Facebook
Instagram

Maria Hupfield

Maria Hupfield
Waasechign, 2017
Impression numérique sur tissu
Digital print on fabric
3,05 x 5,49 mètres (10’ x 18’)

Marie Hupfield It is Never Just about Sustenance or Pleasure, 2016 Installation incluant vidéo monobande Installation with single channel video SITElines.2016: New Perspectives on Art of the Americas , much wider than a line (July 16, 2016 - Jan. 8, 2017), Courtesy of SITE Santa Fe, Photo: Eric Swanson.

Marie Hupfield
It is Never Just about Sustenance or Pleasure, 2016
Installation incluant vidéo monobande
Installation with single channel video
SITElines.2016: New Perspectives on Art of the Americas , much wider than a line (July 16, 2016 – Jan. 8, 2017), Courtesy of SITE Santa Fe, Photo: Eric Swanson.

Maria Hupfield Silent Noise for a Piano, 2015 Feutre industriel couvert de rubans de satin sur structure en bois (piano non compris) Industrial felt cover with satin ribbon on wood structure (piano not included) Les dimensions varient dépendant de l’installation Dimensions vary with installation (Installation, How to catch eel and grow corn, AMERINDIA, Wilmer Jennings Gallery, New York, USA.)

Maria Hupfield
Silent Noise for a Piano, 2015
Feutre industriel couvert de rubans de satin sur structure en bois (piano non compris)
Industrial felt cover with satin ribbon on wood structure (piano not included)
Les dimensions varient dépendant de l’installation
Dimensions vary with installation
(Installation, How to catch eel and grow corn, AMERINDIA, Wilmer Jennings Gallery, New York, USA.)

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe, Video), 2015 Installation video à deux canaux Two channel video installation Édition : 3 1:15:00 boucle _ loop Camera Dylan McLaughlin Montage_Editing Dylan McLaughlin

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe, Video), 2015
Installation video à deux canaux
Two channel video installation
Édition : 3
1:15:00 boucle _ loop
Camera Dylan McLaughlin
Montage_Editing Dylan McLaughlin

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015 Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et système d’accrochage, et banière en feutre avec ruban Felt canoe, ribbon, bag. hanging system and felt banner with ribbon 274 cm long (9’ long)

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015
Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et système d’accrochage, et banière en feutre avec ruban
Felt canoe, ribbon, bag. hanging system and felt banner with ribbon
274 cm long (9’ long)

Statement

Maria Hupfield’s work extends through performance, installation, sculpture, video, photography, and collage. Her approach draws from Anishinaabe traditions and the history of performance to create actions and objects that function as mediators between the body and the natural or urban environment. Hupfield bases her research on memory, site, and the body, concepts that allow her to probe certain issues relating to boundaries, cultural memory, power, material culture, and identity.

Over nearly ten years, Hupfield has developed a visual language characterised by the use of industrial felt, metallic materials, and organic matter. The malleable objects Hupfield creates from grey or metallic materials, such as clothing and accessories, travel bags, bones, trophies, etc., have come to resonate with various symbols relating to mortality, connectedness to the natural world, primal urges, or the passing on of traditions. The artist wears or carries these sculptural accessories, which, when subsequently exhibited, become witnesses or traces of her performances, themselves acts of physical endurance through repetitive choreographies, or initiatory nature walks, for instance. Hupfield regularly addresses Anishinaabe oral traditions and ritual structures, both of which have a special interest in the role of the audience, and of their sensorial and emotional engagement with the work.

By anchoring herself within the history of North American contemporary Aboriginal art, as well as the history of performance by such artists as Jimmie Durham and Joseph Beuys, Maria Hupfield’s investigation into our presence within the world and of our cultural memory opens up a rich dialogue between western and non-western traditions.

Maria Hupfield Bright Ideas Basket Installation with Instructions, 2016 Installation murale avec table, feutre industruel, petits grelots, fil et polyfill (table de bois non-incluse) Wall installation with table, industrual felt, small jingle bells, thread ans polyfil, (wooden table not included) Les dimensions varient selon l'installation Dimensions vary according to installation

Maria Hupfield
Bright Ideas Basket Installation with Instructions, 2016
Installation murale avec table, feutre industruel, petits grelots, fil et polyfill (table de bois non-incluse)
Wall installation with table, industrual felt, small jingle bells, thread ans polyfil, (wooden table not included)
Les dimensions varient selon l’installation
Dimensions vary according to installation

Maria Hupfield Jingle Spiral, 2015 Grelots en étain sur feutre industriel Tin jingles on industrial felt 178 x 178 x 3 cm (70

Maria Hupfield
Jingle Spiral, 2015
Grelots en étain sur feutre industriel
Tin jingles on industrial felt
178 x 178 x 3 cm (70″ x 70″ x 1″)
Collection Musée des beaux-Arts de Montréal, Canada

