fbpx

Cindy Phenix

Artist Statement

Cindy Phenix’s work focuses on the relationship between the public and private spheres. She explores the various norms that govern them, the dynamic of their coexistence, the power relations they are the site of and the emotions they trigger. To this end, the artist creates complex scenes that convey powerful narrative and affective movements.

Phenix draws her inspiration from participation/discussion groups that she organizes and leads. Through collaborative projects and shared experiences, these groups aim to raise awareness of feminine experience. At first, the women are led to interact with artworks, to take part in games and to position their bodies in installations created by the artist. They are then invited to share anecdotes and reflections as part of the discussions that Phenix guides. The bodily performances and stories shared in the process serve as fertile analysis ground for the artist who reinterprets them in her compositions.

Cindy Phenix’s paintings generate a palpable formal tension. Some surfaces are made up of gestural and abstract impastos, while others—left untouched—reveal the raw potential of the canvass. Painted zones are juxtaposed with drawn lines and take us into paradoxical spaces. Many characters, depicted in transformed complexions and bodies, interact here. The ambitious and ambiguous displays and the broad spectrum of techniques that Phenix puts to the task give rise to a dazzling emotional charge.

 

Biography

Cindy Phenix (b. 1989 in Montreal, Canada; lives and works in Chicago, USA) completed her BFA at Concordia University in Montreal in 2016 and her MFA at Northwestern University in Evanston, IL in 2020. Her work will be exhibited in the forthcoming exhibition “While we’re at it” at 6018North in Chicago and has been included in solo exhibitions at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau in Montreal, Maison de la culture de Longueuil and Nino Mieir Gallery in Los Angeles. Phenix’s works are included in the collections of the Musée National des Beaux-Arts du Québec (CPOA), the Caisse de dépôt et de placement du Québec, Claridge and Hydro-Québec.

fbpx

Cindy Phenix

Démarche artistique

L’œuvre de Cindy Phenix aborde la relation entre les sphères publiques et privées. Elle explore les différentes normes qui les régissent, la dynamique de leur coexistence, les relations de pouvoir dont elles sont l’arène et les sentiments qui en dérivent. À cet effet, l’artiste crée des scènes complexes dont se dégagent de puissants mouvements narratifs et affectifs.

Phenix puise son inspiration de groupes de participation/discussion qu’elle organise et qu’elle dirige. Ceux-ci visent à une prise de conscience de l’expérience féminine par la réalisation de projets collaboratifs ainsi que la découverte d’expériences communes. Pour commencer, les femmes sont amenées à interagir avec des œuvres d’art, à prendre part à des jeux, à situer leurs corps à l’intérieur d’installations créées par l’artiste. Elles sont ensuite invitées à partager anecdotes et réflexions dans le cadre de discussions dirigées par Phenix. Les performances corporelles et les récits ainsi recueillis deviennent un lieu d’analyse fécond pour l’artiste qui les réinterprète au sein de ses compositions.

Il se dégage des toiles de Cindy Phenix une tension formelle palpable. Certaines surfaces sont le lieu d’empâtements gestuels et abstraits, tandis que d’autres, laissées intactes, révèlent le potentiel brut de la toile. Des aplats se juxtaposent aux lignes du dessin et nous entrainent dans des espaces paradoxaux. De nombreux personnages, aux teints et corps transformés, y interagissent. De ces mises en scène ambitieuses et ambigües, le large éventail de techniques que Phenix met en œuvre fait surgir une éclatante charge émotionnelle.

 

Biographie

Cindy Phenix (née en 1989 à Montréal, Canada; vit et travaille à Chicago, États-Unis) a obtenu son baccalauréat en beaux-arts à l’Université Concordia en 2016 et sa maîtrise en beaux-arts et théorie de l’art à la Northwestern University en 2020. Son travail sera exposé en 2021 dans «While we’re at it», au centre 6018|North (Chicago). L’artiste a exposé en solo à la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau (Montréal), à la Maison de la culture de Longueuil et à la Galerie Nino Mieir (Los Angeles). Son travail a également été présenté au Hyde Park Art Center (Chicago) ainsi qu’à la Contemporary Art Gallery (Vancouver). Les œuvres de Phenix font partie des collections du Musée national des Beaux-Arts du Québec (CPOA), de la Caisse de dépôt et de placement du Québec, Claridge et d’Hydro-Québec. L’artiste a été finaliste du Concours national de peinture RBC 2015.