Facebook
Instagram

Guillaume Adjutor Provost: Chambre réverbérante

April 14th, 2019 § 0 comments § permalink

Opening April 17 from 5 to 7pm

Guillaume Adjutor Provost, Sans titre (flux 03.05), 2019
Encre sur papier
Ink on paper
29,7 x 21 cm (11,7” x 8,3”)

For his second exhibition at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Chambre réverbérante, Guillaume Adjutor Provost is presenting a selection of drawings from his most recent series entitled Flux. These drawings result from a number of automatic-drawing sessions whereby each pen drawing on paper was executed over the course of several consecutive hours. During these late-night drawing shifts, Provost found himself in a state of altered consciousness provoked by self-induced hypnosis a hypnagogic state that allowed for a free-form exploration of his frame of mind on a given day. He likens the visual vocabulary resulting from this process to a flow of data streaming directly from his psyche.  

Pulling from shapes and hidden symbols that emerged during these sessions, Provost created two sculptures that echo the Fluxdrawings. Fée du Kapital (Shift de jour)and Fée du Kapital (Shift de nuit)represent two pairs of casted feet dressed and bejewelled in boots and fabrics. The presence of these dismembered feet in space create a tension, seeming to conjure up spirits. To the artist, these anchors are stand-ins for a system in deconstruction, they could be considered the foundation to the building of a new order.

Chambre réverbérante results from Guillaume Adjutor Provost’s current desire to create a body of work that bypasses referentiality in order to access the raw internal processes of the psyche and by the same token, expose our relationship to the unregulated labour inherent to artistic work, both material and immaterial.

Guillaume Adjutor Provost lives and works in Montreal where he completed a doctorate in art and research at UQAM in 2017. He has received grants from the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, the OJIQ and SODEC. His work has been shown in solo and group exhibitions throughoutCanada, France, Germany, Belgium, Catalonia, Lithuania, and Switzerland. In parallel, his practice has been highlighted through the Jean-Claude Rochefort award and the Claudine and Stephen Bronfman Fellowship in Contemporary Art. Since autumn 2016, he has been provided with a studio at the Fonderie Darling where he is currently showing a solo exhibition in conversation with Julie Tremble and Guillaume B.B. entitled “Vapeurs”, curated by Ji-Yoon Han. In 2018, he presented a solo exhibition at Bikini in Lyon, and participated in group shows at Critical Distance (Toronto) and TAP Art Space (Montreal), and conducted a research residency at Rupert Foundation in Vilnius, Lithuania.

 

Guillaume Adjutor Provost, Chambre réverbérante, 2019
Exposition / Exhibition
Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada
(photo : Jean-Michael Seminaro)

 

 

Situation #7 : David Lafrance : Forbidden Rendez-vous in the Ghost Wing

August 16th, 2017 § 0 comments § permalink

Entrance door: 6217 rue Henri-Julien

 

David Lafrance
Atelier rouge (série Peur de perdre)
2015
Huile sur panneau
Oil on panel
20 x 25,5 cm (8” x 10”)

David Lafrance is delighted to invite you to his studio in the ghost wing of 305 rue de Bellechasse on next Wednesday August 23, from 10 AM to 10 PM. As part of our summer program titled “8 situations: 8 artists”, this exceptional rendezvous will be an opportunity to revisit his artistic production and archives covering the last twenty years (1997-2017).

David Lafrance
Étude pour Atlas No 2
2014
Peinture à l’acrylique sur madrier de ferme sculpté
Acrylic paint on sculpted recycled wood
35.5 x 10 x 18 cm (14” x 4” x 7”)

An installation of works will pay tribute to his favourite workspace. Several paintings, drawings, engravings, aquarelles, sketches, studies and some never-before-seen works will be available for acquisition purposes. This meeting will also be an occasion for open discussions with key art milieu professionals in attendance (artists, photographers, gallerists). A not to be missed event that will unfold in a convivial ambiance, in the image of David Lafrance.