Maria Hupfield, Traveling Bag, 2013

Maria Hupfield, Traveling Bag, 2013

Maria Hupfield Pocket Full of Stars 2012 Feutre industriel, fil de cotton et vidéo Industrial felt, cotton thread and video 122 x 274 x 41 cm (48” x 108” x 16” )

Maria Hupfield
Pocket Full of Stars
2012
Feutre industriel, fil de cotton et vidéo
Industrial felt, cotton thread and video
122 x 274 x 41 cm (48” x 108” x 16” )

Biography

Maria Hupfield (b. 1975) is a Canadian artist of Anishinaabe (Ojibway) heritage, and a member of the Wasauksing First Nation in Ontario. She holds a BFA with a major in Art History and a minor in Native Studies from the University of Toronto, as well as an MFA from York University. Beyond her teaching experience at these two institutions, she has also taught at the Emily Carr University of Art + Design in Vancouver. She is a member of the Social Health Performance Club in New York.

In 2015, her work was part of a new solo exhibition at the MacKenzie Art Gallery in Regina, Saskatchewan, following exhibitions at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau in 2015 and 2013, and at the Art Gallery of Southwestern Manitoba in 2011. Several institutions in Canada, the United States and Europe have also included her work and performances in group exhibitions, namely theNorth American Native Museum (NONAM), Zurich (2014); the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian, Washington D.C. (2013); the Museum of Art and Design, New York (2012); the Museum of Contemporary Native Arts, Santa Fe (2011); the McCord Museum, Montréal (2011); and the Art Gallery of Alberta, Edmonton (2010). In addition, Hupfield recently took part in three major exhibitions dealing specifically with contemporary Aboriginal art, including: Sakahàn. International Indigenous Art (2013), National Gallery of Canada; Beat Nation. Art, Hip Hop and Aboriginal Culture (2012-2014), Vancouver Art Gallery; and Before and After the Horizon: Anishinaabe Art of the Great Lakes Region (2013-2014), co-produced by the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian and the Art Gallery of Ontario. She also has participated to Bronx Calling: Third AIM Biennale (2015) at the Bronx Museum of the Arts, New York, and ImagineNATIVE Film Festival (2015) in Toronto. Upcoming is SITE Sante Fe’s biennial Sitelines.2016: New Perspectives on Art of the Americas, Sante Fe.

Maria Hupfield has been awarded the {Re}Conciliation (2015) prize from the Canada Council for the Arts. In 2014, she was selected as part of the Artist in the Marketplace (AIM) professional development program, sponsored by the Bronx Museum of the Arts, and in 2013, she was a recipient of the prestigious Joan Mitchell Painters and Sculptors Grant Program. Her works are included in public and private collections throughout Canada, the United States, and Europe. Maria Hupfield is represented by Galerie Hugues Charbonneau in Montréal. She lives and works in Brooklyn, New York.

Maria Hupfield Survival and Other Acts of Defiance, 2011 Installation video et ruban adhésif en aluminium au sol en forme de

Maria Hupfield
Survival and Other Acts of Defiance, 2011
Installation video et ruban adhésif en aluminium au sol en forme de “X”
Video installation with silver “X” on floor made of aluminium tape
Édition 3
2,4 x 1,2 x 1,2 x m (8’ x 4’ x 4’)

Maria Hupfield Step (Plural Positions series #14) 2014 Épreuve numérique de niveau archive, feutre et médium acrylique Archival inkjet print, felt and acrylic medium 28 x 22 cm (11

Maria Hupfield
Step (Plural Positions series #14)
2014
Épreuve numérique de niveau archive, feutre et médium acrylique
Archival inkjet print, felt and acrylic medium
28 x 22 cm (11″ x 8,5″)
Éd. unique

Maria Hupfield Trees, Counterpoint Series 2007 Épreuve chromogère C-print Éd. 5 102 x 76 cm (40” x 30”)

Maria Hupfield
Trees, Counterpoint Series
2007
Épreuve chromogère
C-print
Éd. 5
102 x 76 cm (40” x 30”)

Maria Hupfield, Jingle Dress, 2002 Papier Paper Collection Smithsonian Museums, USA

Maria Hupfield, Jingle Dress, 2002
Papier
Paper
Collection Smithsonian Museums, USA

Facebook
Instagram

Maria Hupfield

Maria Hupfield
Waasechign, 2017
Impression numérique sur tissu
Digital print on fabric
3,05 x 5,49 mètres (10’ x 18’)

Marie Hupfield It is Never Just about Sustenance or Pleasure, 2016 Installation incluant vidéo monobande Installation with single channel video SITElines.2016: New Perspectives on Art of the Americas , much wider than a line (July 16, 2016 - Jan. 8, 2017), Courtesy of SITE Santa Fe, Photo: Eric Swanson.

