fbpx

Aquin, Kitenge Banza and Phenix: Storylines

(Français) January 15 to February 22, 2019

Aquin, Kitenge Banza and Phenix: Storylines

Opening On January 15, 2020 from 5 to 7PM. Artists in attendance.

For this exhibition dedicated to narrative strategies, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau is presenting the latest book by Benoit Aquin La dimension éthérique du réseau par Anton Bequii (The Ethereal Dimension of the Network by Anton Bequii), paintings by the artist Moridja Kitenge Banza taken from the series “Chiromancie”, as well as recent paintings and collages by the engaged figurative artist Cindy Phenix.

 

 

Benoit Aquin, Trames narratives / Storylines, 2020, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

Benoit Aquin, La dimension éthique du réseau par Anton Bequii, 2019
livre de photographies / photographic book
Éditions Photosynthèses

120 $     |     INQUIRE

 

Benoit Aquin, L’oeil qui voit tout (série Anton Bequii), 2015
Impression numérique à pigments de qualité archive
Archival digital pigment print
Ed. 3
81 x 122 cm (32″ x 48″)

5900 $     |     INQUIRE

 

Benoit Aquin, Impact de l’avion du vol 175 de la United Airlines sur le World Trade Center, New York, États-Unis, 11 septembre 2001 (série La dimension éthérique du réseau par Anton Bequii), 2019
Impression numérique à pigments de qualité archive
Archival digital pigment print
Ed.2
152x 229 cm (60” x 90”)

Price upon request    |     INQUIRE

 

Benoit Aquin

Guided by a masterful balance, Benoit Aquin’s work combines certain features of documentary photography with those of contemporary art photography. He plays on this tension to foreground phenomena that are linked to the ecological and humanitarian crises. This new series, which was produced under the pseudonym Anton Bequii, makes use of fiction. Bequii’s search for meaning comes up against the contemporary disinformation networks.

In 2008, Benoit Aquin received the prestigious Prix Pictet for his Chinese Dustbowl series. His work has been exhibited at Palais de Tokyo (Paris), Musée de l’Élisée (Lausanne), Museum of Photographic arts (San Diego), McCord Museum (Montreal), Somerset House (London), Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, FotoDock (Netherlands), Mouravieff-Apostol Museum (Moscow) and Rierson Contemporary Image Center, to name but these. In addition, he also participated in the Mois de la Photo à Montréal, the Canadian Biennial at the National Gallery of Canada and the Rencontres d’Arles in France.

 

 

Moridja Kitenge Banza, Trames narratives / Storylines, 2020, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

Moridja Kitenge Banza, Chiromancie #10 No6, 2019
Encre sur mylar
Ink on mylar
122x 91,5 cm (48” x 36”)

3500 $     |     INQUIRE

 

Moridja Kitenge Banza, Chiromancie #10 No5, 2019
Encre sur mylar
Ink on mylar
122x 91,5 cm (48” x 36”)

3500 $     |     INQUIRE

 

Moridja Kitenge Banza

“My artistic approach departs from a point between reality and fiction in a process that allows me to question history, memory and the identity of the places where I live or have lived in relation to my role within them. I intentionally blur reality and fiction in order to disrupt hegemonic narratives and to create spaces in which marginal discourses can be heard. Drawing on current or past realities, I organize and assemble, trace figures, like a surveyor, as a means to re-appropriate the codes of cultural, political, social and economic representations. In so doing I develop my own tools to better inhabit the territory of the other with the aim of nourishing all these research fields that inspire my practice.”

Moridja Kitenge Banza is a Canadian artist of Congolese origin, who was born in Kinshasa in 1980, Democratic Republic of Congo. In 2010, he was awarded the 1st prize of La Biennale de l’Art africain contemporain, DAK’ART. His work has been shown at Musée Dauphinois (Grenoble, France), Museum of Contemporary Art (Rosklide, Denmark), Arndt Gallery and Ngbk (Berlin, Germany), Casablanca  Biennale (Casablanca, Morocco), Fondation Attijariwafa bank (Casablanca, Morocco), Fondation Blachère (Apt, France) as well as the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Montreal, Canada).

