fbpx

Tam vs Kitenge

For its second virtual exhibition, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau is delighted to present a first-time collaborative project between Karen Tam and Moridja Kitenge Banza.

 

The Tam vs Kitenge project, which arose and took shape during the lockdown, is made up of works created jointly by the two artists who exchanged pieces to be completed in turn over the course of the 2020 spring and summer. The exhibition title and its poster are a nod to the iconic exhibition Warhol x Basquiat, shown in 1985 at Tony Shafrazi Gallery in New York—an exhibition that symbolizes and concludes the production, throughout the 1980s, of collaborative works between Andy Warhol and Michael Basquiat.

 

Tam and Kitenge Banza take their shared interest in cultural issues of identity, transmission and racism as a point of departure. More specifically, their work is similarly marked by research and reflections about the economic relations that link North America with China or Africa, about the influence of Jesuit communities regarding religious assimilation outside of Europe, about the political implications of artefacts and antiquities (such as Chinese vases or African masks) kept in museum institutions, and about the potential of fiction, even humour, to rethink the dominant history.

 

Both challenge the narratives and representations of racialized immigrants by proposing other forms of visibility and spaces for them.

Power Relations

The artists are interested in the economic ties that link China and Africa, in particular in regards to Chinese interests in the exploitation of railroad lines and sea links in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The iconography of these two works are inspired by various construction sites such as those found around the Matadi–Kinshasa railroad (1890) and the Matadi port (1886), but also those set up by the Canadian Pacific Railway throughout Canada in the 1880s, which employed a huge number of Chinese labourers.

Karen Tam & Moridja Kitenge Banza, Tam vs Kitenge 5, 2020
Ink on hand cut paper (unframed)
28 x 38 cm (11” x 15’)
$1700

Karen Tam & Moridja Kitenge Banza, Tam vs Kitenge 6, 2020
Ink on hand cut paper (unframed)
28 x 38 cm (11” x 15’)
$1700

Otherness

The racist stereotypes and the problems associated with exoticism and orientalism are guiding threads in Karen Tam’s and Moridja Kitenge Banza’s approaches.

Kitenge Banza proposes here a self-portrait from the series, je crois savoir comment il me voit. Série 2, in which his head has been replaced by an indigenous African flower species. Tam intervened in the background of the work with a border cut-out around the character, using a motif based on Chinese coins.

Tam’s mask, titled Chinoiserie Face Mask II, was created in response to the resurgence of anti-Asian racism and acts of violence carried out against Asian communities during the COVID-19 pandemic. Clearly non-functional, it invites us to reflect on the racialization of viruses, a recurrent phenomenon in history.

Karen Tam & Moridja Kitenge Banza, Tam vs Kitenge 1, 2020
Ink on hand cut mylar (unframed)
61 x 45,6 cm (24” x 18’)
$2800

Karen Tam, Chinoiserie Face Mask II, 2020
Cutout vinyl fabric, ribbon
Edition 3/3
21 x 22 cm (8,5” x 8,7”)
$1000

Maps and memories

Kitenge Banza’s abstract drawings are a continuation of the series Chiromancies; a group of ink drawings on Mylar in which each work is presented as a divination card that retraces the heritage, life-path and future of the artist. With her ornamental cut-outs, Tam draws on makes use of traditional Chinese motifs of natural elements to continue this meditation on origins. The blending of these two formal languages extends the artists’ exploration of porous and malleable identities.

Karen Tam & Moridja Kitenge Banza, Tam vs Kitenge 3, 2020
Ink on hand cut mylar (unframed)
61 x 45,6 cm (24” x 18’)
$2800

Karen Tam & Moridja Kitenge Banza, Tam vs Kitenge 4, 2020
Ink on hand cut mylar (unframed)
61 x 45,6 cm (24” x 18’)
$2800

The TAMKIT Bank

Tam and Moridja Kitenge Banza have previously experimented with the creation of fictional and counterfeit currencies to reflect on the notion of value in art. Together, they have expanded their investigations into the subject: what financial impact will the ongoing current pandemic have on the art market? What is the  responsibility of collectors towards artists in the context of an economic recession? How can the value of a work of art be stabilized in a time of crisis?

Their answer: in the form of multiples, savings bonds issued in limited quantities by the TAMKIT Bank!

 

 


Karen Tam & Moridja Kitenge Banza, Tam vs Kitenge 2, 2020
Digital print on archival paper (unframed)
Edition 1/5
31 x 41 cm (12” x 16”)
$1600

fbpx

Tam vs Kitenge

Pour sa deuxième exposition virtuelle, la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau est fière de présenter un projet inédit de collaboration entre Karen Tam et Moridja Kitenge Banza.

Né et formé dans le contexte du confinement, Tam vs Kitenge est composé d’œuvres créées à quatre mains par les deux artistes qui se sont échangé des pièces à compléter à tour de rôle au fil du printemps et de l’été 2020. Le titre de l’exposition et son affiche se veulent un clin d’œil à l’iconique exposition Warhol x Basquiat, présentée à la Tony Shafrazi Gallery à New York en 1985 – exposition qui symbolise et clôt la production, au cours des années 1980, d’œuvres collaboratives entre Andy Warhol et Michel Basquiat.