Marie Hupfield
It is Never Just about Sustenance or Pleasure, 2016
Installation incluant vidéo monobande
Installation with single channel video
SITElines.2016: New Perspectives on Art of the Americas , much wider than a line (July 16, 2016 – Jan. 8, 2017), Courtesy of SITE Santa Fe, Photo: Eric Swanson.

Maria Hupfield Silent Noise for a Piano, 2015 Feutre industriel couvert de rubans de satin sur structure en bois (piano non compris) Industrial felt cover with satin ribbon on wood structure (piano not included) Les dimensions varient dépendant de l’installation Dimensions vary with installation (Installation, How to catch eel and grow corn, AMERINDIA, Wilmer Jennings Gallery, New York, USA.)

Maria Hupfield
Silent Noise for a Piano, 2015
Feutre industriel couvert de rubans de satin sur structure en bois (piano non compris)
Industrial felt cover with satin ribbon on wood structure (piano not included)
Les dimensions varient dépendant de l’installation
Dimensions vary with installation
(Installation, How to catch eel and grow corn, AMERINDIA, Wilmer Jennings Gallery, New York, USA.)

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe, Video), 2015 Installation video à deux canaux Two channel video installation Édition : 3 1:15:00 boucle _ loop Camera Dylan McLaughlin Montage_Editing Dylan McLaughlin

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe, Video), 2015
Installation video à deux canaux
Two channel video installation
Édition : 3
1:15:00 boucle _ loop
Camera Dylan McLaughlin
Montage_Editing Dylan McLaughlin

Maria Hupfield Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015 Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et système d’accrochage, et banière en feutre avec ruban Felt canoe, ribbon, bag. hanging system and felt banner with ribbon 274 cm long (9’ long)

Maria Hupfield
Jiimaan (Canoe), 2015
Canoe en feutre, ruban, sac et système d’accrochage, et banière en feutre avec ruban
Felt canoe, ribbon, bag. hanging system and felt banner with ribbon
274 cm long (9’ long)

Démarche

Le travail de Maria Hupfield se déploie à travers la performance, l’installation, la sculpture, la vidéo, la photographie et le collage. Son approche puise dans les traditions Anishinaabe ainsi que dans l’histoire de la performance pour créer des actions et des objets qui fonctionnent comme des agents de médiation entre le corps et l’environnement naturel ou urbain. Hupfield centre ses recherches autour de la mémoire, des lieux et du corps, notions qui lui permettent de sonder des questions relatives aux frontières, à la mémoire culturelle, au pouvoir, à la culture matérielle et à l’identité.

Depuis près de dix ans, elle développe un langage visuel caractérisé par l’emploi de feutre industriel, de matériaux métalliques ainsi que de matières organiques. Les objets malléables – vêtements et accessoires, sacs de voyage, ossements, trophées, etc. – que fabrique Hupfield en tissu gris ou métallique entrent en résonnance avec différentes symboliques comme la mortalité, la connexité au monde naturel, les pulsions primaires ou la transmission des traditions. L’artiste revêt ou transporte ces accessoires sculpturaux qui, exposés par la suite, deviennent les témoins ou les traces de ses performances lors desquelles elle met son corps à l’épreuve par l’entremise de chorégraphies d’actes répétitifs ou de marches initiatiques dans la nature entre autres. Hupfield a régulièrement recourt à la tradition orale Anishinaabe ainsi qu’à la structure du rituel qui accordent tous deux un intérêt particulier à la place du spectateur, à son inclusion sensorielle et émotionnelle.

En s’ancrant dans une histoire nord-américaine de l’art autochtone contemporain ainsi que dans une histoire de la performance qui rappelle au passage Jimmie Durham et Joseph Beuys, les interrogations de Maria Hupfield sur notre présence au monde et sur notre mémoire culturelle ouvrent un riche dialogue entre les héritages occidentaux et non occidentaux.

Maria Hupfield Bright Ideas Basket Installation with Instructions, 2016 Installation murale avec table, feutre industruel, petits grelots, fil et polyfill (table de bois non-incluse) Wall installation with table, industrual felt, small jingle bells, thread ans polyfil, (wooden table not included) Les dimensions varient selon l'installation Dimensions vary according to installation

Maria Hupfield
Bright Ideas Basket Installation with Instructions, 2016
Installation murale avec table, feutre industruel, petits grelots, fil et polyfill (table de bois non-incluse)
Wall installation with table, industrual felt, small jingle bells, thread ans polyfil, (wooden table not included)
Les dimensions varient selon l’installation
Dimensions vary according to installation

Maria Hupfield Jingle Spiral, 2015 Grelots en étain sur feutre industriel Tin jingles on industrial felt 178 x 178 x 3 cm (70

