Julie Trudel

Statement

At the heart of Julie Trudel’s pictorial practice is the following hypothesis: creating work within specific procedural constraints can potentially cause remarkable new visual effects. As an abstract painter, the artist engages with the properties of paint through simple work processes that take shape through the self-imposed limitations she establishes at the start of each new project. These vary from a restricted choice of palette, to a specific technique for applying paint, or a predetermined type of composition.

The titles of her series and individual works give clues to her experimentation process. Her series RGB (2009-2010), CMYK (2011-2012), Noir de fumée et blanc de titane (2013), Noir d’ivoire et blanc de titane (2014-2015) all make references to pigments or colour models examined by Trudel. As for the titles of her works, these generally reference the recipes used or the visual effects generated by each composition, for example: Empiètements T-T13F13 (2013), Chevauchements T123F123 (2013), Bifurcation NBN (2014), Polarités NNB (2014) or Transparence et distorsion NNBN (2015). However those protocols carry intricate contradictions, as very controlled dripping processes paradoxically calls for chance, through the use of liquid paint and repetition.

In this way, Julie Trudel situates herself within the realm of reflective and conceptual painting that focuses on the making of the painting and investigates painting per se. Her research goes beyond the question of painting as coloured matter; it extends to painting as a practice and a discipline. Her works give new currency to traditional issues of abstract painting through works that seek to renew the technical aspects of painting – as much through its medium and its support as its hanging.

Biography

Julie Trudel holds a BA, a BFA and an MFA from UQAM and has exhibited across Canada, Europe and the United States including recent solo exhibition at NARS Foundation, Brooklyn (2018), the group exhibition Entangled: Two Views on Contemporary Canadian Painting at the Vancouver Art Gallery (2017) and The Painting Project at Galerie de l’UQAM (2013). In addition to being awarded numerous research and creation grants as well as artist residencies across Canada and abroad, Trudel was a two-time finalist in the RBC Canadian Painting Competition (2011, 2012), and winner of the Joseph Plaskett Award in painting (2013). She is a Professor at UQAM in Montreal, where she lives and work.

fbpx

Julie Trudel

Démarche

Au cœur de la pratique picturale de Julie Trudel, une hypothèse : le travail au moyen de contraintes processuelles aurait le potentiel de faire émerger des effets visuels inédits. Ainsi, elle privilégie l’abstraction et s’attaque aux propriétés mêmes de la matière picturale par le truchement de protocoles de travail simples qui émergent des contraintes qu’elle s’impose à l’amorce de chaque nouveau projet. Ces dernières varient entre le choix d’une gamme de couleurs restreinte, d’un procédé d’application de la peinture précis ou d’un type de composition préétabli.

Les titres de ses séries et ceux de ses œuvres dévoilent d’ailleurs ces expérimentations. Les séries RGB (2009-2010), CMYK (2011-2012), Noir de fumée et blanc de titane (2013), Noir d’ivoire et blanc de titane (2014-2015) font toutes référence aux couleurs, pigments ou codes d’impression examinés par Trudel. Les titres de ses œuvres, quant à eux, renvoient généralement aux dosages exacts employés ou aux effets perceptuels générés par le principe de composition, par exemple : Empiètements T-T13F13 (2013), Chevauchements T123F123 (2013), Bifurcation NBN (2014), Polarités NNB (2014) ou Transparence et distorsion NNBN (2015). Malgré le contrôle que les protocoles employés peuvent conférer à l’artiste, la part de hasard implicite à la matière liquide et à la répétition demeure une dimension inaliénable de ses tableaux.

De cette manière, Julie Trudel se situe dans un courant de peinture réflexive et conceptuelle qui porte son attention sur le mode d’élaboration du tableau et interroge l’image de la peinture elle-même. Ses recherches dépassent donc un questionnement sur la peinture comme matière colorée et concernent tout autant la peinture comme pratique et comme discipline. Ses œuvres tendent à actualiser des problématiques picturales traditionnelles de la peinture abstraite dans des travaux qui cherchent à renouveler les moyens techniques de la peinture – autant du côté du médium, du support que de la mise en espace.

Biographie

Détentrice d’une maîtrise en arts visuels et médiatiques, Julie Trudel a exposé à travers le Canada, en Europe et aux États-Unis, notamment à NARS Foundation, Brooklyn (2018). Son travail et été inclus dans deux importants panoramas de la peinture actuelle : Entangled, two views on contemporary Canadian paintingà la Vancouver Art Gallery (2017) et Le projet peintureà la Galerie de l’UQAM (2013). En plus de cumuler de nombreuses bourses de recherche et plusieurs résidences canadiennes et internationales, Trudel a été finaliste du concours de peinture pancanadien RBC à deux reprises (2011, 2012) et lauréate du Prix Joseph Plaskett en peinture (2013). Elle est professeure de peinture à l’UQAM et vit et travaille à Montréal.