Facebook
Instagram
From August 16 to August 19, 2017

Situation #6: Matthew Biederman: A Generative Adversarial Network

Opening reception on August 16th from 5pm to 7pm with the artist in attendance
At Galerie Hugues Charbonneau
With the kind collaboration Art45 gallery

By modifying algorithms and training scenarios, what will the network synthesize?    


Using a state-of-the-art technique – a generative adversarial network (itself an interesting turn of phrase), a neural network has been trained to generate full body portraits that are learned from TSA three dimensional scans. The mongrel images created are not of specific persons but are ‘hallucinated’ by the network, through which the ‘learning’ process is revealed. The training dataset is from the very same scans made every time a person enters an airport terminal in the United States and several other countries. These images were released by the TSA to the public in the hope that they can develop an algorithm to automatically detect ‘threats’.  On display here is the system as it learns to create images in an awkward loop of a machine being taught to imitate the images that are gathered from the biometric data.

Matthew Biederman

About Matthew Biederman

Matthew Biederman (b. 1972, Chicago Heights, IL, USA) lives and works in Montreal. He was the recipient of the Bay Area Artist Award in Video by New Langton Arts in 1999, First Place in the Visual Arts category of Slovenia’s Break21 festival. He has since co-founded the Arctic Perspective Initiative, with Marko Peljhan, in 2007, a non-profit, international group of individuals and organizations, whose goal is to promote the creation of open authoring, communications and dissemination infrastructures for the circumpolar region.

Biederman works have been exhibited in the US, South America, Europe and Japan, in a variety of festivals and venues such as 7 ATA Festival Internacional (Lima), the 11th Lyon Bienniale, the 2011 Quebec Trienniale, 2014 Montreal Bienniale (Musee des Arts Contemporain), Bienniale of Digital Art (BIAN, Montreal), Artissima (Turin, IT) and Moscow Biennale, among others. As a film and video maker, his works have been included in the FILE festival (Sao Paulo), New Forms Festival (Vancouver), the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, Paris/Berlin International Meetings, and the Chicago Underground Film Festival. His public works have been shown at the ZeroOne2006 Festival (San Jose US), the SCAPE Biennial (New Zealand), notably.

Biederman is currently represented by Art45.

What's this?

You are currently reading Situation #6: Matthew Biederman: A Generative Adversarial Network at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

meta

Facebook
Instagram
Du 16 au 19 août, 2017

Situation #6 : Matthew Biederman : Le réseau antagoniste génératif

Vernissage le 16 août de 17h à 19h en présence de l’artiste
À la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau
Avec l’aimable collaboration de la Galerie Art45

Si l’on modifie les algorithmes et les scénarios d’entraînement, quelle sera alors la synthèse du réseau ?


J’ai entraîné un réseau neuronal à l’aide d’une technique de pointe — un réseau antagoniste génératif (la formulation est par ailleurs intéressante) — afin de générer des portraits en pied qu’il a appris à partir d’un ensemble de scans corporels effectués par la Transportation Security Administration (TSA). Les images déformées ainsi créées ne représentent pas des personnes en particulier, mais sont plutôt des « hallucinations » du réseau révélant le « processus d’apprentissage ». Le jeu de données d’entraînement provient des mêmes scans effectués chaque fois que quelqu’un entre dans un terminal d’aéroport aux États-Unis ou dans un autre pays. La TSA a mis ces images à la disposition de la population dans l’espoir que l’on puisse concevoir et développer un algorithme qui permettrait de détecter automatiquement les « menaces ». Voici exposé le système alors qu’il apprend à créer des images dans l’étrange boucle d’un système d’apprentissage automatique entraîné à imiter des images recueillies à partir de données biométriques.

Matthew Biederman

Au sujet de Matthew Biederman

Matthew Biederman (n. 1972, Chicago Heights, IL, USA) vit et travaille à Montréal. Il est le récipiendaire du prix Bay Area Artist Award in Video by New Langton Arts en 1999 et il remporte la première place dans la catégorie Arts Visuels au festival Break21 (Slovénie). Depuis, il a co-fondé avec Marko Peljhan le Arctic Perspective Initiative (API), en 2007. API est un groupe international sans but lucratif rassemblant des individus et organisations afin de promouvoir la création de plateformes d’édition, de communications et de diffusion pour les régions nordiques.

Le travail de Biederman a notamment été exposé aux États-Unis, en Amérique du Sud, en Europe et au Japon, ainsi que dans une variété (un bon nombre) de festivals et de lieux (venues) tels que 7 ATA Festival Internacional (Lima), la 11e Biennale de Lyon, la Triennale du Québec (2011), la Biennale de Montréal (2014) (Musée d’art contemporain), la Biennale de l’Art Digital (BIAN, Montréal), Artissima (Turin, IT) et la Biennale de Moscou. En tant que vidéaste, son travail a été présenté dans les festivals FILE (Sao Paulo), New Forms (Vancouver), Edinburgh FringeParis/Berlin International Meetings, au Chicago Underground Film Festival et présenté publiquement au festival ZeroOne2006(San Jose, États-Unis), ainsi qu’à la Biennale SCAPE (Nouvelle-Zélande), entre autres.

Biederman est représenté par la galerie Art45.

Save

Save

What's this?

You are currently reading Situation #6 : Matthew Biederman : Le réseau antagoniste génératif at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

meta