Maria Hupfield
Jingle Spiral, 2015
Grelots en étain sur feutre industriel
Tin jingles on industrial felt
178 x 178 x 3 cm (70″ x 70″ x 1″)
Collection Musée des beaux-Arts de Montréal, Canada

Maria Hupfield, Traveling Bag, 2013

Maria Hupfield, Traveling Bag, 2013

Maria Hupfield Pocket Full of Stars 2012 Feutre industriel, fil de cotton et vidéo Industrial felt, cotton thread and video 122 x 274 x 41 cm (48” x 108” x 16” )

Maria Hupfield
Pocket Full of Stars
2012
Feutre industriel, fil de cotton et vidéo
Industrial felt, cotton thread and video
122 x 274 x 41 cm (48” x 108” x 16” )

Biographie

Maria Hupfield (n. 1975) est une artiste canadienne d’héritage Anishinaabe (Ojibwé) et membre de la Première Nation Wasauksing en Ontario. Elle détient un baccalauréat en arts visuels, avec une spécialisation en histoire de l’art et une mineure en études autochtones, de l’University of Toronto ainsi qu’une maîtrise en arts visuels de la York University de Toronto. En plus d’avoir enseigné dans ces deux établissements, Hupfield a également été chargée de cours à l’Emily Carr University of Art + Design à Vancouver. Elle est membre du Social Health Performance Club, New York.

En 2015, son travail fera l’objet d’une nouvelle exposition individuelleà la MacKenzie Art Gallery, Regina (SK), faisant suite à celles de la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau en 2015 et 2013 et de l’Art Gallery of Southwestern Manitoba en 2011. De nombreuses institutions au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe ont également présenté ses œuvres ou ses performances dans le cadre d’expositions collectives, nommons le Musée d’art contemporain des Laurentides, Saint-Jérôme (QC) (2015); le North American Native Museum (NONAM), Zurich (2014); le Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian, Washington D.C. (2013); le Museum of Art and Design, New York (2012); le Museum of Contemporary Native Arts, Santa Fe (2011); le Musée McCord, Montréal (2011); et l’Art Gallery of Alberta, Edmonton (2010). De plus, Hupfield a récemment pris part à trois expositions majeures s’intéressant spécifiquement à l’art contemporain autochtone : Sakahàn. Art indigène international (2013), Musée des beaux-arts du Canada; Beat Nation. Art, Hip Hop and Aboriginal Culture (2012-2014), Vancouver Art Gallery; et Before and After the Horizon: Anishinaabe Art of the Great Lakes Region (2013-2014), coproduite par le Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian et l’Art Gallery of Ontario. Elle était aussi de la Bronx Calling: Third AIM Biennale (2015) au Bronx Museum of the Arts, New York, et du festival de films ImagineNATIVE (2015) à Toronto.

Maria Hupfield est récipiendaire d’une bourse {Re}Conciliation (2015) du Conseil des arts du Canada. En 2014, elle a été sélectionnée au sein du programme de développement professionnel Artist in the Marketplace (AIM) chapeauté par le Bronx Museum of the Arts, et en 2013, elle a reçu une prestigieuse bourse du Joan Mitchell Painters and Sculptors Grant Program. Ses œuvres sont présentes dans des collections publiques et privées au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe. Maria Hupfield est représentée par la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau à Montréal. Elle vit et travaille à Brooklyn, New York.

Maria Hupfield Survival and Other Acts of Defiance, 2011 Installation video et ruban adhésif en aluminium au sol en forme de

Maria Hupfield
Survival and Other Acts of Defiance, 2011
Installation video et ruban adhésif en aluminium au sol en forme de “X”
Video installation with silver “X” on floor made of aluminium tape
Édition 3
2,4 x 1,2 x 1,2 x m (8’ x 4’ x 4’)

Maria Hupfield Step (Plural Positions series #14) 2014 Épreuve numérique de niveau archive, feutre et médium acrylique Archival inkjet print, felt and acrylic medium 28 x 22 cm (11

Maria Hupfield
Step (Plural Positions series #14)
2014
Épreuve numérique de niveau archive, feutre et médium acrylique
Archival inkjet print, felt and acrylic medium
28 x 22 cm (11″ x 8,5″)
Éd. unique

Maria Hupfield Trees, Counterpoint Series 2007 Épreuve chromogère C-print Éd. 5 102 x 76 cm (40” x 30”)

Maria Hupfield
Trees, Counterpoint Series
2007
Épreuve chromogère
C-print
Éd. 5
102 x 76 cm (40” x 30”)

Maria Hupfield, Jingle Dress, 2002 Papier Paper Collection Smithsonian Museums, USA

Maria Hupfield, Jingle Dress, 2002
Papier
Paper
Collection Smithsonian Museums, USA