fbpx

David Lafrance

Now situated in Saint-Mathias-sur-Richelieu, David Lafrance’s studio expands beyond its walls: outside and in nature. This region, which once inspired painters such as Ozias Leduc and Paul-Émile Borduas, is now at the heart of Lafrance’s work, who observes it closely and in real-time. If the artist painted imaginary places in the past without anchoring his subject into reality, he now depicts spaces he explores on a sensorial level. In doing so, Lafrance’s new artworks bear witness to closely scrutinized nature as he keels down in the garden to contemplate its slow rhythm. Sitting on his stool, the artist discovers what is immediate to him and within reach, in pure reciprocity and symbiosis with his subject. Visual standpoints of the paintings are in a high-angle shot (looking down on its subject) or leveling with the represented specimens. Paint layers are stacked on each other, in infinite palimpsests, like a stubborn rewriting of the territory within the same visual plane. Furthermore, the three sculptures represent the garden bench on which the artist leans or kneels during his observation sessions. Between the admiration of nature and its hostility, Lafrance is interested in climate changes, but above all in the impact that a small, almost imperceptible change can have on its immediate environment. Therefore, his unique approach to landscape painting reveals any anomalies or incongruities as a continuous effort to grasp the slightest alteration and the repercussions which result from it.

Biography

David Lafrance (b. 1976) holds a Master of Fine Arts from Concordia University in Montreal (2021). His work has been presented in numerous exhibitions and biennales in Canada, the United-States, and in France. Among his recent solo exhibitions are Maison de la culture Marie-Uguay (2018); Galerie Hugues Charbonneau (2014, 1016 and 2018); Ceaac (2015), Strasbourg; L’Œil de Poisson (2014), Québec City; and the Musée régional de Rimouski (2012), which won the prize for “Best exhibition outside of Montréal” at the AGAC’s Gala des arts visuels. He recently participated in various group exhibitions, namely at the Musée d’art contemporain des Laurentides (2018), Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (2015), l’Œil de Poisson (2015), Art Action Actuel, in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (2013), and at the Centre d’art l’Écart, in Rouyn-Noranda (2013).

His works are present in several collections, including the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, Hydro-Québec and the Mouvement Desjardins. David Lafrance lives in Montreal and works in Saint-Mathias-sur-Richelieu.

fbpx

David Lafrance

Désormais installé à Saint-Mathias-sur-Richelieu, l’atelier de David Lafrance s’étale au-delà des murs, à l’extérieur donc, et en pleine nature. Cette région, ayant jadis inspirée Ozias Leduc et Paul-Émile Borduas, est aujourd’hui le terreau fertile de Lafrance, qui l’observe à proximité et en temps réel. Si par le passé l’artiste peignait des lieux imaginaires, sans point d’ancrage dans le réel, il illustre aujourd’hui dans ses toiles des espaces dont il fait l’expérience sensorielle – tant au niveau visuel, qu’au plan sonore, tactile et olfactif. Ce faisant, les nouvelles œuvres de Lafrance témoignent d’une nature qu’on scrute de près, accroupi dans le jardin pour en contempler le rythme lent. Assis sur son tabouret, l’artiste découvre ce qui lui est immédiat et à portée de main dans un rapport de réciprocité, voir même de symbiose. Il en résulte des vues en plongée ou à hauteur même des spécimens qu’il peint, où les couches picturales se déposent les unes sur les autres, en infinies palimpsestes, dans une réécriture entêtée du territoire au sein d’un même plan. Les trois sculptures, quant à elles, représentent le banc de jardin sur lequel l’artiste s’appuie ou s’agenouille lors de ses séances d’observation. Entre l’admiration du sujet choisi et l’hostilité d’un espace proposé, Lafrance s’intéresse aux bouleversements climatiques, mais surtout à l’impact qu’un petit changement, presqu’imperceptible, peut avoir sur son environnement immédiat. Son approche unique du paysage relève ainsi toute anomalie ou incongruité, dans un effort continu de saisir la moindre altération et les répercussions qui en découlent.

Biographie

David Lafrance (n. 1976) est nouvellement diplômé à la maîtrise en arts visuels à l’Université Concordia à Montréal (2021). Son travail a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions et biennales au Canada, aux États-Unis et en France. Parmi ses expositions individuelles récentes, soulignons celles à la Maison de la culture Marie-Uguay (2018); à la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau (2014, 2016 et 2018); au Ceaac (2015), Strasbourg; à l’Œil de Poisson (2014), Québec; et au Musée régional de Rimouski (2012), qui lui a valu le prix de la « meilleure exposition hors Montréal » au Gala des arts visuels de l’AGAC. Il a participé à différentes expositions collectives, notamment au Musée d’art contemporain des Laurentides, au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (2015); à l’Œil de Poisson (2015); à Art action Actuel, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (2013); et au Centre d’art L’écart, Rouyn-Noranda (2013).

Ses œuvres sont présentes dans plusieurs collections, dont celles du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, d’Hydro-Québec et du Mouvement Desjardins. David Lafrance vit à Montréal et travaille à Saint-Mathias-sur-Richelieu.