 

 

Cindy Phenix, A Narrow Definition of Productivity, 2020
Peinture acrylique, pastel, textiles cousus à la main et à la machine
Acrylic paint, pastel, hand stitched and machine sewn textile
175 x 231 cm (69” x 91”)

10 000 $     |     INQUIRE

 

Cindy Phenix, A Possible Retraction, 2019
Céramique, feuille d’or, peinture acrylique, crayon de couleur et pastel sur polyuréthane
Ceramic, gold leaf, acrylic paint, color pencil and pastel on polyurethane
47 x 61 cm (18.5” x 24”)

3000 $     |     INQUIRE

 

Cindy Phenix, Context Collapse, 2019
Caryon de couleur, pastel sec et pastel à l’huile sur papier
Color pencil, pastel and oil stick on paper
66 x 104 cm (26” x 41)

3400 $     |     INQUIRE

 

Cindy Phenix, Resistance, 2020
Acrylique, huile et pastel sur panneau de bois
Acrylic, oil and pastel on wood panel
20,3 x 25,4 cm (8” x 10”)

1400 $     |     INQUIRE

 

Cindy Phenix

In her work Cindy Phenix focuses on the relationship between the private and public spheres. She explores the various norms that govern them, the dynamics of their coexistence, the power relations they are the site of and the emotions they elicit. To this end, the artist creates complex scenes that convey powerful narrative and affective movements. Cindy Phenix’s works generate a palpable formal tension. Uniform painted surfaces are juxtaposed with drawn lines and pull us into paradoxical spaces. Many characters, depicted in transformed complexions and bodies, interact here. The ambitious and ambiguous displays and the broad spectrum of techniques that Phenix puts to the task give rise to a dazzling emotional charge.

Phenix’s work has recently been the subject of magazine articles in Canadian Art and Border Crossings. The artist’s works are part of several private and public collections in Canada and in France, including the Musée des beaux-arts du Québec (CPOA), BLG, Caisse de dépôt et de placement du Québec, Claridge and Hydro-Québec. Her thesis exhibition will be presented at the Block Museum of Art (IL, USA) in 2020.

 

 

COMPLEMENTARY MATERIAL

Benoit Aquin in conversations with Robert Enright
(source: bordercrossingsmag.com)

fbpx

Aquin, Kitenge Banza et Phenix : Trames narratives

15 janvier au 22 février 2020

Aquin, Kitenge Banza et Phenix : Trames narratives

Vernissage le 15 janvier de 17h à 19h en présence des artistes

Pour cette exposition explorant des stratégies narratives, la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau présente le tout nouveau livre de Benoit Aquin « La dimension éthérique du réseau par Anton Bequii », des peintures de l’artiste Moridja Kitenge Banza, tirées de sa série « Chiromancie », ainsi que des tableaux et collages récents par l’artiste figurative engagée Cindy Phenix.

 

 

Benoit Aquin, Trames narratives / Storylines, 2020, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

Benoit Aquin, La dimension éthique du réseau par Anton Bequii, 2019
livre de photographies / photographic book
Éditions Photosynthèses

120 $     |     DEMANDE D’INFORMATION

 

Benoit Aquin, L’oeil qui voit tout (série Anton Bequii), 2015
Impression numérique à pigments de qualité archive
Archival digital pigment print
Ed. 3

5900 $     |     DEMANDE D’INFORMATION

 

Benoit Aquin

Le travail de Benoit Aquin allie, dans un équilibre maîtrisé, certains traits de la photographie documentaire à ceux de la photographie en art actuel. Il joue sur cette tension pour mettre en lumière des phénomènes liés à des crises écologiques et humanitaires, inscrivant ainsi les séries qu’il créée dans la tradition de la photographie engagée. Sa nouvelle série, produite sous le pseudonyme Anton Bequii, use de fiction. La quête de sens de Bequii y est confrontée aux réseaux contemporains de désinformation.

Benoit Aquin a reçu en 2008 le prestigieux Prix Pictet pour sa série du Dustbowl chinois. Son travail a entre autres été exposé au Palais de Tokyo (Paris), au Musée de l’Élisée (Lausanne), au Museum of Photographic arts (Sans Diego), au Musée McCord (Montréal), au Somerset House (Londres), au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, au FotoDock (Hollande), au Musée Mouravieff-Apostol (Moscou) et au Ryerson Image Center (Toronto). Notons également sa participation au Mois de la Photo à Montréal, à la Biennale canadienne du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et aux Rencontres d’Arles en France.