David Lafrance
Force
2003
Huile sur toile
Oil on canvas
198 x 259 cm (78” x 102”)

About David Lafrance

David Lafrance (b. 1976) holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts from Concordia University in Montréal (2001). His work has been presented in numerous exhibitions and biennales in Canada, the US, and in France. Among his recent solo exhibitions are Ceaac (2015), Strasbourg; Galerie Hugues Charbonneau (2014); L’Œil de Poisson (2014), Québec City; and the Musée régional de Rimouski (2012), which won the prize for “Best exhibition outside of Montréal” at the AGAC’s Gala des arts visuels. He recently participated in various group exhibitions, namely at the Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (2015), l’Œil de Poisson (2015), Art Action Actuel, in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (2013), and at the Centre d’art l’Écart, in Rouyn-Noranda (2013).

David Lafrance
M’as tu oublier 07
2003
Graphite sur papier
Graphite on paper
55,88 x 76,2 (22” x 30”)

His work is part of several private and public collections, including the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (CPOA), the Bibliothèque nationale du Québec; the Leonard and Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Montréal; Lotto Québec; Hydro-Québec; and Movement Desjardins; Blakes; and Apollo Studios.

David Lafrance
Les sinistrés
2011
Huile sur toile
Oil on canvas
107 x 122 cm (42” x 48”)

David Lafrance
En ordre d’apparition 01
2016
Huile sur toile
Oil on canvas
122 x 102 cm (48” x 40”)

Where Am I?

You are currently browsing entries tagged with dessin at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

Facebook
Instagram

Guillaume Adjutor Provost : Chambre réverbérante

avril 14th, 2019 § 0 comments § permalink

Vernissage le 17 avril de 17h à 19h

Guillaume Adjutor Provost, Sans titre (flux 03.05), 2019
Encre sur papier
Ink on paper
29,7 x 21 cm (11,7” x 8,3”)

Pour sa deuxième exposition à la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Chambre réverbérante, Guillaume Adjutor Provost présente une sélection de dessins issus de sa série intitulée Flux(2018-2019). Ces images résultent d’un nombre de séances de dessin automatique où chaque pièce a été exécutée au cours de plusieurs heures consécutives. Durant leur création nocturne, Provost se trouvait dans un état de consciencealtérée provoqué par autohypnose, un état hypnagogiquequi lui permet une libre exploration intérieure. Il compare le vocabulaire visuel qui ressort de ce processus à un flux d’information qui découle directement de sa psyché.

À partir des formes et des symboles cachés qui ont émergé lors de cet exercice, Provost a créé deux sculptures qui font écho aux dessins de Flux. Ornés de motifs en émail, Fée du Kapital (Shift de jour)et Fée du Kapita (Shift de nuit), représentent deux paires de pieds habillés de bottes et de tissus. L’énergie de ces pieds démembrés dans l’espace crée une tension ambiante qui semble évoquer la présenced’esprits. Pour l’artiste, ces « ancres » symbolisent à la fois un systèmeen déconstruction et la base d’un nouvel ordre.

Chambre réverbérantedécoule du désir actuel de Guillaume Adjutor Provost de produire un travail qui s’éloigne de la référentialité pour accéder aux processus internes bruts de la conscience et, du même élan, d’exposer nos relations à l’occupation continuelle et invisible intrinsèque au travail d’artiste.

Guillaume Adjutor Provost est né à Gatineau en 1987. Il vit et travaille à Montréal où il a complété un doctorat en étude et pratique des arts à l’UQAM en 2016. Ses recherches portent sur la notion d’art commissarial, à savoir l’utilisation d’approches commissariales comme mode de création.

