fbpx

Imaginaires souverains [Sovereign Imaginaries]

November 17, 2022 to January 15, 2023

Imaginaires souverains [Sovereign Imaginaries]

Artworks by Oski Awoyo, Esther Calixte-Bea, Marie-Hélène Cauvin, Natacha Clitandre, Clovis-Alexandre Desvarieux, Stanley Février, Laurena Finéus, Frantz Patrick Henry, Manuel Mathieu, Esery Mondesir, Nou (Stéphane Martelly), Michaëlle Sergile, Carl-Philippe Simonise, Pascal Smarth and Gelsy Verna.

Curator: Dominique Fontaine
In collaboration with Galerie Hugues Charbonneau

 

ARTWORKS EXHIBITED AT GALERIE HUGUES CHARBONNEAU:

Imaginaires souverains brings together the works of fifteen Quebec and Canadian artists of Haitian heritage. The exhibition will be hosted simultaneously in two sites: at Maison de la culture Janine-Sutto and at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

Although the presence of the Haitian population in Quebec and Canada dates back to the 1950s, we do not have statistics on the activity of visual artists from Haiti within museums or other institutions. Of course, community and parallel organizations have held cultural and artistic events since the 1970s, having as their object visual arts. Imaginaires souverains therefore is not the first and will certainly not be the last exhibition bringing together visual artists of Haitian origin.

We have indeed witnessed, over the last three years, a new phenomenon: established institutions – museums, galleries, large private collections – that have defined for a long time what is “official” and celebrated by the cultural establishment, now exhibit and collect the works of so-called artists from cultural diversity. However, we want this exhibition to be different, by the renewed gaze it offers on the effervescence and the creativity of artists who share an Haitian origin.

What we observe in the artists brought together in this exhibition is an imagination that resists, destabilizes and transforms the status of the art world by infusing it with a daring energy. We are seeing the definition of a living, rich and fragmented practice, reflecting the creative dynamism and the significant evolution of contemporary art here, in Montreal, and elsewhere in Canada. This is a mark of artistic sovereignty – that is, the free definition and articulation by the artist of her or his expression, regardless of the intensity of external constraints.

Just like the œuvres of Quebec writers of Haitian origin, the work of this new generation of visual artists – who were raised or were born here – imprints a unique signature on the Quebec artistic field. Imaginaires souverains was not conceptualized as a thematic exhibition. It focuses on presenting and saluting the vitality of the local artistic scene, with its Haitian and Quebec influences. This exhibition thus welcomes, without any hierarchy, all art practices and visual manifestations, from painting to sculpture, from drawing to video and photography.

 

FURTHER INFORMATION

The exhibition takes place at Maison de la culture Janine-Sutto and at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

 

Maison de la culture Janine-Sutto 

Exhibition from November 17, 2022 → January 15, 2023.
Opening Thursday November 17, 2022 – 5 p.m. to 7 p.m.
2550 Ontario Street East

 

Galerie Hugues Charbonneau

Exhibition from November 17, 2022 → January 14, 2023.
Opening Thursday November 17, 2022 – 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.
372 Sainte-Catherine Street West, Space 508

 

Imaginaires souverains, 2022, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

Imaginaires souverains, 2022, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

Imaginaires souverains, 2022, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

fbpx

Imaginaires souverains

17 novembre 2022 au 15 janvier 2023

Imaginaires souverains

Avec les oeuvres d’Oski Awoyo, Esther Calixte-Bea, Marie-Hélène Cauvin, Natacha Clitandre, Clovis-Alexandre Desvarieux, Stanley Février, Laurena Finéus, Frantz Patrick Henry, Manuel Mathieu, Esery Mondesir, Nou (Stéphane Martelly), Michaëlle Sergile, Carl-Philippe Simonise, Pascal Smarth et Gelsy Verna.

Commissaire : Dominique Fontaine
En collaboration avec la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau

 

OEUVRES EXPOSÉES À LA GALERIE HUGUES CHARBONNEAU :

Imaginaires souverains rassemble dans deux lieux, la Maison de la culture Janine-Sutto et la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, les œuvres de quinze artistes québécois et canadiens originaires d’Haïti.

Bien que la présence de la population haïtienne au Québec et au Canada remonte aux années 1950, nous n’avons pas de statistiques sur l’activité des artistes en arts visuels originaires d’Haïti au sein des institutions muséales ou de diffusion. Bien entendu, des organismes communautaires ou parallèles, depuis les années 1970, ont tenu des événements culturels et artistiques ayant eu pour objet les arts visuels ; Imaginaires souverains n’est donc pas la première, et ne sera certainement pas la dernière exposition regroupant des artistes visuels d’origine haïtienne.

Nous assistons en effet, depuis les trois dernières années, à un phénomène nouveau: des institutions établies – musées, galeries, grandes collections privées – qui ont longtemps défini ce qui est officiel et célébré par l’establishment culturel, exposent et collectionnent les œuvres des artistes dits issus de la diversité culturelle. Cette exposition, nous la voulons toutefois différente, par ce regard renouvelé qu’elle jette sur l’effervescence de la créativité des artistes qui ont une origine haïtienne.

On observe chez les artistes que réunit cette exposition une imagination qui résiste, déstabilise et transforme le statut du milieu de l’art en lui insufflant une énergie audacieuse. On voit se définir une pratique vivante, riche et éclatée, reflétant le dynamisme de la créativité et l’évolution marquante de l’art contemporain ici, à Montréal, et ailleurs au Canada. C’est là une marque de souveraineté artistique – soit, par l’artiste, la libre définition et l’articulation de son expression, quelle que soit l’intensité des contraintes extérieures.

À l’instar des écrivains québécois d’origine haïtienne, le travail de cette nouvelle génération d’artistes visuels, qui ont été élevés ou qui sont nés ici, imprime une facture singulière au champ artistique québécois. Moins pensée comme une exposition thématique, Imaginaires souverains s’attarde à présenter et à saluer cette vitalité de la scène artistique locale d’influences haïtienne et québécoise. Cette exposition accueille ainsi, sans hiérarchie aucune, toutes les pratiques et toutes les écritures plastiques, de la peinture à la sculpture, du dessin à la vidéo, en passant par la photographie.

INFORMATIONS COMPLÉMENTAIRES
L’exposition prend place à la maison de la culture Janine-Sutto et à la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

Maison de la culture Janine-Sutto
Exposition du 17 novembre 2022 → 15 janvier 2023
Vernissage le jeudi 17 novembre 2022 – 17 h à 19 h
2550 Rue Ontario Est

Galerie Hugues Charbonneau
Exposition du 17 novembre 2022 → 14 janvier 2023
Vernissage le jeudi 17 novembre 2022 – 19 h à 21 h
372 Rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Espace 508

 

Imaginaires souverains, 2022, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

Imaginaires souverains, 2022, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

Imaginaires souverains, 2022, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada