Facebook
Instagram
Jean-Benoit Pouliot

Texts

ARTIST STATEMENT

The work of Jean-Benoit Pouliot centres on formal issues linked to composition and image reading in painting. His abstract works are seen as superimposed networks or plans that evoke complex and subtle push-pull effects. Thin, accumulated layers of paint suggest depth and generate immaterial spaces that seem to stretch beyond the physical limits of the frame. Each picture plane is divided according to different rhythms the artist punctuates by geometric and organic forms.

Pouliot avoids predefining his paintings through sketches or plans, favouring instead a progressive approach that allows time to step back between each intervention. During the same work period, he develops several paintings simultaneously, thereby establishing a dialogue between pieces that are barely begun and others that are near completion. In this way, the interruptions he provokes become determining compositional factors in the constructive process of the works. The artist suspends the paintings in a provisional state, opening their potential not only for action in the present time, but also for external pictorial influences. Ultimately, this approach tends to make the artist’s studio time visible on the surface of the canvas, and feeds the notion of flow that links each of his finished and in-progress paintings within a temporal continuum, allowing for potential positive influences.

These exploratory practices produce a certain eclecticism within Jean-Benoit Pouliot’s work. But this variety is based on an implacable logic that resists systems or working in series that would divide or contain his work within fixed periods. Rather, the artist invites the viewer to consider the uniqueness of each painting as the basis of a perceptual experience that unfolds separately from the idea of a finished body of work, set in time. The consistency in Pouliot’s work is not found through the serial development of a particular theme, but rather, in the broadest sense of the artist’s methodology, which over the past fifteen years has explored concepts of rhythm, transparency, superimposition, linear networks and accidents through painting, performance, printmaking or photography.

BIOGRAPHIE

Jean-Benoit Pouliot (b. 1975) is a self-taught artist who began his career in the early 2000s through the medium of printmaking. Between 2004 and 2008, he was part of the performance duo L’œil de verre which used light as a raw material in partnerships with different actors of the music scene. Painting gained a central place in his practice in 2008, and since then, Pouliot has participated in several solo and group exhibitions in Québec and in New York. His work has been the subject of solo exhibitions including Galerie Hugues Charbonneau (2014 and 2012), Galerie d’art d’Outremont (2011) and Cirque du Soleil head offices (2006). Pouliot has also participated in the public art happening Aires libres in Montréal (2014), the Extreme Painting event in Montréal (2013 and 2010), as well as the Multi Month 10 in Québec City (2009).

His works are in numerous private and institutional collections, such as the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Loto-Québec, National Bank, Bank of Montreal, TD Bank, Mouvement Desjardins, and the collection of the Cirque du Soleil, among others. Jean-Benoit Pouliot is represented by Galerie Hugues Charbonneau in Montréal. The artist lives and works in Montréal.

Facebook
Instagram
Jean-Benoît Pouliot

Textes

DÉMARCHE

Le travail de Jean-Benoit Pouliot s’articule autour d’enjeux formels liés à la composition et à la lecture de l’image en peinture. Ses œuvres abstraites se présentent comme des superpositions de plans et de réseaux qui provoquent des effets de push-and-pull complexes et subtils. Ces minces couches de matière additionnées suggèrent une profondeur et génèrent des espaces immatériels qui semblent s’étendre au-delà des limites physiques du tableau. La surface picturale est à chaque fois partagée suivant différents rythmes que l’artiste ponctue de formes organiques et géométriques.

Pouliot évite de prédéfinir ses toiles par des esquisses ou des plans et privilégie plutôt un travail progressif qui inclut un temps de recul entre chaque intervention. Durant une même séance de travail, il opère sur plusieurs tableaux simultanément de manière à établir un dialogue entre des œuvres à peine entamées et d’autres plus abouties. Ainsi, les interruptions qu’il provoque deviennent une composante déterminante dans le processus constructif de ses toiles. L’artiste vient suspendre ces dernières dans un état provisoire qui a pour effet d’ouvrir leur potentiel non seulement à l’action du temps présent, mais aussi à des influences picturales extérieures. Cette approche tend ultimement à rendre le temps de l’atelier visible à la surface du canevas et nourrit l’idée d’un flux qui lierait chacune de ses toiles achevées et à venir dans un continuum temporel recelant un potentiel de contamination positive.

Ces pratiques exploratoires produisent un certain éclectisme au sein de l’œuvre de Jean-Benoit Pouliot, mais cette variété affichée se fonde sur une implacable logique qui résiste au système ou à la série pour contenir et diviser son travail en périodes fixes. L’artiste invite plutôt le spectateur à considérer l’unicité de chaque tableau comme le siège d’une expérience perceptive se déployant indépendamment de l’idée d’un corpus d’œuvres fermé et arrêté dans le temps. La cohérence du travail de Pouliot se trouve non pas dans une thématique précise traitée de manière sérielle, mais bien au fondement même de la démarche plus vaste de l’artiste qui, depuis près d’une quinzaine d’années, explore les concepts de rythme, de transparence, de superposition, de réseau linéaire et d’accident à travers la peinture, la performance, la gravure ou la photographie.

BIOGRAPHIE

Autodidacte, Jean-Benoit Pouliot (n. 1975) amorce sa carrière artistique au début des années 2000 par l’entremise de la gravure. De 2004 à 2008, il œuvre au sein du duo de performance L’œil de verre qui utilise la lumière comme matière première et collabore avec divers acteurs de la scène musicale actuelle. La peinture acquiert une place centrale dans sa pratique à compter de 2008, et depuis, Pouliot a pris part à plusieurs expositions collectives au Québec et à New York. Son travail a fait l’objet d’expositions individuelles notamment à la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau (2014 et 2012), à la Galerie d’art d’Outremont (2011) et au siège social du Cirque du Soleil (2006). Pouliot a également participé à la manifestation d’art public Aires libres à Montréal (2014), à l’événement Peinture Extrême à Montréal (2013 et 2010) ainsi qu’au Mois Multi 10 : festival international d’arts multidisciplinaires et numériques à Québec (2009).

Ses œuvres sont présentes au sein de nombreuses collections privées et institutionnelles : Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Loto-Québec, Banque Nationale, Banque de Montréal, Banque TD, Mouvement Desjardins et Collection du Cirque du Soleil, entre autres. Jean-Benoit Pouliot est représenté par la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau à Montréal. L’artiste vit et travaille à Montréal.