Récipiendaire de bourses du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, du Conseil des Arts du Canada, de l’OJIQ, de la SODEC, le travail de Guillaume Adjutor Provost a été diffusé lors d’expositions solos et collectives au Canada, en France, en Allemagne, en Autriche, en Belgique et en Suisse. Parallèlement, sa pratique a été soulignée par l’attribution de la bourse Jean-Claude Rochefort et du prix Claudine et Stephen Bronfman en art contemporain. Depuis l’automne 2016, il bénéficie d’un atelier à la Fonderie Darling où il présente actuellement une exposition individuelle intitulée Vapeurs en conversation avec Julie Tremble et Guillaume B.B. (commissare: Ji-Yoon Han). En 2018, Provost a présenté une exposition individuelle à Bikini à Lyon, a participé à des expositions de groupe à Critical Distance (Toronto) et Tap Art Space (Montréal) et à complété une résidence de recherche à la fondation Rupert à Vilnius en Lituanie.

Situation #7 : David Lafrance : Rendez-vous inédit dans l’aile fantôme

août 16th, 2017 § 0 comments § permalink

Porte d’entrée : 6217 rue Henri-Julien

David Lafrance
Atelier rouge (série Peur de perdre)
2015
Huile sur panneau
Oil on panel
20 x 25,5 cm (8” x 10”)

Mercredi le 23 août prochain, de 10h à 22h, David Lafrance a le plaisir de vous convier à son atelier situé dans l’aile fantôme du 305 rue de Bellechasse.  S’inscrivant dans le cadre de notre programmation estivale intitulée « 8 situations : 8 artistes », ce rendez-vous d’exception sera l’occasion de revisiter sa production artistique et des archives des 20 dernières années (1997-2017).

David Lafrance
Étude pour Atlas No 2
2014
Peinture à l’acrylique sur madrier de ferme sculpté
Acrylic paint on sculpted recycled wood
35.5 x 10 x 18 cm (14” x 4” x 7”)

Une installation d’œuvres rendra hommage à son lieu de travail de prédilection. Plusieurs peintures, dessins, gravures, aquarelles, esquisses, études et certaines œuvres inédites seront disponibles à des fins d’acquisition. Cette rencontre sera aussi le moment d’échanger librement avec les agents du milieu artistique présents (artistes, photographes, galeristes) dans une ambiance chaleureuse, à l’image de David Lafrance.

David Lafrance
Force
2003
Huile sur toile
Oil on canvas
198 x 259 cm (78” x 102”)

Au sujet de David Lafrance

David Lafrance (n. 1976) détient un baccalauréat en arts visuels de l’Université Concordia à Montréal (2001). Son travail a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions et biennales au Canada, aux États-Unis et en France. Parmi ses expositions individuelles récentes, soulignons celles au Ceaac (2015), Strasbourg; à la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau (2014); à l’Œil de Poisson (2014), Québec; et au Musée régional de Rimouski (2012), qui lui a valu le prix de la « meilleure exposition hors Montréal » au Gala des arts visuels de l’AGAC. Récemment, il a pris part à différentes expositions collectives, notamment au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (2015), à l’Œil de Poisson (2015), à Art action Actuel, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (2013), et au Centre d’art L’écart, Rouyn-Noranda (2013).

David Lafrance
M’as tu oublier 07
2003
Graphite sur papier
Graphite on paper
55,88 x 76,2 (22” x 30”)

Ses œuvres sont présentes dans plusieurs collections privées et publiques, dont celles du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (CPOA), de la Bibliothèque nationale du Québec, de la Galerie Leonard et Bina Ellen, Montréal, de Lotto Québec, Hydro-Québec, du Mouvement Desjardins, de Blakes et des Studios Apollo.

David Lafrance
Les sinistrés
2011
Huile sur toile
Oil on canvas
107 x 122 cm (42” x 48”)

David Lafrance
En ordre d’apparition 01
2016
Huile sur toile
Oil on canvas
122 x 102 cm (48” x 40”)

Save

Save

Where Am I?

You are currently browsing entries tagged with dessin at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.