fbpx

Manuel Mathieu

Artist statement

Born in Haiti, Manuel Mathieu is a multidisciplinary artist based in Montreal. He is best known for his vibrant, colourful paintings, which deftly merge abstraction and figuration. His paintings materialise the instability of forms, perpetual movement and a sense of pareidolia – our urge to see patterns where none exist.

Mathieu suggests that global dynamics can manifest in a single place, with Haiti as the site of his own inquiries.He highlights the shared links and struggles that unite us despite national borders. Where he approaches political themes, he does so from a personal perspective, through reflections on solitude, death, survival and desire.

His work explores our intertwined lives, in which the lines between past and present, personal and political, are often blurred. While he shares memories of his own life experiences, such as a convalescence following a serious accident, Mathieu also blends into his canvases a reckoning with the complex history of his homeland. He confronts questions that remain as urgent today as they have been throughout Haiti’s long history, unearthing the traumas of state violence. His work offers a space of reflection on Haiti’s history while inviting us to imagine its possible futures.

Mathieu’s concern for spatial organization, evident in his exhibitions at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and The Power Plant, has now become the work itself, allowing the artist to explore Haitian culture and the major themes of his artistic investigation in all their physicality.

 

Biography

A graduate of Goldsmith’s College (London), Manuel Mathieu has exhibited in Belgium, Canada, China, England, France, Martinique, Morocco, Spain and the United States. His work is in the collections of the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Musée d’Art contemporain de Montréal and the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. His recent works were included in The Other Side of Now at the Perez Art Museum in Miami. In 2020, Mathieu was the subject of solo exhibitions at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and The Power Plant (Toronto). He will also participate in forthcoming group exhibitions at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, the Phi Foundation (Montreal), the Song Museum (Beijing) and the Kunstmuseum (Stuttgart).

fbpx

Manuel Mathieu

Démarche artistique

Originaire d’Haïti, Manuel Mathieu est un artiste multidisciplinaire basé à Montréal. Il est connu pour ses peintures vibrantes et colorées qui marient parfaitement l’abstraction et la figuration. Sa peinture traduit une instabilité des formes, un mouvement incessant et un sentiment de paréidolie.

Mathieu suggère que la dynamique du monde puisse se manifester en un seul endroit, comme Haïti. Il souligne les liens communs et les luttes qui nous unissent malgré les frontières nationales. S’il aborde des thèmes politiques, c’est sous l’angles de réflexions plus personnelles, telles la solitude, la disparition, la survivance ou le désir.

Son travail se penche sur nos vies entrelacées, dans lesquelles les frontières entre le passé et le présent ou le personnel et le politique sont souvent floues. Partageant avec nous des souvenirs qui dépeignent des scènes du quotidien, comme par exemple sa convalescence suite à un accident sévère, Mathieu mêle également à ses toiles une interrogation sur l’histoire complexe de sa patrie familiale. Il aborde des questions qui demeurent aussi urgentes aujourd’hui qu’elles l’ont été tout au long de l’histoire haïtienne en déterrant les traumatismes de la violence étatique. Son œuvre offre un espace de réflexion sur l’histoire d’Haïti, tout en invitant également à en envisager les différents futurs possibles.

Le souci de mise en espace affirmé dans ses expositions au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et au Power Plant fait désormais œuvre en soit, permettant à l’artiste d’explorer la culture haïtienne et les grands thèmes de sa recherche artistique dans toute leur physicalité.

Biographie

Diplômé du Goldsmith’s College (Londres), il a exposé en Angleterre, en Belgique, au Canada, en Chine, aux États-Unis, en Espagne, en France, au Maroc et en Martinique. Son travail fait partie des collections du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada. Ses œuvres ont récemment été incluse dans The Other Side of Now au Perez Art Museum de Miami. En 2020, le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et le Power Plant (Toronto) lui ont consacré des expositions individuelles. Il a de plus participé à des expositions de groupe au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, à la Fondation Phi (Montréal), au Song Museum (Pékin) ainsi qu’au Kunstmuseum (Stuttgart).