Alain Paiement

Artist statement

For almost thirty years, Alain Paiement has been a key figure in contemporary Canadian photography. He researches the possibilities of how photography unfolds through time and space and translates this into images. Through installation, photo series, and video, Paiement experiments with perspective, telescopic views and lenses, as well as scanning, to explore the constantly changing relationship between the subject, its gaze and its environment.

Throughout his career, Paiement has shown interest in the representation of the world in motion at a micro level, by mapping architectures with aerial views, and at a macro level, by sampling representations of solar and lunar cycles. Recently he has created digital installations based on medical and scientific imagery pulled from NASA’s open source databases on the Web. He has also turned his attention to the depths of the ocean to capture videos of the hypnotic ballet of the moon jellyfish, and pieces of ice adrift on the Saint-Lawrence River. In parallel to the reanimation of still images, the effects of false stereoscopic photographs, and infinite loops, in this body of work there underlies an ecological commentary on the growing latent threat of global warming.

Paiement’s current research is motivated by the idea of temporality and the question of how we exist in time. His latest series to come out of this exploration manifests itself by means of overlapping different moments within the creative process itself (recent manipulations of old photographs, for example). These works reflect on the instantaneous nature of contemporary culture and the importance of the present in linking society to its past and to its immanent future.

Biography

Alain Paiement lives in Montréal. He is an artist and professor at Université du Québec à Montréal. His research has led him to work in several visual art forms, between painting, photography, sculpture and architectural installation, with methods inspired by the geographical sciences. His works have been regularly shown in several countries since the early 1980s. Among which, the exhibitions Amphithéâtres, at the Power Plant in Toronto in 1989, The Power of the City / the City of Power,  at the Whitney Museum Downtown, New-York in 1992,  Mappemondes, at the Musée d’art Moderne de Liège in 1999 and Surfacing, at Tinglado 2, Tarragona (Spain) in 2004. More recently, the exhibitions Alice in Wonderland at Turku in Finland and at Cadiz in Spain in 2011 and in2012, Lost in landscape at Musée d’art moderne et contemporain de Trento (Italy) in 2015 and There all is order and beauty at Argos,Centre for art and media, in Brussels, in 2019.  He received the prix Louis-Comtois in 2002 and was a Scotia Bank Photography Award finalist in 2012. He has created several works in public buildings and spaces in Montréal, such as Tessellations sans fin at Centre de recherche du CHUM in 2013 and Bleu de bleu, an installation on highway 20 in 2017.

Alain Paiement, Masses / particules, 2019, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada
Alain Paiement, Masses / Particules, 2019
Impression directe sur panneau Dibond; chassis en aluminium.
Direct print on Dibond panel, aluminium frame
244 x 351 cm (96” x 138”)
Alain Paiement, Masses / Particules, 2019
(détail / detail)
Alain Paiement, Grand Rassemblement (Vive la Sociale), 2019
Impression directe sur panneau Dibond, chassis en aluminium
Direct print on Dibond panel, aluminium frame
244 x 383 cm (96” x 151”)
Alain Paiement
YULFLY, 2016
Impression numérique sur papier coton archive
Digital print on archival cotton rag paper
Éd. 5
Image : 142 x 182cm (56” x 71 3/4”)
Papier_Paper : 152,5 x 190,5 cm (60” x 75”)
Alain Paiement
Voisinage contextuel, 2016
Impression numérique sur papier coton archive
Digital print on archival cotton paper
Image : 142 x 213 cm (55,9” x 83,9”)
Papier_paper : 152 x 223 cm (60” x 88”)
Alain Paiement
Images en limbes, 2015
Impression numérique sur papier archive
Digital print on archival paper
Éd. 5
111 x 179 cm (43 3/4” x 70 1/2”)
Alain Paiement
Fatras, 2015
Transfert sur aluminium
Transfer on aluminium
Éd. 2
296 x 383 cm (116 1/2” x 150 3/4”)
Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d’installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada
Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d’installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada
Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d’installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada
Alain Paiement
Croissants-décroissants de lunes, 2012
Épreuve numérique aux pigments montée sur alupanel (ENCADRÉE)
Digital pigment print mounted on alupanel (FRAMED)
Éd. 5
46 x 46 cm (18” x 18”)
Alain Paiement
Arrangement According to Nature (Monsieur), 2010
Impression digitale
Digital print
Édition 5
122 x 165 cm (48” x 65”)
Alain Paiement
Arrangement According to Nature (Madame), 2010
Impression digitale
Digital print
Édition 5
122 x 165 cm (48” x 65”)
Alain Paiement
Fractal Palace, 2001
Impression archive au jet d’encre
Archival inkjet print
Édition 3
122 x 137 cm (48” x 54”)
Alain Paiement
Diamant (version plane), 1999
Jet d’encre, papier semimat, montage carton et plexi
Ink jet print, semi-matt paper, mounted on board and plexi
Édition 3
165 x 110 cm (65 x 43 1/4”)
Alain Paiement
Grand Amphithéâtre – According to Horizon, 1989
Épreuve gélatino-argentique
Gelatin silver photograph
30” x 50” x 4”

Alain Paiement

Démarche

Figure phare de la photographie contemporaine au Canada, Alain Paiement traduit en images, depuis près de trente-cinq ans, ses recherches sur les possibilités de déploiement de ce médium à travers l’espace et le temps. Ses installations et séries photographiques ainsi que son travail vidéo explorent le potentiel que recèlent des jeux de perspectives, de télescopage et de balayage pour sonder la relation entre le sujet percevant et son environnement en constante redéfinition.

