011). Maria Hupfield est une artiste canadienne d’héritage Anishinaabe (Ojibwé) et membre de la Première Nation Wasauksing en Ontario. Elle vit et travaille à Brooklyn, New York.

Alain Paiement : Irréversibles

novembre 7th, 2014 § 0 comments § permalink

Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d'installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d’installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Figure phare de la photographie contemporaine au Canada, Alain Paiement traduit en images, depuis près de trente ans, ses recherches sur les possibilités de déploiement de ce médium à travers l’espace et le temps. Au fil de sa carrière, il s’est entre autres intéressé à la représentation du monde en mouvement à une échelle « micro », par l’entremise de vue aérienne (mappings) cartographiant des architectures, et à une échelle « macro » en représentant les révolutions des astres solaires et lunaires.

Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d'installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d’installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Son attention se tourne cette fois vers les profondeurs océaniques pour capter en vidéo l’hypnotique ballet des méduses lunes ou des morceaux de glace à la dérive sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Alain Paiement réitère ici les procédés rigoureux qui caractérisent sa démarche et joue avec la construction de l’image telle que perçue par le visiteur. Il réanime des plans fixes ou multiplie les points de vue sur un même sujet puis juxtapose ces représentations, mais en altère la symétrie, la synchronie, le mouvement et la symbolique.

Les images manipulées émergent ainsi sur fonds noirs, indiciblement entre photographies et images en mouvement, brouillant notre perception du temps qui semble ici distendu, déstructuré.

Cette importante exposition individuelle d’Alain Paiement se déploiera en deux volets, dont le second sera dévoilé en 2015.

L’artiste remercie Guilhem Molinier et le Fond de recherche du Québec – Société et culture.

Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d'installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d’installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

Le travail d’Alain Paiement a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions à travers le Canada et les États-Unis en plus d’être présenté en Europe, en Amérique latine et en Asie depuis les années 1980. Alain Paiement a reçu plusieurs prix en photo contemporaine et a réalisé de nombreuses œuvres d’art public au Québec, dont celle du nouveau CHUM à Montréal (2013). Il figure au sein de collections institutionnelles et privées majeures au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Espagne et en Belgique.

Alain Paiement Start, End, Here 2012 Épreuve numérique à pigments qualité archive Archival digital pigment print

Alain Paiement
Start, End, Here
2012
Épreuve numérique à pigments qualité archive
Archival digital pigment print

Where Am I?

You are currently browsing entries tagged with video at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.