fbpx

2022 Residency: Allie Gattor, Patrick F. Henry, Michaëlle Sergile and Leila Zelli

June 20 to August 1, 2022

2022 Residency: Allie Gattor, Patrick F. Henry, Michaëlle Sergile and Leila Zelli

Over the past year, Allie Gattor, Patrick F. Henry, Michaëlle Sergile, Leila Zelli and Hugues Charbonneau met on multiple occasions to discuss their respective journeys in the world of contemporary art. They would like to express their gratitude to gallery owner Pierre-François Ouellet, curator Eunice Bélidor and artist Manuel Mathieu for the precious time they accorded them. The gallery’s summer residency program will place Gattor, Henry, Sergile and Zelli’s artistic approaches at the very center of the reflections explored during the past twelve months. Later this summer, the public will be invited to meet the artists and learn about their work during an open house.

Allie Gattor is a self-taught artist based in Montreal. She recently drew attention through participation in events focusing on emerging artists, such as Artch and Créer des ponts. She combines drawing techniques and a variety of mediums such as pen, pencil, ink, and watercolours, working in various formats from very small to human scale. Allie Gattor’s creative process begins with the observation of everyday life. While her work is reminiscent of children’s book illustrations, Allie Gattor’s works can be surprising with their combination of playfulness and dark humour. Her drawings touch upon themes such as boredom, frustration, anxiety, joy, absurdity, naivety, and excess, always with a playful touch.

Patrick F. Henry is an artist of Haitian origin who has been living in Montreal since 2011. He is a graduate of the University of Quebec in Montreal (2019). He received the McAbbie Foundation Sculpture Excellence Grant from the School of Visual and Media Arts (UQAM) for his installation titled Je suis nouveau ici (2020). A multidisciplinary artist, he explores the theme of “becoming” through sculpture, painting and installation. Through the appropriation of everyday objects deviated from their function, of reclaimed materials, his works most often unfold in the form of a site promoting relations with the viewer, inviting him to experience of self-reconstruction.

Michaëlle Sergile is an independent artist and curator working mainly on archives including texts and works from the postcolonial period from 1950 to today. Her artistic work aims to understand and rewrite the history of Black communities, and more specifically of women, or communities living in diverse intersections, through weaving. Often perceived as a medium of craftsmanship and categorized as feminine, the artist uses the lexicon of weaving to question the relationships of gender and race.

Born in Tehran (Iran), Leila Zelli lives and works in Montréal. She holds an MFA (2020) and a BFA (2016) in Visual and Media Arts from Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). Zelli is interested in the relationship that we have with the ideas of “others” and “elsewhere” and more specifically within this geopolitical space often referred to by the questionable term “Middle East.” She creates in situ digital installations using existing images, videos and texts often found on the Internet. The resulting visual and sound experiences create an opportunity to reflect on the state of the world, the relationship with the Other and the actual effect of our actions on humanity. She is the 2021 laureate of the Claudine and Stephen Bronfman Fellowship in Contemporary Art.

fbpx

Résidence 2022 : Allie Gattor, Patrick F. Henry, Michaëlle Sergile et Leila Zelli

20 juin au 1er août 2022

Résidence 2022 : Allie Gattor, Patrick F. Henry, Michaëlle Sergile et Leila Zelli

Au cours des douze derniers mois, Allie Gattor, Patrick F. Henry, Michaëlle Sergile, Leila Zelli et Hugues Charbonneau se sont réunis à plusieurs reprises afin d’échanger sur leurs parcours respectifs dans le milieu de l’art actuel. Ils tiennent à remercier le galeriste Pierre-François Ouellet, la commissaire Eunice Bélidor et l’artiste Manuel Mathieu pour le précieux temps qu’ils leur ont accordé. Le programme de résidence estivale à la galerie permettra de placer les démarches artistiques de Gattor, Henry, Sergile et Zelli au centre même des réflexions abordées pendant la dernière année. Plus tard cet été, le public sera invité à rencontrer les artistes et à prendre connaissance de leur travail dans le cadre d’une journée portes ouvertes.

Allie Gattor est une artiste autodidacte établie à Montréal. Elle s’est récemment démarquée dans le cadre d’événements dédiés aux artistes de la relève, tels Artch et l’initiative Créer des ponts d’Art Souterrain. Ses œuvres s’inscrivent dans un univers bidimensionnel où le stylo, le crayon, l’encre et l’aquarelle prennent vie sur des papiers de différentes tailles, du très petit au grandeur nature. Le processus créatif d’Allie Gattor commence par l’observation de la vie quotidienne. Bien que son style rappelle les illustrations de livres d’enfants, ses œuvres surprennent par la combinaison du ludique à l’humour noir. Ses œuvres touchent entre autres aux thèmes de l’ennui, l’anxiété, la frustration, la joie, l’absurdité, la naïveté et l’excès; le tout toujours avec une touche ludique.

Patrick F. Henry est un artiste d’origine haïtienne qui vit à Montréal depuis 2011. Il est diplômé de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (2019). Il a reçu la Bourse d’excellence en sculpture de la Fondation Mc Abbie de l’École des arts visuels et médiatiques de l’UQAM pour son installation Je suis nouveau ici (2020). Artiste pluridisciplinaire, il explore la thématique du « devenir » à travers la sculpture, la peinture et l’installation. Par l’appropriation d’objets du quotidien déviés de leur fonction, de matériaux récupérés, ses œuvres se déploient le plus souvent sous la forme d’un site favorisant des relations avec le.la spectateur.trice, l’invitant à faire une expérience de reconstruction de soi.

Michaëlle Sergile est une artiste et commissaire indépendante travaillant principalement les archives incluant des textes et des ouvrages de la période postcoloniale de 1950 à aujourd’hui. Son travail artistique a pour vocation de comprendre et de réécrire l’histoire des communautés noires, et plus précisément celle des femmes, ou des communautés vivant entre des intersections, par le tissage. Medium souvent perçu comme de l’artisanat et catégorisé comme féminin, l’artiste utilise le lexique du tissage pour questionner les rapports de domination de genre et d’ethnie.

Née à Téhéran (Iran), Leila Zelli vit et travaille à Montréal. Détentrice d’une maîtrise (2020) et d’un baccalauréat (2016) en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’UQAM, elle s’intéresse aux rapports que l’on entretient avec les idées « d’autres »et « d’ailleurs » et plus spécifiquement au sein de cet espace géopolitique souvent désigné par le terme discutable de « Moyen-Orient ». Elle crée des installations numériques in situ réalisées au moyen d’images, de vidéos et de textes souvent glanés sur internet et les réseaux sociaux. En résultent des expériences visuelles et sonores qui suscitent une réflexion sur l’état du monde, sur le rapport à l’Autre et sur la portée effective de nos gestes sur l’humanité. Elle est lauréate 2021 de la Bourse Claudine et Stephen Bronfman en art contemporain.