 

 

Moridja Kitenge Banza, Trames narratives / Storylines, 2020, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal, Canada

 

Moridja Kitenge Banza, Chiromancie #10 No6, 2019
Encre sur mylar
Ink on mylar
122x 91,5 cm (48” x 36”)

3500 $     |     DEMANDE D’INFORMATION

 

Moridja Kitenge Banza, Chiromancie #10 No5, 2019
Encre sur mylar
Ink on mylar
122x 91,5 cm (48” x 36”)

3500 $     |     DEMANDE D’INFORMATION

 

Moridja Kitenge Banza

« Ma démarche artistique se situe entre la réalité et la fiction, moyen par lequel j’interroge l’histoire, la mémoire et l’identité des lieux où j’habite ou que j’ai habité en lien avec la place que j’occupe dans ceux-ci. Je confonds intentionnellement réalité et fiction afin de perturber les récits hégémoniques et de créer des espaces où le discours marginal peut exister. Puisant dans les réalités actuelles ou anciennes, j’organise, assemble, trace des figures, tel un géomètre, en me réappropriant les codes des représentations culturelles, politiques, sociales et économiques. Ainsi, je fabrique mes propres outils pour mieux investir le territoire de l’autre dans le but de nourrir tous ces domaines de recherche qui inspirent ma pratique. »

Moridja Kitenge Banza est un artiste canadien d’origine congolaise, né à Kinshasa en 1980 en République démocratique du Congo. En 2010, il reçoit le 1er prix de La Biennale de l’Art africain contemporain, DAK’ART. Son travail a été présenté au Musée Dauphinois (Grenoble, France), au Museum of Contemporary Art (Rosklide, Danemark), à la Arndt Gallery et la Ngbk (Berlin, Allemagne), à la Biennale Internationale de Casablanca (Casablanca, Maroc), à la Fondation Attijariwafa bank (Casablanca, Maroc), à la Fondation Blachère (Apt, France) ainsi qu’au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (Montréal, Canada).

 

 

Cindy Phenix, A Narrow Definition of Productivity, 2020
Peinture acrylique, pastel, textiles cousus à la main et à la machine
Acrylic paint, pastel, hand stitched and machine sewn textile
175 x 231 cm (69” x 91”)

10 000 $     |     DEMANDE D’INFORMATION

 

Cindy Phenix, A Possible Retraction, 2019
Céramique, feuille d’or, peinture acrylique, crayon de couleur et pastel sur polyuréthane
Ceramic, gold leaf, acrylic paint, color pencil and pastel on polyurethane
47 x 61 cm (18.5” x 24”)

3000 $     |     DEMANDE D’INFORMATION

 

Cindy Phenix, Context Collapse, 2019
Caryon de couleur, pastel sec et pastel à l’huile sur papier
Color pencil, pastel and oil stick on paper
66 x 104 cm (26” x 41)

3400 $     |     DEMANDE D’INFORMATION

Cindy Phenix, Resistance, 2020
Acrylique, huile et pastel sur panneau de bois
Acrylic, oil and pastel on wood panel
20,3 x 25,4 cm (8” x 10”)

1400 $     |     DEMANDE D’INFORMATION

 

Cindy Phenix

L’œuvre de Cindy Phenix aborde la relation entre les sphères publiques et privées. Elle explore les différentes normes qui les régissent, la dynamique de leur coexistence, les relations de pouvoir dont elles sont l’arène et les sentiments qui en dérivent. À cet effet, l’artiste crée des scènes complexes dont émanent de puissants mouvements narratifs et affectifs. Il se dégage des œuvres de Cindy Phenix une tension formelle palpable. Des aplats se juxtaposent aux lignes du dessin et nous entrainent dans des espaces paradoxaux. De nombreux personnages, aux teints et corps transformés, y interagissent. De ces mises-en-scènes ambitieuses et ambigües, le large éventail de techniques que Phenix met en œuvre fait surgir une éclatante charge émotionnelle.

Le travail de Cindy Phenix a récemment fait l’objet d’articles dans les revues Canadian Art et Broder Crossings. Les œuvres de l’artistes sont dans plusieurs colletions privée et publiques au Canada comme en France, incluant le Musée des beaux-arts du Québec (CPOA), BLG, la Caisse de dépôt et de placement du Québec, Claridge et Hydro-Québec. Phenix travaille présentement à la préparation de son exposition de thèse de maitrise au Block Museum of Art (IL, É-U).

 

 

NOUVELLE COMPLÉMENTAIRE

Benoit Aquin en conversation avec Robert Enright
(source : bordercrossingsmag.com)