Facebook
Instagram
September 9 to October 21, 2017

Performance via the Camera – Maria Hupfield and Lum-Desranleau

As part of MOMENTA | Biennale de l’image

Group exhibition by the artists Maria Hupfield, Chloë Lum and Yannick Desranleau

Opening reception: September 9, from 3 PM to 5 PM, artists in attendance

At Galerie Hugues Charbonneau

Maria Hupfield
Waasechign, 2017
Impression numérique sur tissu
Digital print on fabric
3,05 x 5,49 mètres (10’ x 18’)

On the occasion of MOMENTA | Biennale de l’image, the new designation of Mois de la Photo à Montréal, Galerie Hugues Charbonneau is delighted to present the group exhibition Performance via la camera / Performance via the camera. Ami Barak, the guest curator for the 2017 biennale edition, has chosen to explore the status of the still or moving image by way of the question: What does the image stand for? According to him, the ubiquity of new media in everyday life contributes to blur the notion of photography as a witness of the real since it is now being fantasized more than ever by its author.

As a satellite MOMENTA exhibition venue, it seemed quite a propos to present the works/banners by Maria Hupfield and the duo Chloë Lum and Yannick Desranleau, because they explore questions pertaining to the processing of the contemporary image in a singular manner. More specifically, the banners resulting from their performances do not translate a documentary type photography, but rather an aesthetics developed in a premeditated day via the camera. In this case, the visual language is foregrounded both through the retouching of photos and the display of elements that trigger thought.

Chloë Lum & Yannick Desranleau
I really I want Time for A lie – Time for
Jet d’encre sur toile, oeillets
Inkjet on canvas, grommets
Éd. 1/3 (+1 AP)
132 x 196 cm (52” x 77”)

It is in this sense that Hupfield digitally reconstructs a mirror effect within the image in which Waaschign and Portal are played out. The goal of this optical function is to highlight the idea of an intergenerational tribute inherent in the artist’s works. I really / I want / Time for / A lie, produced by Lum and Desranleau during a stay in Qatar, strategically stages portraits and manuscripts so as to bring about an effect of presence and absence recounting the essential concepts pertaining to the local pictorial traditions.

The works by Hupfield, Lum and Desranleau suggest orchestrated images that recall, in some regards, the constructed character of a commonplace publicity banner. Designed to resist changing weather conditions and to be visible from afar, the banner however relinquishes some of its original functions within an exhibition context. Those that are presented in the gallery literally overload the space and set off an immersive effect in this site.

Chloë Lum & Yannick Desranleau
I really I want Time for A lie – I want
Jet d’encre sur toile, oeillets
Inkjet on canvas, grommets
Éd. 1/3 (+1 AP)
132 x 175 cm (52” x 69”)

mariahupfield.wordpress.com

lum-desranleau.com

What's this?

You are currently reading Performance via the Camera – Maria Hupfield and Lum-Desranleau at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

meta

Facebook
Instagram
9 septembre au 21 octobre 2017

Performance via la caméra – Maria Hupfield et Lum-Desranleau

Dans le cadre de MOMENTA | Biennale de l’image

Exposition de groupe des artistes Maria Hupfield, Chloë Lum et Yannick Desranleau

Vernissage : 9 septembre, de 15h à 17h, en présence des artistes

À la Galerie Hugues Charbonneau

Maria Hupfield
Waasechign, 2017
Impression numérique sur tissu
Digital print on fabric
3,05 x 5,49 mètres (10’ x 18’)

À l’occasion de MOMENTA | Biennale de l’image, le nouvel intitulé du Mois de la Photo à Montréal, la galerie Hugues Charbonneau est ravie de présenter l’exposition de groupe Performance via la caméra. Ami Barak, le commissaire invité de l’édition 2017 de la biennale, a choisi d’explorer le statut de la représentation fixe ou en mouvement à travers la question : De quoi l’image est-elle le nom? Selon lui, l’omniprésence des nouveaux médias dans la vie quotidienne contribue à rendre flou la notion de la photographie comme témoin du réel puisqu’elle est plus que jamais fantasmée par son auteur.

En tant que lieu d’exposition satellite de MOMENTA, il paraissait tout à fait à propos de présenter les œuvres/bannières de Maria Hupfield et du duo Chloë Lum et Yannick Desranleau en ce qu’elles explorent de façon singulière des questions relatives au traitement de l’image contemporaine. Plus précisément, les bannières issues des performances de ces artistes traduisent non pas une photographie de type documentaire, mais davantage une esthétique élaborée de façon préméditée via la caméra. Ici, le langage visuel est mis en évidence à la fois par la retouche photo et la mise en scène d’éléments portant à la réflexion.

Chloë Lum & Yannick Desranleau
I really I want Time for A lie – Time for
Jet d’encre sur toile, oeillets
Inkjet on canvas, grommets
Éd. 1/3 (+1 AP)
132 x 196 cm (52” x 77”)

C’est en ce sens que Hupfield reconstruit numériquement un effet miroir à l’intérieur de l’image dans laquelle elle se met en jeu dans Waaschign et Portal. Cette fonction optique a pour but d’accentuer l’idée d’hommage intergénérationnel présente dans les œuvres de l’artiste. I really / I want / Time for / A lie, produit par Lum et Desranleau durant un séjour au Qatar, met en scène stratégiquement portraits et manuscrits de sorte à engendrer un effet de présence et d’absence relatant les concepts essentiels aux traditions picturales locales.

Les œuvres de Hupfield, Lum et Desranleau suggèrent des images orchestrées qui rappellent, à certains égards, le caractère construit d’une bannière d’affichage usuelle. Conçue pour résister aux intempéries et être perceptible de loin, la bannière cède toutefois une partie de ses fonctions originales à l’intérieur d’un contexte d’exposition. Celles présentées à la galerie surchargent littéralement l’espace et provoque en ce lieu un effet immersif.

Chloë Lum & Yannick Desranleau
I really I want Time for A lie – I want
Jet d’encre sur toile, oeillets
Inkjet on canvas, grommets
Éd. 1/3 (+1 AP)
132 x 175 cm (52” x 69”)

mariahupfield.wordpress.com

lum-desranleau.com

What's this?

You are currently reading Performance via la caméra – Maria Hupfield et Lum-Desranleau at Galerie Hugues Charbonneau.

meta