fbpx

Karen Tam

ARTIST STATEMENT

Through her sculptures and installation work where she recreates spaces such as the Chinese restaurant, opium dens, Chinatown curio shops, early Chinese Canadian artist studios, and other sites of cultural encounters, she looks at how the corporeal experience of space allows one to understand its history and community. A deep engagement with archival and collections research has led her to question whose histories get to be collected and told, and to interrogate the narratives that have been constructed around the Chinese diaspora. She asks: “How do we remember, represent, support, and simultaneously deny the erasures of our stories, spaces, and community? If there are minimal traces of the existence of an individual or organization, what are ways that this life can be made visible again?” By actively bringing to light overlooked aspects of Chinese Canadian communities and culture through her artwork, herintent is to create counterpoints to accepted canons, official histories, public archives and collections.

 

BIOGRAPHY

Karen Tam is a Montreal-based artist whose research focuses on the constructions and imaginations of “ethnic” spaces through installations, sculptures, textiles, and drawing. Since 2000, she has exhibited her work and participated in residencies in North America, Europe, including Victoria and Alberta Museum (UK), He Xiangning Art Museum (China), Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Canada) and Deutsche Börse Residency at the Frankfurter Kunstverein (Germany). She has received grants and fellowships from the Canada Council for the Arts, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, and Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. She was a finalist for the Prix Louis-Comtois in 2017, a finalist for the Prix en art actuel from the Musée national des beaux-arts de Québec in 2016, and long-listed for the 2010 and 2016 Sobey Art Awards. Upcoming activities include a public art project, solo and group exhibitions in Montreal, Toronto, Campbell River and Longueuil.

Karen Tam holds an MFA in Sculpture from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and a PhD in Cultural Studies (Goldsmiths, University of London). Her work is exhibited in museums and corporate collections such as the Irish Museum of Modern Art, Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal Hydro-Québec Art Collection, Collection, Royal Bank of Canada, Microsoft Art Collection, and in private collections in Canada, the United States, and the United Kingdom. She is represented by Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

fbpx

Karen Tam

DÉMARCHE ARTISTIQUE

À travers ses sculptures et ses installations où elle recrée des espaces comme les restaurants chinois, les salons d’opium, les boutiques de curiosités du quartier chinois, les ateliers des premiers artistes canadiens d’origine chinoise ainsi que d’autres sites de rencontres culturelles, elle regarde comment l’expérience du corps dans l’espace permet de comprendre leur histoire et leur communauté. Un engagement profond dans la recherche d’archives et de collections l’a amenée à s’interroger sur les histoires qui sont collectées et racontées ainsi qu’à interroger les récits qui ont été construits autour de la diaspora chinoise. Elle soulève les questions suivantes : « Comment pouvons-nous nous souvenir, représenter, soutenir et, simultanément, nier l’effacement de nos histoires, de nos espaces et de notre communauté ? S’il existe des traces minimes de l’existence d’un individu ou d’une organisation, quels sont les moyens de les rendre à nouveau visibles ? » À travers ses œuvres, en mettant activement en lumière les aspects négligés de la culture et des communautés sino-canadiennes, son intention est de créer des contrepoids aux canons acceptés, aux histoires officielles, aux archives et aux collections publiques.

 

BIOGRAPHIE

Vivant et travaillant à Montréal, Karen Tam est une artiste dont les recherches portent sur différentes formes de construction et de représentation de l’identité culturelle à travers installations, sculptures, œuvres textiles et dessins. Depuis 2000, elle a exposé son travail et participé à des résidences artistiques en Amérique du Nord et en Europe, notamment au Victoria and Alberta Museum (Royaume-Uni), au He Xiangning Art Museum (Chine), au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (Canada), à la résidence Deutsche Börse Residency au Frankfurter Kunstverein (Allemagne). Elle a reçu des subventions et des bourses du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada. Elle a été finaliste du Prix Louis Comtois en 2017, finaliste du Prix en art actuel du Musée national des beaux-arts de Québec en 2016 et elle a été sélectionnée sur la liste longue du prestigieux Prix Sobey pour les arts en 2010 et en 2016. Ses projets à venir comprennent un projet d’art public et des expositions individuelles et de groupe à Montréal, à Toronto, à Campbell River et à Longueuil.

Karen Tam a obtenu un diplôme de maîtrise en sculpture à la School of the Art Institute of Chicago ainsi qu’un doctorat au Centre for Cultural Studies de la Goldsmiths, University of London. En plus de faire partie de collections privées au Canada, aux États-Unis et au Royaume-Uni,les œuvres de l’artiste sont présentes dans de nombreuses collections de musées et d’entreprises, telles que le Irish Museum of Modern Art, le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, la Collection Hydro-Québec, la Collection de la Banque Royale du Canada et la Microsoft Art Collection. Elle est représentée par la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau à Montréal.