Au fil de sa carrière, Alain Paiement s’est entre autres intéressé à la représentation du monde en mouvement à une échelle « micro », par l’entremise de vue aérienne (mappings) cartographiant des architectures, et à une échelle « macro » en représentant les révolutions des astres solaires et lunaires au moyen de procédés d’échantillonnage. Récemment, il a créé des assemblages numériques à partir d’imagerie médicale ou scientifique puisée notamment dans les bases de données en libre accès sur Internet de la NASA. Son attention s’est aussi tournée vers les profondeurs océaniques pour capter en vidéo l’hypnotique ballet des méduses lunes ou la dérive des morceaux de glace sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Parallèlement aux réanimations de plans fixes ou aux effets de fausses stéréoscopies et de boucles infinies, ce dernier corpus sous-tend un commentaire écologique sur la menace grandissante du réchauffement climatique.

Les recherches actuelles d’Alain Paiement sont motivées par des questions de temporalités, par des problématiques d’être au temps. Le travail photographique qui en résulte, montré dans l’exposition Instantanés, peut-être (2015) à la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau,fait se croiser différentes temporalités à même le processus de création (photographies anciennes vs manipulations récentes, par exemple). Ces œuvres ouvrent un riche espace de réflexion sur l’instantanéité qui caractérise le régime culturel actuel ou encore sur le présentisme qui marque peut-être la relation au passé et au futur de la société contemporaine.

Biographie

Alain Paiement vit à Montréal. Il est artiste et professeur à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Ses recherches l’ont amené àtravailler plusieurs formes d’arts visuels, entre peinture, photographie, sculpture et installation architecturale, avec des méthodes influencées par les sciences géographiques. Ses œuvres ont été présentées régulièrement dans plusieurs pays depuis le début des années 80.  Retenons ici les expositions Amphithéâtres, au Power Plant à Toronto en 1989, The Power of the City / the City of Power,  au Whitney Museum Downtown, New-York en 1992,  Mappemondes, au Musée d’art Moderne de Liège en 1999 et Surfacing, au Tinglado 2, Tarragone (Espagne) en 2004. Plus récemment, dans les expositions Alice in Wonderland à Turku en Finlande et à Cadiz enEspagne en 2011 et en 2012, Lost in landscape au Musée d’art moderne et contemporain de Trento (Italie) en 2015 et There all is orderand beauty à Argos, Centre for art and media, à Bruxelles, en 2019.  Il a reçu le prix Louis-Comtois en 2002 et a été finaliste pour le prixScotia en photographie en 2012. Il a réalisé plusieurs œuvres dans des édifices et espaces publiques à Montréal, dont Tessellations sans fin au Centre de recherche du CHUM en 2013 et Bleu de bleu, installation sur l’autoroute 20 en 2017.

Alain Paiement, Masses / particules, 2019, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada
Alain Paiement, Masses / Particules, 2019
Impression directe sur panneau Dibond; chassis en aluminium.
Direct print on Dibond panel, aluminium frame
244 x 351 cm (96” x 138”)
Alain Paiement, Masses / Particules, 2019
(détail / detail)
Alain Paiement, Grand Rassemblement (Vive la Sociale), 2019
Impression directe sur panneau Dibond, chassis en aluminium
Direct print on Dibond panel, aluminium frame
244 x 383 cm (96” x 151”)
Alain Paiement
YULFLY, 2016
Impression numérique sur papier coton archive
Digital print on archival cotton rag paper
Éd. 5
Image : 142 x 182cm (56” x 71 3/4”)
Papier_Paper : 152,5 x 190,5 cm (60” x 75”)
Alain Paiement
Voisinage contextuel, 2016
Impression numérique sur papier coton archive
Digital print on archival cotton paper
Image : 142 x 213 cm (55,9” x 83,9”)
Papier_paper : 152 x 223 cm (60” x 88”)
Alain Paiement
Images en limbes, 2015
Impression numérique sur papier archive
Digital print on archival paper
Éd. 5
111 x 179 cm (43 3/4” x 70 1/2”)
Alain Paiement
Fatras, 2015
Transfert sur aluminium
Transfer on aluminium
Éd. 2
296 x 383 cm (116 1/2” x 150 3/4”)
Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d’installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada
Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d’installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada
Alain Paiement, Irréversibles (vue d’installation _ installation view), 2014, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada
Alain Paiement
Croissants-décroissants de lunes, 2012
Épreuve numérique aux pigments montée sur alupanel (ENCADRÉE)
Digital pigment print mounted on alupanel (FRAMED)
Éd. 5
46 x 46 cm (18” x 18”)
Alain Paiement
Arrangement According to Nature (Monsieur), 2010
Impression digitale
Digital print
Édition 5
122 x 165 cm (48” x 65”)
Alain Paiement
Arrangement According to Nature (Madame), 2010
Impression digitale
Digital print
Édition 5
122 x 165 cm (48” x 65”)
Alain Paiement
Fractal Palace, 2001
Impression archive au jet d’encre
Archival inkjet print
Édition 3
122 x 137 cm (48” x 54”)
Alain Paiement
Diamant (version plane), 1999
Jet d’encre, papier semimat, montage carton et plexi
Ink jet print, semi-matt paper, mounted on board and plexi
Édition 3
165 x 110 cm (65 x 43 1/4”)
Alain Paiement
Grand Amphithéâtre – According to Horizon, 1989
Épreuve gélatino-argentique
Gelatin silver photograph
30” x 50” x 4”