fbpx

Moridja Kitenge Banza

Artist Statement

As a multidisciplinary artist, I express myself through painting, photography, video, drawing and installation.

My artistic approach is situated between reality and fiction, a means by which I question the history, memory and identity of the places where I live or the places that I have lived in, in connection with the place I occupy in these. Through my works, I intentionally confuse reality and fiction in order to disrupt hegemonic narratives and create spaces where marginal discourse can exist.

Drawing on current or ancient realities, I organize, assemble, trace figures, revisit parts of my history, by reappropriating the codes of religious, cultural, political, social and economic representations. I do this with the intention to highlight the contradictions that constructed my identities. Thus, I make my own tools to better invest in the territory of the other; in order to nurture all these areas of research that inspire my art practice.

 

Biography

Canadian Congolese aritst Moridja Kitenge Banza was born in Kinshasa in 1980 in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. He holds degrees from l’Académie des beaux-arts de Kinshasa, from l’École supérieure des beaux-arts de Nantes Métropole and from the Humanities and Social Sciences faculty of l’Université de La Rochelle.  In 2010, he was awarded the Léopold Senghor Grand Prize of the Biennale of Contemporary African Art, DAK’ART for his video Hymne à nous and his installation work De 1848 à nos jours. He received the 2020 Sobey Award alongside 25 other finalists in the context of the COVID pandemic. The Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) is currently presenting a solo exhibition by the artist entitled “Et la lumière fut (And there was light)”. His work was previously included in exhibitions at the Musée Dauphinois (Grenoble, France), at the Museum of Contemporary Art (Rosklide, Danemark), at the Arndt Gallery and Ngbk (Berlin, Allemagne), at the Biennale Internationale de Casablanca (Casablanca, Maroc), at the Fondation Attijariwafa bank (Casablanca, Maroc), at the Fondation Blachère (Apt, France), at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Montréal, Canada), at the Phi Foundation (Montréal, Canada), the Montreal Museum of Contemporary Art (Montréal, Canada) and the National Gallery of Canada (Ottawa, Canada). Art works by the artists were acquired by the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the Montreal Museum of Contemporary Art, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the National Gallery of Canada, the Art Gallery of Ontario and multiple corporative art collections including BMO, la Caisse de dépôt et de placement du Québec, RBC  and TD Bank Corporate Art Collection.

fbpx

Moridja Kitenge Banza

Démarche artistique

Artiste multidisciplinaire, je m’exprime à travers la peinture, la photographie, la vidéo, le dessin et l’installation.

Ma démarche artistique se situe entre la réalité et la fiction, moyen par lequel j’interroge l’histoire, la mémoire et l’identité des lieux où j’habite ou que j’ai habité en lien avec la place que j’occupe dans ceux-ci. À travers mes œuvres, je confonds intentionnellement réalité et fiction afin de perturber les récits hégémoniques et de créer des espaces où le discours marginal peut exister. 

En puisant dans les réalités actuelles ou anciennes, j’organise, assemble, trace des figures, revisite des parties de mon histoire, en me réappropriant les codes des représentations religieuses, culturelles, politiques, sociales et économiques dans le but de mettre en lumière les contradictions qui construisent mes identités. Ainsi, je fabrique mes propres outils pour mieux investir le territoire de l’autre dans le but de nourrir tous ces domaines de recherche qui inspirent ma pratique.

 

Biographie

Moridja Kitenge Banza est un artiste canadien d’origine congolaise, né à Kinshasa en 1980 en République démocratique du Congo. Il est diplômé de l’Académie des beaux-arts de Kinshasa, de l’École supérieure des beaux-arts de Nantes Métropole ainsi que de la faculté des Sciences humaines et sociales de l’Université de La Rochelle.  En 2010, il reçoit Grand Prix Léopold Senghor de La Biennale de l’Art africain contemporain, DAK’ART, pour la vidéo Hymne à nous et son installation De 1848 à nos jours. Il a reçu le Prix Sobey 2020 aux côtés de 25 autres finalistes dans le contexte de la pandémie du COVID. Le Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario (AGO) présente actuellement une exposition individuelle de l’artiste intitulée « Et la lumière fut ». Son travail a précédemment notamment été présenté au Musée Dauphinois (Grenoble, France), au Museum of Contemporary Art (Rosklide, Danemark), à la Arndt Gallery et la Ngbk (Berlin, Allemagne), à la Biennale Internationale de Casablanca (Casablanca, Maroc), à la Fondation Attijariwafa bank (Casablanca, Maroc), à la Fondation Blachère (Apt, France),  au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (Montréal, Canada), à la Fondation Phi (Montréal, Canada), au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (Montréal, Canada) et au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada (Ottawa, Canada). On compte des oeuvres de l’artistes dans les collections du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, du Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario (AGO) ainsi que dans de nombreuses collections corporatives telles BMO, la Caisse de dépôt et de placement du Québec, RBC et TD Bank Corporate Art Collection.