Tam et Kitenge Banza prennent comme point de départ leur intérêt commun pour les questions culturelles d’identité, de transmission et de racisme. De manière encore plus précise, leur travail est semblablement traversé par des recherches et réflexions sur les relations économiques qui unissent l’Amérique du Nord à la Chine ou à l’Afrique, sur l’influence des communautés jésuites sur l’assimilation religieuse hors d’Europe, sur la charge politique des artéfacts et antiquités (comme les vases chinois ou les masques africains) conservés dans les institutions muséales, et sur le potentiel de la fiction, voire de l’humour, pour repenser l’histoire dominante.

Tous deux remettent en question les récits et les représentations des personnes racisées et immigrantes en proposant d’autres formes de visibilité, d’autres espaces pour elles.

Rapports de force 

Les artistes se sont intéressés aux liens économiques qui lient la Chine et l’Afrique, en particulier en ce qui a trait aux intérêts chinois dans l’exploitation de voies ferroviaires et de liaisons maritimes dans la République démocratique du Congo. L’iconographie de ces deux œuvres s’inspire de chantiers divers comme ceux entourant le chemin de fer Matadi–Kinshasa (1890) et le port de Matadi (1886), mais aussi ceux du Canadien Pacifique à travers le Canada, dans les années 1880, qui employaient massivement des ouvriers chinois.

Karen Tam & Moridja Kitenge Banza, Tam vs Kitenge 5, 2020
Encre sur papier découpé à la main (non encadrée)
28 x 38 cm (11” x 15’)
1700 $

Karen Tam & Moridja Kitenge Banza, Tam vs Kitenge 6, 2020
Encre sur papier découpé à la main (non encadrée)
28 x 38 cm (11” x 15’)
1700 $

Altérités

Les stéréotypes racistes et les problèmes entourant l’exotisme et l’orientalisme sont des fils conducteurs dans les démarches de Karen Tam et de Moridja Kitenge Banza.

Kitenge Banza propose ici un autoportrait de la série je crois savoir comment il me voit. Série 2 où sa tête a été remplacée par une espèce de fleur indigène d’Afrique. Tam est intervenue à l’arrière-plan de l’œuvre, bordant le personnage d’un découpage dont le motif reprend celui des pièces de monnaie chinoise.

Le masque de Tam, intitulé Chinoiserie Face Mask II, a été créé en réponse à la résurgence de racisme anti-asiatique et d’actes de violence dirigés contre les communautés asiatiques pendant la pandémie de COVID-19. Visiblement inefficace, il invite à réfléchir sur la racialisation des virus, phénomène récurrent dans l’histoire.

Karen Tam & Moridja Kitenge Banza, Tam vs Kitenge 1, 2020
Encre sur mylar découpé à la main (non encadrée)
61 x 45,6 cm (24” x 18’)
2800 $

Karen Tam, Chinoiserie Face Mask II, 2020
Vinyle découpé, rubans
Edition 3/3
21 x 22 cm (8,5” x 8,7”)
1000 $

Cartes et mémoires

Les dessins abstraits de Kitenge Banza s’inscrivent à la suite de sa série Chiromancies ; un corpus d’encres sur Mylar où chaque œuvre se présente comme une carte divinatoire qui retrace les héritages, le chemin parcouru et l’avenir de l’artiste. Les découpages ornementaux de Tam poursuivent cette méditation sur les origines en puisant dans des motifs traditionnels chinois d’éléments naturels. Le métissage des deux langages formels prolonge leurs recherches sur la porosité et la malléabilité des identités.

Karen Tam & Moridja Kitenge Banza, Tam vs Kitenge 3, 2020
Encre sur mylar découpé à la main (non encadrée)
61 x 45,6 cm (24” x 18’)
2800 $

Karen Tam & Moridja Kitenge Banza, Tam vs Kitenge 4, 2020
Encre sur mylar découpé à la main (non encadrée)
61 x 45,6 cm (24” x 18’)
2800 $

La Banque TAMKIT

Et Karen Tam et Moridja Kitenge Banza ont, par le passé, expérimenté avec la création de monnaies fictives et la contrefaçon pour réfléchir à la notion de valeur en art. Ensemble, ils ont approfondi leurs interrogations sur le sujet : quels seront les impacts financiers de la présente pandémie à l’endroit du marché de l’art ? Quelle est la responsabilité des collectionneur·euses à l’égard des artistes dans un contexte de récession économique ? Comment stabiliser la valeur d’une œuvre d’art en temps de crise ?

Leur réponse : sous forme de multiples, des obligations d’épargne émises en quantité limitée par la Banque TAMKIT!

 

 

Karen Tam & Moridja Kitenge Banza, Tam vs Kitenge 2, 2020
Impression numérique sur papier archive (non encadrée)
Edition 1/5
31 x 41 cm (12” x 16”)
1600 $